We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back vintage hotel”
Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Reviewed August 14, 2013

After reading mixed reviews for this hotel, we decided to check it out for ourselves. Yes, there is a musty oder which we quickly got use to, the room was clean and neat and we were given plenty of towels and the bed was comfortable. There was hot water and good water pressure. We liked staying close to downtown and walking distance to great shops and restaurants. We loved Sunday's Open Market at Evans park which is walking distance from the hotel and went to the park several times. The grounds are well maintained and lend to the relaxed atmosphere. The docks were great place for sunset, fishing and just relaxing.

We stayed in the Gables, recently renovated. Our little air conditioning unit couldn't handle the Florida heat and our room was always warm and on the last night it vibrated. Also, in room 1723 the TV had issues which we reported when we checked out. We knew there was no refrigerator and no coffee maker so we came prepared.

We feel if we had come when it wasn't so hot, that it would have been a much better experience. We know it isn't a corporate hotel, but a vintage and historic one with a laid back, old world feeling.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djr1565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 968 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's been over almost 2 years since our last visit and after receiving emails regarding renovations in progress by the new owners we wanted to visit the Inn again. Do not go here for the latest amenities. Go for the laid back feel, oak trees and location on the lake and easy walking trips to Mt. Dora's restaurants and shops. We got a Florida resident rate and most of my requests were obliged except getting a second floor room. Most of the place looked refreshed and brighter, still retaining the old charm and décor, like the early 1900 style bathrooms- the water pipes howled when in use! We wanted a view of the lake and got that, unfortunately our room was next to the ice maker, soda machine and porch. Sunday morning 2 crazy individuals were on the porch smoking and talking up a storm at 6am! After 20 minutes I went out and told them my room was right inside and asked them to move to the pool area. They were nice about it but come on! This is a hotel people are sleeping there at 6am! The other thing was the wedding party that made using the main lobby facilities difficult. However, business is needed and good for the Inn and summer is wedding time! The off-dining room was pretty with blue and white décor and is nice backdrop for special events. Front desk staff was ok, still not as friendly as they could be and they may benefit from some hospitality training. The Tremain Lounge bar staff were very nice and lent me a bottle opener-thanks guys! Go on the ghost tour for some interesting history and paranormal conversations! Keep up the good work with the renovations, this is a property that is worth preserving!

Room Tip: Be specific about your room requests, there are lots of options. There is current road construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura7Clearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This past July we spent a relaxing, long weekend at the historic Lakeside Inn in Mount Dora. This was the second visit we have enjoyed at the Lakeside Inn this year and it just gets better. Comfortable rooms, excellent food and drink and a highly supportive, friendly staff in a delightful setting all make for a truly memorable stay. With thoughtful attention to detail, the Inn's management continues to upgrade rooms, improve an already superb menu, beautify and generally make even nicer this unique resort hotel. Of note, for a fine, eclectic mix of local arts, crafts, treasures and jewelry, check-out the Gatehouse Boutique at the Lakeside Inn - a visit is well worth it!
The Lakeside Inn is a terrific get-away retreat and we highly recommend it as a special place to relax, kick-back and enjoy the finer things in life.

The Cushmans,
Jacksonville, FL

Room Tip: Request second floor or higher "lake-view'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I am giving The Lakeside Inn 5 stars because the new owner and staff are restoring this gorgeous historic hotel and property to its original beauty. We have been staying at the Lakeside for twenty years, and up until about 3 years ago it was not properly cared for. The new owner is updating rooms, common areas, the bar and restaurant, and the grounds. Our room was freshly painted, new carpeting and updated bathroom. It was comfortable, clean, and a great value. The natural beauty of central Florida is highlighted by wonderful landscaping, and it's location on the lake. All staff were wonderful and responsive to our needs. The town is cute, the nature is beautiful, the pool is fabulous. By all means, visit Mount Dora, and stay at The Lakeside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ona2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We found Mt. Dora by chance, and The Lakeside Inn as well. Overall, the buildings and grounds have an overall charm and olden days feel. They are in the process of remodeling, however most of the rooms have very loud portable A/C units, and a mildew smell. The staff however was great, and the grounds Beautiful! Superior view of the lake and breakfast service was awesome on the veranda with the lake view. We will not be staying here again until they are finished remodeling.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

First of all one must remember this hotel is listed as historical buildings and on a lake. Therefore, must stay within those guide lines for any renovations. My group of 21 senior guests who spent an overnight at the inn loved the look and feel that took them back in time. The staff treated you like family and made you feel very welcome. We were amazed to have real keys for our rooms instead of modern plastic ones. My group enjoyed both dinner and breakfast in the main dining room and found the service great. We also took the boat tour on the lake and canals and found the answer to why the water is muddy looking. Mother Nature and early farming practice were the reason. Not sure I would like to swim in water with alligators’ anyway, after all this is Florida. The pool is a much better idea. If you are looking for old-fashion hospitality and how things were in years gone by stay at the Inn. If not the fast pasted Hilton is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great ambience, friendly service and the best location to walk in the charming town of Mt. Dora. Pool and property have a wonderful view of the expansive lake and a great restaurant on the property. The pricing is very good for what is offered at this hotel. If you enjoy old world charm Lakeside Inn is a great choice. We purchased a home on this trip. Until closing, Lakeside will be our choice to stay in. Pisces Rising , a restaurant in walking distance was an excellent dining experience and the shops were all charming. Lakeside is a great place to stay while visiting Mt. Dora.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 255resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
567 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
5.1 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#1 of 11 in Mount Dora
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#4 of 11 in Mount Dora
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Address: 100 N Alexander St, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5570
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Price Range: $153 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Mount Dora
Lakeside Mount Dora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing