We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of old Florida”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Dora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tremain Street Cottages
Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A bit of old Florida”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked the Hideaway for an overnight while visiting the quaint town of Mt. Dora and saved $10 just for booking online which was a plus. Mike gave us all the information to get inside our suite earlier than check in time with no problem. The cottages are in the historic district, an easy walk from the main part of town. I am an antique dealer and this place was like going back in time with bead board paneling, extra large kitchen sink with vintage lighting - you get the picture - charming and the cleanest place we have ever stayed in. While the square footage is small, we had all we needed - kitchen table and chairs, full kitchen, loveseat and a chair, TV - even a desk in a nook for your computer. They even provided coffee, cream, sugar, tea, etc. which the month-long condo we had come from did not even include. A plus were floor lamps for reading - most places think all guests do is watch TV. In the back yard, there is a very nice brick patio with wicker seating and a grill which we would have used if we were staying longer. We totally enjoyed our little hideaway.

Room Tip: This is an upstairs unit so not conducive to those who cannot navigate steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    14
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in the Oasis cottage and were so pleased by the decor, location, privacy and ease of check-in with the incredibly helpful innkeepers. I will definitely stay with them again on my next trip to Mount Dora!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starke_FloridaKdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our cottage was located an easy walk from the center of Mt. Dora, which was very convenient. When we arrived we called the 800 number and Ana told us how to get into the cottage. Unlike a B&B, the cottages are all separate self-contained units so there are no strangers or hosts to mingle with (thankfully). It had a king-size bed and, since we like to sleep separately, I was happy to note in the website description that the bed could be separated into its two halves. When we arrived we did this ourselves but wondered why there weren't extra sheets. After a call to our host Ana, we learned that, if they know about it ahead of time, they will have the king separated and both halves made up as separate beds. We will know better next time. The cottage had a warmth lacking in hotel rooms. It also had a full kitchen (4-burner range, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker and toaster). Going to the local Publix supermarket (a few miles out on US 441) and picking up a few supplies would save lots of money on meals that could easily be prepared in the kitchen. There was also a nice private rear deck with a small table and chairs where one could sit in ones pajamas or even underwear and drink morning coffee while watching the birds and squirrels up in the trees. Mt. Dora is a great little town and we expect to return soon for another Segway tour and boat tour of the lake (Premier tours) and we hope to stay again in the cottage.

One last note -- some of the cottages, including this one, allow pets with an additional fee. I try not to stay in hotels that allow pets because I don't believe they can get them truly clean, but the cottage website claimed that their cleaning process removes "virtually all pet dander" and I decided to believe that. It turned out to be true. There was utterly no odor of animals and no sign of debris.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GainesvilleLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We had such a nice time! We come to Mount Dora every year and this will not be our last year at the cottages. It felt like home, so inviting, cozy, warm and quiet.
We traveled from Maine and we arrived a day earlier than expected and Hannah was so nice and it was no problem arriving a day early.
While there everything was perfect. I cannot recommend this place enough. We do plan on coming back and plan on staying at the cottages again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. It was so adorable! Our room was quaint and had an old french decor, very classy and very elegant. The room was super clean and the atmosphere was so cozy! Loved it and would recommend it to anyone visiting Mount Dora!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in the garden cottage and it felt like home. Very comfy little cottage. Would recommend these cottages to anyone looking to stay in downtown Mount Dora. You will love it as we did!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmalone1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Nantucket, along with our Cairn Terrier and Snoodle. It was our first time to Mount Dora, but won't be our last and we loved the Tremain Street Cottages. Next time we will try and plan earlier so we can get the bigger cottage, but this one was great for just us. We and the dogs got our exercise walking into town, as we are not use to the hills. The dogs also had a first, when we went to "One Flight Up" for lunch - first time they had ever encountered steps. Be aware that if the cottage above the Nantucket is rented, you might have to turn the living room/bedroom fan off, as the people upstairs said it hummed and bothered them. Since we had the a/c on, it was no problem to us to turn the fan off.

Room Tip: Nantucket is great for couple or 3 people and definitely pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mannryan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
0.1 mi away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#6 of 11 in Mount Dora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Mount Dora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremain Street Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremain Street Cottages

Property: Tremain Street Cottages
Address: 615 N Tremain St, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5652
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in privacy and comfort one block from all of the action in downtown Mount Dora. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing