We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid german food”
Review of The Bavarian Haus

The Bavarian Haus
Ranked #16 of 117 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“solid german food”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had lunch there on a Sunday and the place was packed. We have never been to Mt Dora and the village is super cute, the restaurant stood out from the crowd with its beergarden right on the street. The place is nice and the music draws you in.

We walked up and stood there for about 5min at least until the server greeted us and told us to pick a seat. I know that this is common in Germany, but hey, write it somewhere and we have no problem doing it. We watched other people having the same issue, standing around, no one acknowledging them and then just walking away. We were still waiting for quite some time until someone and took our order and brought drinks.

The food was good though and worth the wait. The Schnitzel was delicious and pan fried, they had great choices for sides and the menu was big and extensive. We would have loved to try more, but there is only so much you can eat for lunch.

I am torn between giving the place 3 for service and 4 for food, but there is no 3.5, so I rather give it a little more. The place could be great if they pick up a little on the service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    77
    34
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Danken for the potato pancake soup”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

It is a great stop for a comfort meal. The first time we went there was a guy in german attire playing the accordion. Was great. The food is typical german food: simple and satisfying. We recommend the potato pancake soup!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good German food!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went for late lunch/early dinner during art festival, food was good and served hot and quick however didn't feel welcomed by older wait staff, maybe because they were busy and tired, will go again when less busy to form an opinion. Sorry about that 11% tip ladies.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bjmetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Ate there twice. Food was great. Had sausage platter the first time in November and had the wiener schnitzel in December. Both excellent. Service was good and our server spoke German to add to the experience

Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place when looking for real, authentic German food!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Florida has its fair share of so called authentic German restaurants and eateries. Not all of them, particular in the Orlando area really deliver on this promise. The bavarian house has not disappointed us, having been there now for over five times in the past three months. The menu is well rounded with a nice variety of sandwiches, sausages, meat. Food is made the traditional German way and fresh. Portion sizes can be considered medium if you take the usually gigantic portion sizes of the states as a measurement.
However we would rather go for quality and taste anyway, than for pure quantity.
The "roulladen", "schnitzel" or "sauerbraten" are a must have. Potato salad comes bavarian style, so make sure you like that taste before ordering it.
Had a good laugh the last time when the group next to us ordered Schnitzel and Braten and then drowned the whole meal in mayo and ketchup- why would you go for some authentic food and than not at least savor it the way it is intended?
The hosts are a really nice couple. Service can be spotty, particular when it is busy. But again, so far we were at all time at least satisfied with it.
Can definitely recommend the place for either lunch or dinner!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Orlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bavarian Haus also viewed

 
Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to The Bavarian Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing