We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT Bed & Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A GREAT Bed & Breakfast!”
Reviewed March 4, 2007

This was our first experience at an American B&B and we were delighted with our choice. The rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. The hosts, Jim and Ana, were amazing! Friendly and helpful, they even made dinner reservations for us and recommended certain places. We brought our own wine, and Ana was glad to pour it for us in her wine glasses and bring us napkins. We enjoyed the front porch and the upstairs balcony. Jim is a gourmet cook and he prepared wonderful breakfasts every morning: sweet potato pancakes, stuffed french toast(using homemade baguettes). They even had umbrellas available for our use. During a rainy late afternoon, we sat in the parlor and relaxed. Newspapers are available everyday, also. We have already made our reservations for next year's Antique Extravaganza!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank marenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    25
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
188
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2007

For years I've been meaning to visit Mt. Dora and stay at one of their B&Bs, but I never seemed to get around to doing it. Finally this past february I made reservations at the Mt. Dora Historic Inn, and all I can say is WOW! I had a fabulous time with two absolutely amazing hosts. The conversation was great. The food was delicious and the rooms were beautiful, comfortable and clean. To top it off, the Inn is only a short walk from many of the main shops and restaurants. Mt. Dora is a beautiful town to visit.
I can't wait to go back...

  • Liked — the location and the hosts
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freedom2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2006

Was on vacation for R&R, and everything was more than I expected from the moment I walked in the Inn. New owners, Ana and Jim, are a great team; from welcoming you, fixing excellent breakfast, keeping the place clean and uncluttered and directing you to the right spots... and the coffee was out of this world and hot!! My room was very comfortable and neat. Had not slept so "at peace" in a long, long time. Will definitely go back next month for more R&R. Mount Dora is such a darling place that I hated to leave.

  • Liked — Comfort and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Couldn't find anything to complain about.
  • Tips/Secrets — The Inn and the owners make this place one of a kind...the best kind!! Plan your next getaway there.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EXHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2006

Great Place!! The new owners Jim & Ana are professional yet personable. Jim does the cooking and with great enthusiasm. I just mentioned my love for Eggs Benedict. Even though this was not planned for the menu Jim prepared them and was the best I have ever eaten. Ana works hard at keeping the Inn clean and decorated. Great team and will do well at bringing back repeat guests. We are looking forward to our next trip to Mt. Dora and our stay at the Inn.

  • Liked — Food, service, location
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BarryJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2006

Stayed Jun 30 (2 nights) read reviews on Tripadvisor before booking. I found the Inn to be small but clean, bed comfortable, and good location to historic downtown Mt. Dora. Breakfast is promptly served at 8:30 a.m. There's not much of a selection - you eat what they decide to cook that morning (a couple small baked hot dishes, coffee, tea - nothing fresh like fruit or bagels). The negative's we felt - There are no machines on site for water, ice, soda's etc. We were told to drink the tap water - it was good enough. If you wanted ice - you had to ask the owners for some from their freezer. And there are no TV's or Radio's in room. I would check out one of the other B&B's next visit - I feel you should get more amenities for the money.

Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 25, 2006

I think Mt. Dora Historic Inn is the quintessential b&b experience. The owners are very helpful and could suggest a lot of differernt things to do in and around the city. I also planned on doing short road trips away from Mount Dora, and the owners were really helpful in providing alternate routes to the big expressways. The breakfast was delicious--I don't understand why the fact that it's all baked should affect my view of it. It was a pleasure to sit with the other people staying at the inn and chat. The room was quiet and beautifully decorated. It was a really, really nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2005

We stayed at the Inn for a long weekend and we found it to be a wonderful B&B. Our room was spotless with beautiful fresh linens each day. It was quiet and private. The hosts were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast was incredible. Everything was fresh baked and so many choices! Definitely something for everyone. The Inn was full and we met some delightful people. The location is perfect. I don't understand the previous review. The Inn is small so there is a small dining area but totally adequate and comfortable. There are no tv's which is great by me - that's what getting away is all about. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Dora hotels
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
945 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#2 of 11 in Mount Dora
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison en Ville
Maison en Ville
#7 of 11 in Mount Dora
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Mount Dora
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Dora Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Dora Historic Inn

Property: Mount Dora Historic Inn
Address: 221 E 4th Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Dora Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a secluded location in historic and romantic Mount Dora, experience gracious hospitality, superb cuisine and comfortable lodging. Conveniently located in downtown, you can walk to all the restaurants, shops and other recreational activities Mount Dora has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Mount Dora Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Dora Historic Hotel Mount Dora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing