We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and moldy, but still memorable...”
Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Lets just start with the facts that this place is old.. Really old.. And it's in the middle of nowhere in Mount Dora Florida. Now, if you can prepare yourself mentally for that, then the rest is upside.

In terms of accommodations I would say adequate. 2-3 star level. However, that's not what this place is about. It's about the location.. Repeat middle of nowhere.. On a big lake with very picturesque grounds. They have a big dock where you can rent a boat, go on a boat tour, or even take an aqua plane ride for a reasonable $50. The sunset over the lake is marvelous and there's plenty of lounge chairs to kick back and watch the sun go down. Downtown is only a few steps away, all about mom and pop stores and cafes. So if you're looking to get away, to a place back in time, where the clock ticks extra slow, then this is your spot.. So go see Janet at the bar, have her make you a Mojito, head for the rocking chairs on the portch, and watch your stress go away with the Sun..

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank latinmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 964 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Been to Mt. Dora before, so this time decided to stay at the big hotel above the sloping lawn running down to the lake. But our room was not in the Big House, but rather in "the Gables", a separate building more like a 1950s dorm than a hotel, with fixtures to match. Such a deal for $170! The front desk was practically useless, unless you got the front desk guy to stop reading his newspaper for a minute to talk to you. After answering our questions about dining options in the Big House, the front desk guy finally admitted that none were available to us because a wedding party had booked the Big Room and sorry, but the Front Porch tables had all been booked. That's when we came to our senses and checked the Trip Advisor app to see what other restaurants were in town, and learned that the #1 pick was The Goblin Market, which turned out to be the best part of our weekend, followed by some live music and cold beer at the nearby Picses Rising Deck Bar. Now we're talking!

Room Tip: That's easy. Just don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I booked my room directly on the Lakeside Inn Website. The special rate at $110 per night included breakfast for two. The following morning I inquired about my breakfast voucher and was told that my room didn't qualify. I joined 2 friends and their voucher allowed a prefixed price $8.00 which gave them several choices on the breakfast menu. I ended up paying cash but was very resentful because I chose to stay there because of this inclusion. The day I arrived I partook of their Thanksgiving Buffet which was rather pricey with 1 glass of wine it totaled $54.00. The room doesn't have a coffee maker so you had to go down to the lobby to get a morning coffee, no hot water, no tea, no decaf...ugh styo-foam cups, also they remove the FREE coffee from the lobby shortly after breakfast so your nickle and dimed every time you just want to relax in your room with a warm drink. All in all it's an experience to be had but not to repeat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ASdoestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just returned from another wonderful stay. This time we took full advantage of their renovated dining facilities. Food was delicious, the service was excellent and the pianist - outstanding. The Inn is located within walking distance of the quaint town full of fascinating shops. The very best finds were at the Inn shop itself - full of unique items from local Florida artisans. Be sure to book early if you are planning to attend any of Mount Dora's weekend festivals. We were fortunate enough to get the last room available.

Room Tip: ASk for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Made a reservation, received a confirmation. The next day received a call with issues as to our reservation. Then made new arrangements. A few days later called to ask a question and was told we had no room! They didn't even try to fix things.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

No planning, no preparations, and no clean up. All pluses but there are lots more when it comes to a Lakeside Inn holiday getaway. It's like one stop shopping. Situated overlooking a large lake you can spend countless hours on the front porch sipping a glass of wine, watching sunsets, take a ride on a sea plane or actually reading the book you brought from a lakeside chair. You could even try and finish the puzzel on the table in front of the fire place in the lobby. The staff will be like your new best friends before you depart. I don't know how they found this lovely group. We met other guests from all over and we all marveled at the treasure we had found to spend our family holiday. Weekends are a real treat because the pianist is top notch. A few steps away from the inn hop on a carriage ride and see the quaint town without the bother of a car. Terrific on site art/gift shop with intriguing local art that is very affordable. Mt Dora is filled with quant shops, good restaurants and great locals. Perfect for every generation and gender. This inn is in the process of being restored and there is still lots to do. If you want everything perfect it is not for you it was perfect for us and we are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Well this depends. There are lakefront and lake view rooms. You have a choice of the main buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25houses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at The Lakeside Inn for our annual "girls weekend" to celebrate our Nov birthdays. Three generations of ladies enjoyed the old time inn room with two connecting rooms sharing one bath. The inn was undergoing renovations but still had charm and we enjoyed not staying in a chain motel. We enjoyed walking on the dock and viewing a seaplane land on the lake. We walked up the main street of historic downtown Mt. Dora going through the shops and stopping to have dinner at the "something frog" restaurant. We had breakfast in the Lakeside Inn dining room as our package was for bed and breakfast. A very elegant breakfast that allowed us to eat slowly and relax and visit spending quality time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveavacation123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
557 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
5.1 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#2 of 11 in Mount Dora
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#4 of 11 in Mount Dora
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Address: 100 N Alexander St, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5570
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Price Range: $155 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Mount Dora
Lakeside Mount Dora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing