We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely visit to a lovely town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely visit to a lovely town”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The inn is a beautiful old home located right on the edge of the shopping/tourist district of Mount Dora, a town with an almost Cape Cod vibe located on a lake in central Florida. Breakfasts were delicious, creative and exciting - a towering cheese souffle is served as easily as scrambled eggs. And we didn't really need lunch afterwards!

Ana and Debbie were charming and helpful and knowledgeable about the town. This B&B is a definite return visit winner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    25
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
188
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wurenlos, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This Inn is not only a B&B - it's all what you can have. Very personally, charming, clean and a delicous breakfast - every morning a different one! Ana ist the most heartly person i know.
Different great Restaurants with fresh food are nearby. Mt. Dora is a little, lovley town with
a lot of character.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaW221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Mt. Dora Historic Inn is a charming home run by lovely people. Ana is friendly, helpful and fun! Our room was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. Be aware that the rooms are quite small - this is a house built in 1886. The location is perfect - easy walk to everything! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prudence717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Innkeepers were very friendly and made us feel right at home. The room was very clean and very nicely decorated in antique style. But they also had full service cable TV and free wifi internet. The Inn has 4 bedrooms and they also have cottages available. Breakfast was delicious! The Inn is located just a short walk to down town MT Dora.
MT Dora is a very nice little town with many shops and restaurants along side a lake.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My fiancé and I had a wonderful 2-day getaway at the Mount Dora Historic Inn. Everything about this place is perfect. Owner Ana cannot do enough for you. She added that extra touch of hospitality that turned a great stay into a phenomenal stay. The room was very comfortable and had extra amenities like a refrigerator and a faux fireplace for added ambiance. The location is great, peaceful surroundings, yet only a block from the heart of the historic district. There was plenty of complimentary parking as well.

The food was simply the finest! Prior to my stay, I had been told that they had the best breakfast in town. When we took a ghost walk the first night of our stay, the guide also commented on how he had heard they had the best breakfast in town and that people stayed here for that reason alone. The hype was not over-rated. The breakfast was indeed delicious. Each afternoon when we would return, there was a scrumptious homemade dessert and beverages set out. I can’t wait to return with my soon-to-be husband!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

A lovely cozy inn right in downtown Mt Dora. We stayed in one of the bedrooms on the main floor, which is right off the dining room. There are only 4 bedrooms- 2 upstairs and 2 downstairs, a dining room and a kitchen. The place is quite small and has no sitting room or parlor.There is parking in the back of the inn. There are air conditioning units in each room (no central air), and there was a space heater in our room as well (although we didn't need it). The owner and manager were wonderful and friendly and did everything possible to make our stay an enjoyable one.They were so thoughtful and helpful. The breakfast is amazing- great food, nicely prepared and yummy! We didn't want to eat lunch because we were so full! They went out of their way to accommodate our special dietary needs. They were happy to help us organize our visit and suggest activities in Mt Dora.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms- the upstairs rooms are up a steep staircase but might be a little more quiet. The hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilalubean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A recent conversation with management did advise me that the Inn was booked for the social living deal for the time that I requested, but I was VERY POLITELY given other dates that could be booked for the deal since the deal lasts until September. I was able to rearrange some travel plans so that we could be accommodated at the Inn. I found the management to be extraordinarily polite, professional and accommodating!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachthetrailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
926 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
0.2 mi away
Maison en Ville
Maison en Ville
#7 of 11 in Mount Dora
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#4 of 11 in Mount Dora
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Dora Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Dora Historic Inn

Property: Mount Dora Historic Inn
Address: 221 E 4th Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Dora Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a secluded location in historic and romantic Mount Dora, experience gracious hospitality, superb cuisine and comfortable lodging. Conveniently located in downtown, you can walk to all the restaurants, shops and other recreational activities Mount Dora has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Dora Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Dora Historic Hotel Mount Dora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing