We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hamburgers, no atmosphere”

Frog and Monkey Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #21 of 115 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are more of a restaurant than a bar
Mount Dora
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hamburgers, no atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Hamburgers, wine, beer: these are what attract people to the Frog and Monkey. The burgers are great, and there's nothing wrong with the wine and beer either. I imagine when there's music (often in the evening) and a crowd, it's properly convivial. If your visit is at lunchtime during the week, when there' no one there, it's pretty barren. I'd certainly go back - nothing wrong with the food or the service - but there are restaurants in Mount Dora that are more enticing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    149
    54
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We cleared our plates”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

The food here was good. Nothing out of this world but it was decent. The atmosphere was just ok, nothing special. We stopped here for a quick lunch and enjoyed it. The staff was very nice and quick to take our order and the food was good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stop in for lunch. The service was good and so was the food. I had the Philly and was better the I expected.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ivonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“CLEANLINESS ISSUES”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stopped for lunch upon the recommendation of a loci as we wanted somewhere that had good sandwiches and could accommodate our two small grandchildren. Our server was very friendly and polite. We all enjoyed our food. Prices are about $10/person. I was, though, disturbed by the lack of cleanliness of my surroundings. The floor was very dirty and it was not a busy day. There was dust everywhere, especially on the shelves, chairs and the piano. Makes me wonder what lurks behind the kitchen door. If I had been inspecting this establishment for the health dept, I think they would have flunked!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MFHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“poor quality and overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

undercooked flatbread. Overcooked burgers. Tap water horrible taste and smell (sulfur). Staff undertrained but friendly. Greasy food. Poor menu selection.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Athena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frog and Monkey Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 
Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to Frog and Monkey Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing