We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Find Anything BETTER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 11 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't Find Anything BETTER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Ha Ha...a GEM in disguise and not to be missed. The rooms in the INN are beautiful and comfortable. Breakfasts were great. If I had to recommend any improvements needed it would be the outdoor furniture and maintenance of the pool. Other wise NOT to be missed

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DB-1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    11
    7
    13
    9
See reviews for
9
61
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Beautiful B&B, lovely town with lots of art, crafts, interesting things to see. The B&B was a great place to stay - close enough to walk to downtown. The owners are fabulous people - very welcoming. The place was immaculate, breakfast was delicious. Good night's sleep, for sure. If you go, please talk to the owners about taking a horse and carriage ride through the town. I believe small dogs are welcome, but (again) better check with the owners. Many beautiful things in the building, so I don't feel it is small-children friendly. The owners have dogs, so perhaps not the place for one with allergies. We'll be back again, just to enjoy the atmosphere and beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Check out the website - all rooms are different, so pick the right one for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamy32789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was our first bed & breakfast stay so I can't make comparisons, but the hostess was very pleasant, our room was spacious, very lovely and filled with antiques and art work. Our breakfast was delicious; the owners had recipes for their egg dishes and lots of information on things to do in Mount Dora. The hostess offerred to make our dinner reservations and spent quite a bit of time showing us around and chatting about the hotel and the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and our trip to Mount Dora, a historic town 30 minutes outside of Orlando.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

I was impressed the moment we pulled into the driveway. From the beautiful grounds, to the wraparound porch to the many treasures we found inside, Heron Cay is so inviting. And Margie and Randy help to make it this way. Their hospitality was excellent, the breakfast was delicious, and their dogs are beautiful (only if you want to see them). My husband surprised me with this getaway for my 35th birthday and it was truly the best birthday I ever had. :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

Great B&B, very friendly and wonderful breakfast. The owners (Margie and Randy) are warm and gracious, made us feel very welcomed. We brought out young puppy and found our room to be quite nice. Often the rooms allowing pets are subpar, not here.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

My husband & I truly enjoyed our stay at Heron Cay. Our room was beautiful and very clean.The food for breakfast was excellent. Our hosts were very gracious and great to talk to. This is where we learned about the "Florida Highwayman" and saw the wonderful art.
Would recommend to anyone visiting Mt. Dora.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank callielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Excellent stay - Our room was very clean and wonderful - very beautiful. Margie told us ahead of time that we could arrive early and leave our car in their lot and go on to the Art Festival. And when we did arrive, we were offered a wonderful breakfast, even though we weren't checking in until 3:00 and we thought that was very thoughtful. Of course we accepted the invitation and the breakfast was wonderful. I don't have any complaints, only complemets for this establishment. It is probably the best bed and breakfast experience that I have ever had.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolbu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
4.9 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#4 of 11 in Mount Dora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Mount Dora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast

Property: Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast
Address: 495 W Old US Highway 441, Mount Dora, FL 32757-4400
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Victorian Residence with a Tropical Flair overlooking Lake Dora, recently created to reflect times from our glorious past. Most of our rooms/suites have a view of Lake Dora, three have a fireplace and most can accommodate four guests or more if needed; they are unusually spacious and have an ensuite bath, mini frig, coffee pot, TV, embroidered bathrobes, irons/boards, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer and other amenities not typically found in small lodging establishments. You may find less expensive accommodations, however you will not find any that are nicer.. We also offer Handicap and separate 'Pet Friendly" accommodations and are a short walk to Historic Downtown Mount Dora's fine shops & restaurants, Mount Dora is 'Someplace Special.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Cay Lakeview Hotel Mount Dora
Heron Cay Lakeview Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing