We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sebastian the Cosmo King of Mount Dora”
Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Sebastian the Cosmo King of Mount Dora”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

You must try the Cosmo at the bar in the hotel served by Sebastian. The best ever. The breakfast was fresh and tasty. Sebastian is a very nice host with perfect bar tendering skills on par with Tom Cruise. Looked after 2 English ladies very well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Su333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    279
    139
    123
    147
See reviews for
180
446
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed two nights at the Lakeside Inn. This was a “living social” offer. $197.00 for two nights (Sunday thru Thursday) in a “Florida” room. Included was breakfast for two each day and one bottle of wine upon arrival. I found out later at checkout that the offer did not include tax of $13.50 per night. Free parking.

The “Florida” room was as expected. In a very old building, in a room with old fixtures. The floors creak! Think “grandma’s” 1905 house, but with TV and air conditioning. The main inn is 130 years old and interesting. We enjoyed our breakfast each morning on the veranda. There are 87 rooms in a total of 4 buildings. There is a lakefront dock. Plenty of chairs to relax in at lakefront. There is a 2 hour pontoon tour of the lake three times a day. We didn’t partake but were told about $30.00 per person. There is a seaplane too at $50.00 per person for a short flight over the lake. Again, didn’t partake.

The staff are great. Especially Hermanda. If you love elegant, modern, wifi connected rooms, don’t go here. This is for those who love a little bit of history and enjoy or want to experience what used to be. The room was comfortable and clean, nothing more. We couldn’t connect with wifi except in the main hotel building. The included breakfast was wonderful. However, included or not, the prices are reasonable. You receive a voucher for each day at check in. You can eat in the restaurant dining area or in the bar area or on the veranda. We chose the veranda. We were seated and given the standard menu. In the menu you will see a “blocked” area. There is NO charge as long as you order one of the listed items within the square. They have eggs, bacon, home fries and a biscuit or pancakes (three huge) or biscuits and gravy or two or three other choices. Now if you order anything outside the “box” you get a flat $16.00 credit for the voucher on your total bill and pay the remaining. We stayed within the box ordering one of the items listed. Tablecloths and cloth napkins served pretty much as it must have been 130 years ago. The waiter we had both days was excellent. You don’t leave hungry. After breakfast you get the bill with the total amount crossed out with 0 due. (tip not included). We left 20% of the total.

There is a large pool and the area is nicely landscaped. Huge old oaks. A beautiful city park within a short walk (¼ mile) with a public boat launch and a large lakefront boardwalk worth walking.
.
The hotel required a credit card as well as the voucher. We made reservations and presented the “social living” voucher upon check-in. Staff will give you the wine voucher and breakfast vouchers at check in. We exchanged the wine voucher for a bottle of wine at the bar inside the hotel next to the check in desk. She even opened it and gave us two glasses. We enjoyed the wine at lakefront, watching a beautiful sunset.

They put the final bill under your room door which made it really convenient for check out. Just leave the key in the room and go.

We choose a Sunday-Monday stay as there is a huge indoor/outdoor flea market on the weekends. It is really nice and we had fun. Picked up some flowers for our room on Sunday. Also there is a huge indoor antique mall right next to the flea market. About three or four miles from the hotel on the main road US441. Open on the weekends only.

The Lakeside Inn is right downtown Mt. Dora, has a bar and restaurant with reasonable prices and within a short walking distance of a dozen other restaurants. Many with outdoor seating. Lots of shops to explore as well.

Was it worth it? We say yes. It was a nice experience. Now the Hampton Inn is cheaper and rated much higher on trip advisor and has all the modern conveniences, but it is not a 130 year old hotel (oldest in Florida) or lakefront or downtown. If you are a baby boomer you will be pleased. If you are Generation x there is a 50-50 chance you will enjoy. If a Millennial you probably won’t be happy with the Lakeside Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marci477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This old hotel was perfect. The romatic setting is near the lake and is within walking distance of dozens of restaurants and shops. We enjoyed every minute of our stay in this cute little town and in this neat old hotel. Expect a very clean but old setting.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mainsaildata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We Three Sisters decided to Meet in Florida at the Lakeside Inn in Mt. Dora and enjoy each other's company since we have not been together for over 6 years. Since I am the Middle Sister my Opinion counts the most or maybe it is due to the fact I live in Tavares, Florida so close to our destination. We arrived on a very busy Sunday, second day of the Art and Craft event which has made Mt. Dora a very famous place. My older Sister made all the arrangements from England where she lives with her Husband. We had two rooms reserved and they were ready on time of arrival. A sweet gentleman named Tom not "Sir" as we called him helped us with our heavy suitcases and water (some snacks too sorry Tom). No elevators no problem only two floors. We enjoyed every moment of our stay due to the courtesy of all the employees, restaurant waiters and waitresses, and workers around the grounds. The food was excellent in the lounge/restaurant with the fireplace on in the lobby and lounge. Entertainment nightly. But, the view every night of the sunset on the front porch rockers, by the water on the dock, or by the pool facing the Lake, made this stay magical for we three Sisters. Now, when I go to Mt. Dora to shop or eat, I will look over toward the Lakeside Inn and think to myself, wow, how lucky to have a younger Sister and an older Sister and to have our wonderful memories with me right in the Middle of it all.

Room Tip: Just ask about each room and what is provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSK201212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just wanted to make a special comment, we went to the Beauclaire restaurant on Sunday during the spring festival, it was very busy the chef Curtis made a special Benedict eggs delicious!!
Thank you Again
Nathalie

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathaliecaumartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The staff is wonderful. The lobby, bar and restaurant are good, but the rooms are a dump!! Lakeside Inn promotes itself as a quaint, historic inn. Believe me the rooms aren't quaint, they are just old. They said many of their rooms are renovated. I had a "renovated room" and I don't think fresh paint and new-ish indoor plumbing is a renovation. And I have to wonder where they got the room furniture, K-Mart, Walmart, garage sale, or cast offs from someone's front yard? The bathroom has a modern toilet and a "new" pedestal sink but the bathtub was old and stained with old, rusted 70's fixtures which marginally work and a broken stopper so there was no way to fill the tub. I went in for a glass of wine at the bar on a Thursday night and found that it had closed at 8:00 p.m. And the advertised complimentary wi-fi in my room was frustratingly slow. It was just about as fast as dial-up internet from the 1980's. My room was $179 per night. I left mid-stay and I won't be back!!! It's pathetic.......

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Dora hotels

Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

From my days as a callow college student coming to FL during break, through Disney trips with my young daughters, I have detested Florida...the disregard for history, the profit-driven "attractions", the madness of Miami traffic. Then, on the invitation of a friend, driven mostly by a desire to escape this most recent endlessly frigid winter, I flew to Tampa (ugh) and was transported to the Lakeside Inn and Mt Dora. A return to what Florida must have been: veranda with rocking chairs, a sweep of lawn and gardens down to the lake (with alligators!), strolls to the adjacent small town of Mr Dora with blocks of restored buildings of infinite designs from the early 20th century, enough restaurants to keep life interesting, dinners at the Inn where live music seemed to happen every night.

The historic Inn is being restored by owners who pursue this mission, and who have created a community which draws in both tourists and townspeople to events scheduled throughout the year. I just missed an art festival that took place in town and at the Inn. Five days in the serenity and warmth of the Lakeside Inn sent me back with courage to face the rest of the ice sheet here in the Northeast. I, who belittle Snow Birds, am plotting my return next winter.

Room Tip: Don't miss the sunset over Lake Dora.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 592jeanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
531 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
5.1 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#2 of 11 in Mount Dora
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#5 of 11 in Mount Dora
283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#4 of 11 in Mount Dora
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Property: Lakeside Inn
Address: 100 N Alexander St, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5570
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Mount Dora
Lakeside Mount Dora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing