We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhh ... so nice and relaxing”
Review of Lakeside Inn

Lakeside Inn
Ranked #29 of 116 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ahhh ... so nice and relaxing”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Awesome view of the lake. Huge balcony with rocking chairs to just chill. Great location and it's not like all the other hotels. This one is different. It's very country-like style.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TAMPABAYFAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    92
    44
    35
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just OK; could have been better, could have been worse”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We came to the Inn for our friends wedding. The town wasn't as charming as we expected. Its mostly restaurants and gift shops, though it wasn't super tour-isty either. The neighborhood a few blocks out from town is NOT nice either so be careful what direction you are leaving/coming town from.

When we checked in we asked if lake view or updated was better, so after her descriptions we decided on lake view. We took 2 steps in the room looked out the 'huge window' (not) at the lake, saw a beat up old AC unit and marched right back to the desk. This was not an updated room which we knew, but it was certainly not what most people would consider 'lake view' either. It was darker, old furnishings and bedding and smelled musty - didn't feel clean even thought I"m sure it had been cleaned. The front desk agent was very nice and moved us to an updated room. The property has 4 buildings. The main building has most of the updated rooms. They didn't have any king bed updated rooms available, but they did have a queen and that was just fine with us (so be sure you are flexible on the bed type for a better room). This room was MUCH nicer. We were in room 7308, right over the patio with 3 windows that looked straight out over the grass and pool to the lake. This was a WAY better 'lake view'. The room had fresh paint, felt cleaner and was comfortable. Like other reviewers mentioned, you can hear alot of noise from around the hotel but it quieted down early the night we were there so we didn't have to deal with the bar noise or patio noise for too long. My husband wasn't too sure of this place from what we saw online so he had low exceptions but he ended up being pretty pleased with our room and the overall experience. It wasn't worth the $145 a night after taxes though, and it doesn't include any meals. FYI - there really isn't much lake frontage and there is no beach really. The catered food for the wedding wasn't very good, but the restaurant seemed popular.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Retro”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A beautiful Beaumont Dining room and the brunch was amazing. Loved all the period decorations, the staff was a little unorganized, but it didn't take away from the quality of the food.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sliv1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst meal”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A group of 12 ate at the Lakeside Inn for lunch. Only 4 of us did not have major complaints. We had terrible water, undercooked rolls, burned chicken and toast, unannounced substitutions or omissions, inedible veggie burgers, floury soup, and slow service. I could not recommend this restaurant to anyone even though the setting is lovely. Unless they get a real chef in the kitchen, no one should try to eat there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pr1mr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You can dock your boat!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

All the current reviews paint the picture...old world charm, window air conditioner, chipped paint, etc. but the real draw for me is that you can launch a boat at a public ramp just a few blocks away, park your vehicle and boat trailer at the inn and leave your boat docked at the Inn's dock! How cool is that? It is a nice circular dock with 8 or 10 slips plus a seaplane at the dock if you want to take a $50 fifteen minute flight around Mt Dora's lakes. There is a nice large pool and a huge grassy area with chairs to view the sunset, boat dock and seaplane. All in all, a pretty cool place. There are several lakes that connect by canals or rivers. One canal boasts that scenes from The African Queen were filmed there. It is a primeval canal with abundant wildlife, including gators. Extremely cool. If you aren't too picky about having to walk to the main building for coffee (there are several buildings on the property where you may stay) and watching a the tv with standard definition and a noisy window AC, this is the place to stay. If you bring your boat, there is no question.

Helpful?
1 Thank roulduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeside Inn also viewed

Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing