We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting better each visit”
Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Ocala
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Getting better each visit”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our third visit to the Lakeside Inn and we can definitely see that the new owners are making great strides in bringing the Inn back from it's downhill slide. We stayed in the main building this visit - smaller rooms - but then who sits in their room all day. It was cheery and clean and close to the restaurant and bar !! We love Floyd ( everyone else on the wait staff was great - we just didn't get their names)..The breakfasts were great and we had dinner one night in the bar ( with piano entertainment).. There was a glitch in our Christmas dinner reservation - but the owner couldn't have been more apologetic and thoughtful in fixing the situation.. Mt. Dora is just enchanting during Christmas and it was great to walk around town all evening and then come back and have a nice drink in the bar or sit out by the fire in front of the gift shop with buddy the dog...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OcalaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    281
    139
    124
    148
See reviews for
181
450
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A friend stayed here last summer and really liked it here. So I booked a lakefront room for my wife and I. This hotel is a member of The Historic Hotels of America so we expected a wonderful old hotel, and it is a great property. The main building has lots of charm and the walls are covered with historic images of the hotel.Our room had panoramic windows overlooking the lake and an outside door to boot. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom adequate, a desk, and the most noisy heat/air system ever. It pounded and knocked so loud we turned it off. This was December and it was not warm so we needed heat, I guess that was why there was a tiny, cheap, plastic heater in the room. We never complained, just made do with what we had. Truthfully we stayed warm enough. If you pack heavy be aware there are no bellmen and there are steps (even on the first floor) that you must negotiate. This is a great property that is let down by it's management. It tries to have class and then puts a vending machine in an elegantly furnished hallway. Would we stay here again ? Probably....We would not eat in the restaurant or bar though, always a bad experience. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: One word...lakefront
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbladman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The idea of the Inn is cool but after the small rooms, staples to hold wall paper up, ants in the bath room and a hall way that looked like something like a fun house floor at the county fair, not to mention the horrible service at the restaurant, (we gave our free breakfast up and went elsewhere) 3 different dirty glasses and staff acted put out because after 10 minute wait at the door and even longer wait for a server..... we asked if we could have a little service. There was less than 1/4 capacity at the time. Neat idea, the town is great but the lakeside is failing ....!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlinfloridaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Dora hotels

FL
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

In Mt. Dora, this is the perfect place to stay. The 1883 property is lovely and ideally suited for visiting Mt. Dora. However, due to the age, this is neither quiet nor modern. If you expect that then you shouldn't stay here. I loved the experience of staying in such a well preserved and distinctive old-time hotel. I was there for the inaugural Marathon/Half Marathon race which began and ended at Lakeside Inn. The staff was very good and displayed great humor. Remember, many runners were congregating at 6 in the morning in the lobby! The spot ideal for exploring Mt. Dora which can be done on foot. My earplugs made the visit very nice, but I could not have slept without them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had breakfast both mornings during our stay and couldn't be more impressed with Floyd and Nathan, our waiters! Both were extemely accommodating in seating us where we wanted and brought our coffee to us quickly. Our orders were taken and the meal served without delay and with a delightful sense of humor!! Kudos to a great team!

Room Tip: It may behoove you to speak directly to someone at the reservation desk to be sure you get the type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelmaandlouise163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I asked for a wheelchair accessible room and was assured they had one in the "Gables property." Was there was with much larger state-wide group and was looking forward to the dinner, b/fast together and tour of the vineyards, which I paid a pricy non-refundable charge for me and my husband. Wheeled into the very small room- there was NOTHING that was w/c accessible. I couldn't even get close to this little toilet and there were no grab-bars. It's a charming, historic property, but my feeling is - they are cutting corners and going on the cheap at this point. And, if you have special needs, NOT the place to stay.

Room Tip: Never ended up staying - so don't know.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank donnie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

On our return trip from the North, we again stopped at the Inn. We enjoyed our stay very much
the landscaping is looking so much better. Enjoyed the dinning room with its new bright look, the
food was excellent and the service very good. Our room had been renovated so it was bright , cheerful and clean. The Gate House gift shop is a nice addition, and you can find a nice selection of crafts, paintings, pottery and jewlery, all produced by local artists. Enjoyed walking
around the property and the view of the lake, reminds me so much our lake up North, and enjoyed a beautiful sun set from the porch at the Inn, just rocking away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canedrum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
537 reviews
5.1 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#1 of 11 in Mount Dora
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#5 of 11 in Mount Dora
286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#4 of 11 in Mount Dora
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Property: Lakeside Inn
Address: 100 N Alexander St, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5570
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Mount Dora
Lakeside Mount Dora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing