We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pretty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Dora

Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Mount Dora
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Pretty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We loved coming down to the lake, walking around on the trails provided and taking pictures with our family here. It's beautiful and well maintained. We have a 2 year old who had no problem navigating the paths etc. Only went once while we stayed in town but it was fun and if it had been nicer out we would have gone back again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hanutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    99
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“As Beautiful as Mt Dora Village on its shores”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Floridian wildlife is ever present on these beautiful and tranquil waters of this rather large lake. The look for Florida is ever present and the peace one gains on its shores is not to underestimated. Absolutely fantastic get away

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dukeusa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Peaceful Old Florida”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Lovely cruise from the Lakeside Inn. Don't miss the Dora canal to see an Old Florida waterway as the steamboat passengers would have seen it over 100 years ago.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Onawing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful little lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We love the park, picturesque and peaceful. I have a serious crush on these lake county little towns!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tour good despite rain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was my fourth tour of Dora canal in 9 years and even though Captain Brandy was not at the helm, we enjoyed Captain David and First Mate Sandra's enthusiasm and knowledge of the area. Since moving the operation to the other side of lake, it took much longer to travel to Dora Canal where the wildlife live but we did boat by a huge bald eagle's nest which due to the weather didn't appear to have the female eagle tending to her young. I got several great shots of birds and even a shot of the rare and elusive red-shoulder hawk totem. I even took a photo of what I thought was a moving water moccasin which turned out to be a male anhinga.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raven_Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Dora also viewed

 
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to Lake Dora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing