We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Accommodating”
Review of Farnsworth House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Farnsworth House
Ranked #5 of 11 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Accommodating”
Reviewed July 31, 2010

My husband David and I lodged at the Farnsworth House for one night and found Vivian and Bob very accommodating. We also traveled with our little 10lb mini schnauzer, Monkey. Monkey, loved the room and all the grassy areas which surrounded the house to run and play fetch. We stayed in the St. Andrews room, which is one of two rooms that allow pets.

Upon arrival, Vivian greeted us and asked us what we would like to eat for breakfast the following morning. Both Vivian and Bob whipped up a delicious breakfast consisiting of french toast, bacon, omelet, peaches, fresh fruit and coffee. They also sat down with us and joined us for some wonderful conversation.

We will definitely be coming back to this winner!!!!

Again, thank you Bob and Vivian for your gracious hospitality/

Dave and Mindy

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joygirl908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    15
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
115
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stumbled on Farnsworth House quite by accident, but it was the best accidental find ever! Vivian and Bob are wonderful - they met us at the door, greeting us warmly, even offering to help carry our bags upstairs. We've stayed in quite a few B&B's and have never been welcomed so warmly! Very quiet, restful place to stay - room was immaculate and comfortable, the upstairs porch connected to the Amber room was wonderful...so peaceful to sit there late in the afternoon and evening! Breakfast was superb! Bob even shared some of his homemade mango hot sauce with my husband who love it! Our only regret was that we had to leave after one night and come back home to reality. We will definitely be back for a longer stay and will highly recommend this gem to our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clowningaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

I had the pleasure of spending a couple of days in Mt. Dora at the Farnsworth House. I have traveled to many places and stayed in a wide variety of accomodations and Farnsworth House ranks as one of my favorites. Bob greeted us warmly upon arrival and our room exceeded expectations. The Amber suite has a sitting room, a screened porch and a kitchenette. We were there to celebrate my partner's birthday and Vivian and Bob presented him with a lovely (and delicious!) cake. Their hospitality was second to none and they had many great ideas about things to do around town. We were welcomed into the home as friends and not rushed on our way. Oh, the breakfast is outstanding and they will cater to any dietary restrictions you have. Don't miss out on this gem.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogarobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach County, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Stayed in the St. Andrews room, which was clean and comfy. Very quiet property and the jacuzzi at night was a nice touch. Friendly and helpful owners made us feel at home.

There are B&Bs in Mount Dora that are a tad more romantic in terms of the room decor and grounds, but Farnsworth will give you a real personal touch and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southfloridaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2009

Stayed over Christmas and was great Bob and Vivian are geniune people made us feel right at home for the holidays. They know how to make people feel welcome the other guests were also great to spend the holidays with.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

This was our first stay at a B & B and we didn't know what to expect. The minute we met Vivian, we were made to feel right at home. Our first impression of the "Richard" room was of how charming and immaculate it was. We were very impressed....and it only got better from there. The etire grounds were as beautiful as the house. The breakfasts were superb and we met a wonderful group of people who were the other guests. The B & B is located within walking distance from town and very easy to get to from where ever you come from. We highly recommend Farnsworth House and when we return to Mount Dora, wouldn' t dream of staying anywere else!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmare1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIami Beach
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Vivian & Bob are like FAMILY!!!!!! First time to visit and very HAPPY with EVERYTHING! They are awesome in all aspects, from their hospitality, to the food (great recipes from Bob), to the location. Also, Bob is a great artist with many of his painting displayed throughout the house. Will definitely recommend and go back to visit.

  • Liked — The Saint Nicolas room (for my daughter)
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delaama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
0.5 mi away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#6 of 11 in Mount Dora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Mount Dora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnsworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnsworth House

Property: Farnsworth House
Address: 1029 E 5th Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farnsworth House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll enjoy splendid nights and delicious mornings in this historic Mount Dora landmark. We're conveniently located a few blocks walking distance to downtown Mount Dora, just slightly off the beaten path. Stroll our tree-shaded grounds and enjoy starry evenings on one of our screened porches or gazebo. Choose from comfortable air-conditioned rooms in the 1887 Farnsworth House and the adjacent Carriage House — all with private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Farnsworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing