We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cotton Eyeballs”

Sidelines Sports Eatery
Ranked #67 of 115 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
388 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Cotton Eyeballs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

We end up eating here because we eat out about 26-27 days each month and..... it's close. The Salads & Burgers are a bargain and the Chicken Wings, the best in this area. It's decorated by 'Get The Job Done' Interiors and the Service very 'Friendly' - though All-ways very slow. If you make the mistake of coming when the Biker Clubs come through.... there's a lot of racket. It seems, The Biker Code is: you must be loud and obnoxious.
They don't offer Pints of Draft, just Pitchers but, the pitchers have a built-in ice core therefore, they stay reasonable cold....so bring a buddy.
Someone told me.." it's like "Hooter's but, smaller". I'd have to say Beauty Is In The Eye of The Beholder: He must have Milk Muted Cornea's or Cotton Eyeballs. ~ It ain't like Hooters~. This is no beauty parade but, several of the girls ARE really nice, cute and make the stop enjoyable. They had a little person as a server for a while and she was absolutely AWESOME (as the saying goes- definitely compensated in Size with a Giant personality & effort). But, they pretty much go through servers here, faster then they change the napkin containers. Why:? You don't have to be a CPA to figure the tips are low, there's not-enough-servers, civil unrest ( if you have a parched throat from fiery chicken wings and no beer) = a ever diminishing customer base . So, we try to compensate these poor girls- WHEN they do a good job.
FYI: They charge '75c extra' for little tubs of dressing when requesting 'more blue cheese', or whatever, and usually serve the cold celery sticks ON TOP if the red hot chicken so, you have to ask- please don't! Hey, it's not the Ritz Carlton...this is a Central FL. Sports Bar, what do you expect? LOL

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BentleyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    30
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wing It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Everything you could want from a local sports bar - lots of cold beer and better than average food. The wings are excellent and the sandwiches are big and tasty. Stay with the burgers, Philly cheese and fish and you can't go wrong. Clean, family friendly and VERY affordable prices (ask for the lunch specials). Seems like a good place to spend Saturday and/or Sunday.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tider777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place for regular lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Food is always good. Its one of my regulars place to eat. Terry, is one the best waiters in the place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank manyloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the beer was the best part, when I got it...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Hmm where to start

1) place was WAY understaffed, I saw maybe three employees the whole time and seemed like there was only one waitress to cover the bar and restaurant. so took about 5-10 minutes to get a beer, about 10 more minutes to order, then about 20-25 minutes for the horrific food to arrive.

Can't blame the waitress though, she was very nice and sorry for what ended up to be a bad experience, but she just obviously had way too much to handle.

2) food was terrible, I've probably only asked for a refund because the food wasn't edible once or twice before this. The chicken in the sandwich was super tough, tasted like it had been a frozen ready made fillet that they over-microwaved. Even the fries weren't passable with little to no flavor except for the cheese-wiz bottle they emptied over them. Sad to say I barely ate anything that night, but Yuengling never disappoints.

Not too sure how this place has stayed open so long, hopefully I just caught them on a bad night...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank qt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just driving through Mt. Dora, FL, we happened upon this sports eatery that advertised an "all you can eat" special that evening. We tried it, and were quite pleased with our choice. The fish was different (Swai)from what we were used to (catfish) but it was ok. The servings were very large so we had plenty to eat! One serving was great plenty for the value! Friendly serving staff, and nice family place, too, even though a "sports bar". Well mannered guests - attentive staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sidelines Sports Eatery also viewed

Mount Dora, Lake County
 
Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to Sidelines Sports Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing