We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended - soon to be repeat customers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended - soon to be repeat customers”
Reviewed November 12, 2008

My wife & I have stayed at B&B's from Nantucket to Key West and to celebrate our 22nd wedding anniversary I was looking for a B&B with character (built 1886), convenient location (1-block from downtown Mt Dora) and preferably a decent breakfast (Jim is an excellent master chef). So after extensive research - and most importantly talking directly to the owner - Jim Tuttle - and exquisite host - Jim made me feel very comfortable from the first phone call. I knew I located a gem. But little did I know another gem is his wife Ana! Besides adding beauty to this very well-kept inn, we had entertaining conversations, outstanding breakfasts and provided excellent recommendations for restaurants and things to do. If you want to see a piece of Florida from the 1800’s I recommend the 2-hr boat cruise to the Dora Canal. Ask for Captain Dan – he’s excellent and worth the tip!
We stayed upstairs in Dick’s room which had a very comfy king-size bed, and immediately outside the room was a quaint outside balcony built for two where we sipped wine and enjoyed the view. With nearly 20 years experience staying at B&B’s, the Mount Dora Historic Inn is a keeper and I hope to develop a lastly friendship with the Inn as well as their owners.

  • Liked — Excellent bed, attentiveness to our needs
  • Disliked — Not enough time to stay
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    25
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
188
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

A nice, cosy little house in a great location within walking distance of downtown.
Rooms were clean and pleasant, but not spacious or elegant.
The non-resident innkeepers were friendly and helpful and the cooked breakfast around a communal table was an enjoyable affair.
The public carpark next door can be noisy at night.
We highly recommend the Frosty Mug Restaurant a few minutes walk away.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearytravellers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We had a wonderful time! Jim and Anna were great. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms were very comfortable. I highly recommend this B&B to everyone who goes to Mount Dora. The B&B is only a block from all the shops and walking distance to the Lake. Jim and Anna helped us with all the dinner reservations for the weekend. The weekend was fabulous.

  • Liked — The owners were great and the location was very convenient to the stores and festival.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rsueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We enjoyed this B&B very much. Jim and Anna are fabulous hosts and Jim's breakfast is so much better than the yogurt and fruit we've had at other B&Bs in the past. Location was great and Mt. Dora is a neat little piece of Florida history. They've done major upgrades and I'll go back again in the future to see what else is new. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Amazing breakfast!
  • Disliked — Nothing at all.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BobTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2008

We recently found a gem in Mount Dora, Florida. My husband and I were looking for a little quiet get away that was not too far from our kids remaining in Miami and we found the PERFECT PLACE. It is called the Mount Dora Historic Inn which is located in Mount Dora, Florida. The Inn Keepers, Jim and Ana, were fabulous. Jim's gourmet breakfast was phenomenal and Ana's detailed housekeeping touches made us feel like royalty. There is so much to do right outside your door and when you're done and return to the Inn, Jim has baked one of his special treats for our late night snack. The Inn was perfectly kept and clean, the beds felt like we were sleeping on a cloud. Jim and Ana's hospitality go above and beyond what you would expect. We had a weekend we will never forget.

  • Liked — the hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NVerdecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diva77
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2008

I have stayed at Mt. Dora Historic Inn, B & B three times since Jim and Anna have been the owners and let me tell you each time has been a wonderfully delightful experience. The breakfast is awesome, each morning is an experience in itself. Jim has a way of presenting and storytelling his breakfast that puts a smile on your face and leaves you wondering what's in store for tommarrow. Anna brings warmth, she makes you feel like you never left home. There B & B is charming, clean, quinte, friendly and the service is great. It is in walking distance to all the restaurants and stores in downtown Mt. Dora. There check-in is easy any special request is not a problem just let them know ahead of time. I truly love staying at their inn. I have had nothing but good experience's at Mt. Dora.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Diva77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at the Mt. Dora Historic Inn three times in less than a year and each time our visit ends, we can't wait to go back. The owners/innkeepers, Ana and Jim Tuttle, could not be more welcoming and/or accommodating. They truly make your stay in Mt. Dora extra special. Jim's breakfast each day is a culinary adventure. It is so obvious that Jim loves to cook for his guests, it is a real treat to see what he has created each morning! The inn itself is wonderful. The rooms are beautifully decorated as well as very clean and comfortable. The inn is literally steps from all the shops and restaurants and yet its location is quiet and peaceful. My husband and I have stayed in many B&B's but Mt. Dora Historic Inn is our absolute favorite.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lksailaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
926 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
0.2 mi away
Maison en Ville
Maison en Ville
#7 of 11 in Mount Dora
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#4 of 11 in Mount Dora
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Dora Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Dora Historic Inn

Property: Mount Dora Historic Inn
Address: 221 E 4th Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Dora Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a secluded location in historic and romantic Mount Dora, experience gracious hospitality, superb cuisine and comfortable lodging. Conveniently located in downtown, you can walk to all the restaurants, shops and other recreational activities Mount Dora has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Dora Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Dora Historic Hotel Mount Dora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing