We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Friend Revisited”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Old Friend Revisited”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stopped by the Lakeside Inn on our way out West and noticed how the owners have made improvements in the rooms and restaurant. Sure, it is an older hotel but that is what gives it charm. You cannot beat the location: within walking distance of the town and its great restaurants (Goblin and Pisces). The hotel's restaurant is also good and offers entertainment in the bar. But one of its most endearing attractions is the beautiful lake across from the Inn. My husband and I, after a wonderful dinner, will stroll out to the end of the dock and sit looking at the sky and stars and listen to the water lapping on the shore...Could not get better than this. The Lakeside was our first stop on our 3 week road trip and it was the last stop before heading home. We also made reservations to come back and stay in November.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tsklhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    267
    134
    119
    142
See reviews for
172
426
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent this past weekend at the Lakeside Inn with another couple and had a fantastic time! Now people....this hotel is 130 years old. Ever stay Upnorth in a cabin built in the 60's? It too has that vintage musty smell. It's not a new commercial hotel...that's why we all want to go to it, right? Get real...if you're looking for modern amenities, stylish furniture, maybe something on South Beach in Miami or an uptown place in New York is where you should go. This is Centennial History Plus.

Our room was sufficient as we had NO intention of driving 21/2 hours to sit in a room and watch TV...for that we could have stayed home, right? We went to sit out by the pool, walk the town with all the shops, dine and enjoy being somewhere fun. We also did the Ghost Adventure, which I also did a review on that on their page. TV? Geez, I didn't even look to see if they had one. Toilet? Didn't spend much time in the bathroom to do a complete analogy of everything in there. Things were clean, quaint, and my husband and I both commented how we "slept like rocks" when we woke up in the morning. (We stayed in the Gable wing of the hotel, across from the main inn) We went and grabbed a cup of coffee and sat in the rockers on the hotel's veranda looking out at the lake and talking with the other guests about what they had done on their 'vacation' there. What a good time! Every room here is alike but different. Some are bigger, some are smaller...that's why there are different room rates...so PLAN ACCORDINGLY...if you're going cheap, you're going to get a small room...and people who complain about having only 1 night stand...Really?

We had dinner in the bar area, while at first I thought the prices were pricey, once the meals came no one in our group could finish all they had ordered and everything we ordered was very good! We thought the breakfast buffet was pricey ($11.99) for scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes and biscuits and gravy. Was kinda looking for more options, so we opted to go else where...notta problem, just a matter of choice is all.

We had a fantastic time this past weekend. Sat out by the pool and could hear the jazz music over in the park, the pool temperature was warm, the sunsets were beautiful, the front staff couldn't have been more pleasant and interacting.

We're already trying to plan another trip back...we have our sites set on another room that overlooks the lake!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NO2Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a quaint charming inn one of the largest in Mt. Dora. Overlooks the lovely lake and has additional cottages across the street. I have stayed here before and although it is old, they are doing wonderful renovations. Our room was painted in bright yellow and blue historic colors with a few antiques and they have updated the a/c so it was very comfortable. We had breakfast outside on the veranda every morning and it was calm and peaceful. We could then sit on one of the lovely white painted row of rockers and enjoy the view. The only downfall is there is no elevator, but the steps were good exercise for us. The staff was friendly and helpful and added to the wonderful ambience of this small craft and antique town.

Room Tip: The second floor seems to have nice rooms and facing the lake is the best view to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mermaid781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our third time staying at the Lakeside Inn. We love the Inn especially it's History. After our second stay we waited awhile to return, mainly because it was in great need of renovations. Our email notifications arrived regularly with updates on the Inns renovation/restoration progress, and we decided it was time to re visit this Florida charm. We called the Hotel direct and requested a room in the main building and booked our reservation, but upon arrival we were placed in one the other buildings. We walked into the room it was dark , musty, and the portable air conditioner unit was extremely loud. We then requested another room, but the only difference was it had blinds instead of curtains. Our three nights turned into two. The staff was friendly and the food was great, but the musty smell and noisy air conditioners were just two much to handle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This old historic Lakeside Inn has much charm about it, from the bars, spacious lobby, swimming pool facing onto the lake. What would really help the place is an upgrade in the rooms. The mattresses are very soft, the carpet quite old, the furniture very old as well. The TV's are old tube style. The bathrooms are OK as they are from the 20's, well stocked with good towels and toiletries. The rooms need a soft furnishing overhaul.
Staff were terrific and helpful. The food was OK and fairly priced, but there are a lot of good restaurants in the town, a 2-3 min walk away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonstonemoclips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Lakeside Inn reminded me of the grand hotels of yesteryear. True, it did smell a little musty, but that added to the charm as far as I was concerned. If you are a hotel snob and like to the big new hotels, this is probably not the place for you. If not, you will love it. There are two Swan paddle boats for rent and we spent a lovely time paddling on Lake Dora. The food was good and very different. The grounds are lovely. The staff very pleasant, informed and extremely helpful. We thought there should have been a night table on both sides of the bed (not just one) and mentioned it to the housekeeper.....the next time we came back to the room we had an additional night table. Bathroom a little small, but clean and the towels fluffy. Try to get an end room for the best view of Lake Dora. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the halls have the best view of Lake Dora.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Lakeside Inn is ideally located in the heart of Mount Dora. Attentive staff, great menu options, delicious food, live entertainment, and the most comfortable beds!

There is a large (and relatively loud) stationery air conditioning unit that keeps the room cool. Could use some renovation, but is still a lovely place to stay. I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnole86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
5.1 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lake County Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#3 of 11 in Mount Dora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#5 of 11 in Mount Dora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Property: Lakeside Inn
Address: 100 N Alexander St, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5570
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Mount Dora
Lakeside Mount Dora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing