We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it, cute menu... Food had nice taste... Service was there... All around awesome place... Thank you for coming to Mt Dora.”

Whales Tale Fish House
Ranked #28 of 115 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 352-385-1500
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it, cute menu... Food had nice taste... Service was there... All around awesome place... Thank you for coming to Mt Dora.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Made me a little home sick for the Ocean. The decor was cute...... Service was good.... Did not have to ask for nothing.... I hope you folks are here to stay....Thank you.........

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chedegard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    32
    8
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
211 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Place for awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We tried thos spot yesterday and are happy to say..we were not disappointed the food was great the restirant was clean and our waitress was really nice...had the oysters which were jist perfectly done..also had tthe clams..give the a try we will be back next time were in Mt Dora

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1hungrychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fl.
Level Contributor
169 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“THE BEST OF SEA FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We eat here often as my husband loves their fried oysters. You can't find them better anywhere. The other sea food is equally good. The sides are served in too small of a serving paper cup but they will give you more. There is no fine china here just good food at a fair price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pettitt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Beach, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Good Fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

First visit. Had the oyster roll with fries. Wife had the Onion soup and salad. Very good oyster roll, salad and clam chowda. Onion soup nicely topped with croutons in place of fighting a bread slice. Broth, however, lacked intensity, despite being loaded with onions. Would return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayburycapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“surprise in mount dora”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Took a drive to mount dora,florida and found this cozy seafood restaurant in a strip mall a few minutes from downtown.What a gem.great seafood, clean,and great service.
My wife had the combo shrimp and Haddock with red potatoes and slaw.I had the belly clams fried with red potatoes and slaw.We both tried the clam chowder .Everything was fresh and cooked just right. Good value for the price. we will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tushmd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whales Tale Fish House also viewed

 
Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to Whales Tale Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing