We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!”
Review of Copacabana

Copacabana
Ranked #4 of 117 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Authentic Cuban cuisine! Opened since 2009! Delicious and fresh home cooking! Great quality! Voted best mojitos and Cuban sandwich in Central Florida! We take reservations for Special Occasions! We hold large parties!(Indoors & Outdoors seating!) Experienced staff!
Altoona, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OMG!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Wonderful food. Wonderful ambiance. Great location for walking. Prices are excellent. Staff are SO nice, it's a total pleasure!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    167
    45
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mount dora
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant !”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Copacabana is where my children want to eat immediately when they visit Mt Dora!! My recommendations are to start with the sampler platter which is delicious ! All entrees are great, but save room for wonderful desserts, too. Our last visit had strolling musicians singing table side for a memorable evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mdgolfer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Copacabana is authentic, delicious and highly recommended....”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We made our first visit to Copacabana / Mount Dora today for lunch. We had the dinner order of Bistec de Palomilla - thin sliced marinated steak with fried onion w/ special sauce and Garbanzo Bean Soup. Both were simply delicious. The steak was perfectly marinated, tender and grilled to a delicious authentic flavor. Smothered in garlic olive oil sauteed onions with subtle spicing it was one of the most flavorful steak dishes of its kind ever experienced. No lie, it was that good and the dinner service size was for two. Black Beans and Yellow Rice w/ yellow sweet Plantains included. Also provided were two different mayo based sauces. One hot, one not. They are homemade by the owners (who are delightful) and considered secret. They are outstanding. The Soup was equally delicious with a very flavorful broth with a hint of lime. The service was quick and attentive. The ambiance is very nice, comfortably upscale and clean. In conversing with the owners you immediately know they are proud of what they do and the food they serve....and for good reason. Highly Recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aubrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“After 5 years, still the best.”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Happy 5 year anniversary to Copacabana in Mount Dora. They arrived soon after we did and are still going strong. We continue to enjoy coming here for special occasions or just when we want great Cuban food. They have maintained their excellent quality meals and very reasonable prices. We've enjoyed watching the expansion as they've grown to include the comfortable covered outdoor seating surrounded with lots of lush plants.

The full bar includes margaritas and great mojitos. The generous portions might require a box to take home what you can't finish. Our only problem here has been deciding which of our favorite dishes to order each time. At least we always know there will be a next time. Copacabana is going strong. The service is always excellent. Anyone who says otherwise must have just hit a blip in the system which can happen anywhere.

Give it a try. Yum! This place is the all around best.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mommabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruston, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Copacabana – “Flip to the back of the menu - YumOlicious!” - Mount Dora, FL”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is an excellent Cuban restaurant.

The atmosphere is lively, the food is fabulous, and the staff is as awesome as the cuisine. Flip to the back of the menu it’s where they keep the “extra special” dinners. I ordered the Copacabana and they brought out a banquet. The sauces are YumOlicious!

Great Food * Splendid Service * Inside Family Fun or Outdoor Dining * FREE Parking * Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EatGood-Feel-Better
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copacabana also viewed

Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing