We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality pub food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Star Inn

Star Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Dinas Powys
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good quality pub food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

If your looking for a friendly pub serving value for money meals The Star is the place for you.Free WiFi is a nice plus.You can pop in for a coffee and use WiFi..Very nice seating area..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    33
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Ideal first date”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very pleasant village pub, with good food and nice atmosphere, plenty of little places to hide away to chat and nice to see no TV in the pub

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karmalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Six of us ate here today. Staff really friendly. Food was just what we wanted and the place was busy but not horribly so. I'd recommend for a family Sunday lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lassooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Always a good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We eat here often as it is our local. It's always warm and welcoming and there was no problem today when our original booking for 11 had dropped to 7. There's a fairly unchanging menu but it is large and varied so that is not a problem. They even do smaller portions of favourites, like fish and chips, for just £4.50. The food is always well cooked and the service speedy and cheerful. My only slight whinge today, is that my plum and apple crumble didn't have enough plums and was not quite hot enough. Scrummy, nevertheless.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank felicia333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“No TV!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

A good pub with good beer, good staff and decent pub grub. And no TV, except for big rugby games and then they turn it off afterwards. Perhaps I'm old fashioned but I like to go the the pub to chat and drink beer not to watch reality rubbish on an overly loud big screen TV. Great place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SamieLips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Inn also viewed

Dinas Powys, Vale of Glamorgan
Dinas Powys, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Dinas Powys, Vale of Glamorgan
Dinas Powys, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Dinas Powys, Vale of Glamorgan
Dinas Powys, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing