We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”

Mount Dora Museum Of Speed
Ranked #3 of 43 things to do in Mount Dora
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We hope these photos will help give you a peek at the inside this private Museum. Your visit here is a chance to 'take a Dejavu trip' through Time, walk through our 7,000 sq. ft. facility, and enjoy some of America's Finest Classic American Muscle Cars, Collectible Foreign Cars like Porsche and sometimes Ferrari."Professional" Cars (Hearse & Ambulance),and lo-mile Old-Timers from the 30's-40's-50's, '66-'67 Shelby's, Mid-Year Vette's, Cobra's, Classic Trucks,Ford Woodie, and occasionally a 'Rat Rod'~ all make appearances here. Antiques for sale in the Gift Shoppe. Experience a HUGE 50+ Year collection of NEON Signs, Vintage Porcelain Advertising Signs, Gas Pumps, Air Towers, Jukeboxes, Cola Machines, and Pedal Cars/Strollers & 1/4 & FULL Midget Race Cars. There's even a display of Autographed Guitars w/Backstage Passes from famous 'Rockers' & Country Artists: including Stevie Ray Vaughan, Jeff Beck, Eric Clapton, Aerosmith, Ozzy Ozbourne, Bon Jovi, The Rolling Stones' Ron Wood, Don Henley & His group, Billy Ray Cyrus, Graham Nash, George Thorogood, Chicago, Member's of the '99 Lollapalooza Tour, Montgomery & Gentry, & Chet Atkins,Madonna's Autographed underpants, and the entire Cast Signed, Guitar from A&E TV's "Pawn Stars" including 'ChumLee' & the "Old Man", plus a new display on TV's "Duck Dynasty" featuring Taxidermy! Plus, see Brooke Burke Autographed Guitar (former: "Dancing w/The Stars"). We also added for the Ladies; Unique Mannequin's with Period Dress covering the 40's-50's-60's: Airline Stewardess/Pilot, Drive-In Girl on Skates,Vintage Gilmore Race Driver, Texaco Attendant, Hippie 'Groupie',Greyhound Bus Driver,and Ambulance Attendant & Nurse, recently added: 4 'working' 50's Black & White TV's with original programs! There is so much to see: Most folks circulate the Museum several times. We even added a 1952 Alan Herschell vintage Amusement Ride called "Sky Raiders" on the ceiling![ Please note:Due to damage not covered by insurance we do not permit ANY camera's with removable lenses]. Small cameras & i.phone cameras are welcome. This is an Adult Museum, No Children under 14. By far, The Most Fun Hour+ you can spend in Mt.Dora. Call 1st for Sat. Hours as we sometimes close to attend Car Shows elsewhere.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have been to Mount Dora twice but would not have noticed this museum had we not just joined a car club. My husband is more the car buff, but this museum has so much unique memorabilia from long ago that non car lovers would find it just as interesting. The owner gives a very interesting tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay19442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BentleyBoy, Owner at Mount Dora Museum Of Speed, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello 'Kay1944' Thank you for making your Very First Review on TripAdvisor about The Mount Dora Museum of Speed....and for making it a 5-Star. It was a real pleasure to Tour almost 70 folks from the Convertible Club through our Museum. They were truly a FUN Group! You saw a 44+ year collection of DeJaVu Memorabilia and Auto Antiques. We try and make the 25-26 cars on display an added 'bonus'.... LOL. We appreciate your making the drive down to see us and look forward to seeing you as we 'do' the Car Shows ourselves. Kerry, Cindy, "Max", and "Annie" (our Gift Shop cats).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    30
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

What an awesome tour we had today. Thank you for your hospitality you gave our family. We cannot stop talking about what a great place this is. You are extremely knowledgeable of so many great things you have on display. We cannot wait to come back because there is so much to see I know we missed some stuff.
Thak you again for this awesome experience...
Rich, Bonnie & Jacob Bergeron
Inverness, FL

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BentleyBoy, Owner at Mount Dora Museum Of Speed, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hello Ms Bonnie, Rich & Jacob! Thank YOU for dropping by and spending time with us. We 'Aim To Please' and I'm happy to hear your family had a great time. We're 're-booting', adding new DeJaVu Memories all the time so, please join us again for a walk through the Past.
Our Mission is to trigger memories....when times weren't so complicated.
Thanks Again. Kerry & Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must See!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I are residents of Mount Dora but just recently had the opportunity to stop by
the Mount Dora Museum of Speed.We both were so amazed by everything we saw and how
nicely it was displayed.It brought back so many wonderful memories and we are so grateful
to the owners for sharing their wonderful collections with the public.We would highly recommend
it to anyone who lives or visits Mount Dora!! A truly amazing experience and one we hope to
share with our friends & families!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank L and L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BentleyBoy, Owner at Mount Dora Museum Of Speed, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thanks A Million. We hope more Mount Dora residents will stop and meet us. Happy Trails!
Kerry & Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We spent several hours there and I am sure we still did not see everything. My husband was totally ready to sell one of our cars so he could buy one of the Rat Rods, or Cadillacs. The owners were very friendly and knowledgeable about the cars and memorabilia, from Marilyn Monroe to the Duck Dynasty. They switch things around frequently so we are definitely planning to return soon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BentleyBoy, Owner at Mount Dora Museum Of Speed, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank YOU Christina P !
It's kind folks like you, and yours, that made our Award of the TripAdvisor 2014 "Certificate of Excellence" possible again! We appreciate the time and effort you took to write about us.
Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit. Kerry & Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Museum of Speed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place is fantastic. The cars and memorabilia were awesome. The owners were there and spent a great deal of time with us telling the history of the displays and pointing out special things. We left there feeling like we had two new friends. I live locally and had driven by many many times and said to myself, "you have to check this place out". We had company in from out of town and finally went. Any time we need a place to go with guests the Museum of Speed will be at the top or our list. Don't miss it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BentleyBoy, Owner at Mount Dora Museum Of Speed, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
It would be difficult for us to match the unbridled enthusiasm of your wonderful review...Holy Cow! Thanks so much for taking the time to stop and bring your friends. We sincerely appreciate your local support and hope to see you again. And, hey Thanks for making our Car Museum your Very First Review on Trip Advisor.
Kerry & Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Dora Museum Of Speed also viewed

 
Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to Mount Dora Museum Of Speed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing