We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is now our number one favorite B and B in Mt. Dora!”
Review of Farnsworth House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Farnsworth House
Ranked #4 of 11 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Is now our number one favorite B and B in Mt. Dora!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Mt. Dora is one of our most favorite towns to visit, even if its just for a short weekend stay. We ALWAYS stay at one of the bed and breakfasts around town. This weekend we stayed at the Farnsworth House and could not have been more pleased with our experience. The Innkeepers, Kim and Soren, were gracious, friendly, helpful, eager to make sure we had every comfort possible and worked hard to make our stay first class. It was the weekend of the annual Arts Festival with traffic that was crazy. But we didn't care. This B&B was so close to town we left our car in the parking lot and simply walked the few short blocks into town. We will definitely be back and will be telling all of our friends to make sure to book their next lodging here.

Room Tip: Our room was located in the carriage house and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    16
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
125
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had heard about Mount Dora and decided to explore the town. I came upon the Farnsworth Bed and Breakfast, and what a pleasant surprise I found. The innkeepers were so cordial and informative that I decided to stay for the weekend. The Inn is warm and inviting, the breakfast was delicious, the town so charming...what a wonderful experience!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basilbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This past weekend a friend and I had the pleasure of staying here. The owners, Kim and Soren were the most gracious people I have ever dealt with. They could not do enough to make our stay more pleasant. The room was nicely done and very very clean. The main house was full of wonderful antiques and very comfortable. Our breakfast was made to order and delicious. The location was close to town so we could walk to dinner or to shop. We visited Mt. Dora for the Antique Extravaganza which is held three times a year--it was so much fun; acres of vendors selling everything imagineable from jewelry, furniture, ...too much to mention. Make this a stop when you are in Mt. Dora!!!

Room Tip: I think staying in the main house is more appealing, really charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The great owners, Kim and Sören took really good care of us. They have a great house with beautiful antique feeling. Remodeled this year. Great breakfast. We had three small children with us and it worked well with them. Mt. Dora was a very nice city and our stay at Farnsworth really enhanced our trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelAppelfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful time at the Farnsworth House and wished we could have stayed longer. This is a very lovely Bed & Breakfast with a beautiful garden. But the real stars of the place is Kim and Soren the owners of the Farnsworth House. They are gracious and welcoming and they made us feel right at home from the minute we arrived there.

We stayed in the Azalea Suite which is on the second floor with a large screened porch. The room was lovely and the beds were very comfortable. I liked the wooden floor, the fancy towels, bathrobe, slippers and the antique furniture pieces. A very nice touch was the fresh cut flowers in the suite, the basket of snacks on the kitchen table and the refrigerator stocked with soft drinks and water.
It was peaceful, quiet and extremely clean.

We looked at other rooms and they are all charming, homey, and furnished with wonderful antiques. Kim is a great host and such a warm and nurturing person without being intrusive. She prepared a wonderful breakfast, which consisted of fresh orange juice, coffee, selection of bread, fresh fruits, delicious yogurt and fluffy scrambled eggs which were prepared perfectly. I’m still dreaming about them. I liked Soren’s Swedish addition to the breakfast of Wasa Crisp bread with Lingonberry preserves.
I loved the coffee which was hot, fresh and excellent. Trust me, it means a lot to have a great cup of coffee in the morning to start the day. The music played in the lovely dining room during breakfast was very relaxing.
Kim and Soren made us feel like family members in the best possible way.

This was our first stay in Lake County and we are glad we stayed at the Farnsworth House B & B. Soren was very attentive and gave us some very good tips on local restaurants, shops and attractions. We chose The Goblin Market for dinner as one of the recommendations and enjoyed the food tremendously.
There are lots of things to do and places to visit within an easy drive. There are many antiques stores, great bars, lovely restaurants and lots of nature to bike and to walk. You can also take a train ride or go boating along the lake.

Mount Dora has the most fantastic Christmas Light Display I have seen in Florida. There are several decorated areas in Downtown that should not be missed.

Everything about this stay was perfect and we hope to get back to Mount Dora in the very near future.

I'm happy we chose Farnsworth House and would recommend it to anyone looking to visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernhard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We felt like we were back home with mom and dad again. Kim and Soren took great care of us from the get-go. After helping us settle in, they told us to go to the downtown area for a fabulous extravaganza of lights. Never, ever in all of our years have we seen such a celebration of lights and people visiting were so patience with us as we drove around slowing enjoying and seeing the carriage rides with beautiful white horses. We parked and joined in with the festivities. One of our fav highlights of this Christmas. We loved going back in time in our immaculately clean Grapefruit Room that was furnished with antiques and provided with two robes and slippers! Complimentary snacks in our kitchenette in case we were hungry and water bottles and soda pop in the frig. After our second night of seeing the lights again, (we were compelled to go back), we were treated to ice cream sundaes with a special berry sauce from Sweden. Breakfast was always delicious and Christmas morning we were served quiche and a surprise gift for each of us. You will have to go there to find out all the special treasures of their lovely Inn and to enjoy the gardens. Thanks, Kim and Soren for a wonderful Christmas holiday.

Room Tip: The Grapefruit Room has twin beds and a kitchenette so when you get up in the morning, your coffee p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floridagrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent a fabulous weekend at the Farnsworth House Bed & Breakfast in Mount Dora to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. The Farnsworth House accommodations were wonderful. Kim and Soren, the owners, made us feel very comfortable. Our room had a lot of character with the antiques and the tasteful decorating. Everything was very clean, bright, and user friendly. Our breakfast was first-rate and bountiful. This was by far the best B&B we’ve stayed at in the Mount Dora area. We’ll be back for sure.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms to meet any traveler's needs. Many have kitchenettes. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Coryell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
952 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
539 reviews
5.7 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#2 of 11 in Mount Dora
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#5 of 11 in Mount Dora
287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnsworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnsworth House

Property: Farnsworth House
Address: 1029 E 5th Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farnsworth House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll enjoy splendid nights and delicious mornings in this historic Mount Dora landmark. We're conveniently located a few blocks walking distance to downtown Mount Dora, just slightly off the beaten path. Stroll our tree-shaded grounds and enjoy starry evenings on one of our screened porches or gazebo. Choose from comfortable air-conditioned rooms in the 1887 Farnsworth House and the adjacent Carriage House — all with private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Farnsworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing