We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was closed !”

Mount Dora Museum Of Speed
Ranked #4 of 43 things to do in Mount Dora
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We hope these photos will help give you a peek at the inside this private Museum. Your visit here is a chance to 'take a Dejavu trip' through Time, walk through our 7,000 sq. ft. facility, and enjoy some of America's Finest Classic American Muscle Cars, Collectible Foreign Cars like Porsche and sometimes Ferrari."Professional" Cars (Hearse & Ambulance),and lo-mile Old-Timers from the 30's-40's-50's, '66-'67 Shelby's, Mid-Year Vette's, Cobra's, Classic Trucks,Ford Woodie, and occasionally a 'Rat Rod'~ all make appearances here. Antiques for sale in the Gift Shoppe. Experience a HUGE 50+ Year collection of NEON Signs, Vintage Porcelain Advertising Signs, Gas Pumps, Air Towers, Jukeboxes, Cola Machines, and Pedal Cars/Strollers & 1/4 & FULL Midget Race Cars. There's even a display of Autographed Guitars w/Backstage Passes from famous 'Rockers' & Country Artists: including Stevie Ray Vaughan, Jeff Beck, Eric Clapton, Aerosmith, Ozzy Ozbourne, Bon Jovi, The Rolling Stones' Ron Wood, Don Henley & His group, Billy Ray Cyrus, Graham Nash, George Thorogood, Chicago, Member's of the '99 Lollapalooza Tour, Montgomery & Gentry, & Chet Atkins,Madonna's Autographed underpants, and the entire Cast Signed, Guitar from A&E TV's "Pawn Stars" including 'ChumLee' & the "Old Man", plus a new display on TV's "Duck Dynasty" featuring Taxidermy! Plus, see Brooke Burke Autographed Guitar (former: "Dancing w/The Stars"). We also added for the Ladies; Unique Mannequin's with Period Dress covering the 40's-50's-60's: Airline Stewardess/Pilot, Drive-In Girl on Skates,Vintage Gilmore Race Driver, Texaco Attendant, Hippie 'Groupie',Greyhound Bus Driver,and Ambulance Attendant & Nurse, recently added: 4 'working' 50's Black & White TV's with original programs! There is so much to see: Most folks circulate the Museum several times. We even added a 1952 Alan Herschell vintage Amusement Ride called "Sky Raiders" on the ceiling![ Please note:Due to damage not covered by insurance we do not permit ANY camera's with removable lenses]. Small cameras & i.phone cameras are welcome. This is an Adult Museum, No Children under 14. By far, The Most Fun Hour+ you can spend in Mt.Dora. Call 1st for Sat. Hours as we sometimes close to attend Car Shows elsewhere.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Visited in September, it was a Holiday Monday, we phoned ahead and the message said open, travelled up to Mount Dora from Kissimmee and found the museum deserted. Called in at Highland St café they said had not seen people from museum for some time. Very disappointed !

Thank Rosemarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BentleyBoy, Owner at Mount Dora Museum Of Speed, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Hello : Thank you for not leaving a negative review: I am so sorry we missed you but, as you admitted in your review , we are CLOSED on most Legal US Holidays. We usually use those 'days off' to see our Grandchildren. We post the website and all printed matter, in big yellow & red letters clearly we are "CLOSED" on Holidays! Suggest calling ahead next time to confirm. Happy Trails Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 223 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit and we thoroughly enjoyed our tour. So much to see! Every inch of space- ceiling, walls and floor -was used to display not only cars but memorabilia from the 40's through the 70's. If you go through in a hurry, you will miss something. A step back in time. Very nostalgic. Highly recommended.

Thank CarolBCummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BentleyBoy, Owner at Mount Dora Museum Of Speed, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words. We endeavor to make The Museum of Speed The Best Entertainment Value in Lake County. Glad to hear to Loved it! Thanks Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Well worth the trip out from Kissimmee, great couple run it. Best phone ahead to ensure open. Fascinating memorabilia as well as fast cars.

1  Thank linux x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BentleyBoy, Owner at Mount Dora Museum Of Speed, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Donald M; Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review. We appreciate the effort you took to come and see us. Please come back and visit us again when you return to America !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I first saw a reference to the museum of speed when I Googled "car museums" while on vacation/holiday in Orlando Florida.
I had some spare time so I drove the short distance to Mount Dora, parked up & walked in.
The welcome from the owners was fantastic & after paying an extremely reasonable entrance fee I entered the museum & was totally blown away by the displays including authentic signs, guitars, gas pumps, vintage coke machines etc etc etc.
The ultimate stars of the show were the stunningly presented & preserved cars in all shapes & sizes, a truly outstanding personal collection available for all to see.
Further to all this I had a personal guided tour by the "man himself" & what a privilege it was listening to all his passionate & sincere stories whether it was about a Mustang, a signed guitar or a vintage sign on the wall.
I am from Inverness Scotland & I was totally blown away by this "display" (& I use he word "display" very lightly.....Americana at it's genuine best, absolutely no "bull" here, just an honest passion for what they do.
Finally, this museum is totally privately funded & needs all the help it can get to make sure it survives so that guys like me get a chance to see "the real deal" not a "Disney" the theme attraction.
If you have time (MAKE TIME!!!) take a run up to this lovely part of Florida & meet some "real people".
Loved it & if I am ever around these parts again, I will be back.
All the very best for the future.
Donald Maciver (donmaciver@hotmail.com)

Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BentleyBoy, Owner at Mount Dora Museum Of Speed, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hello Mr. M ! We are flattered you would make the time to visit our Museum. There are times I never get to leave my office and I was happy to breakaway so I could show you some of our displays. Believe me, we share in your enthusiasm....there's not many of us who 'ENJOY our jobs' as much as we do... LOL. Now the "Season" is here, it will get pretty hectic here. We will look forward to your return...till then ; "Kin yer lee be blessed wi' guid luck"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Small museum owned by a couple with a passion. Do call ahead to be sure of hours and get the rules about cameras, kids, etc. The guy has authentic memorabilia that complements the cars

Thank RNYClakelanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BentleyBoy, Owner at Mount Dora Museum Of Speed, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hello Atlanta & RNY ! Thanks so much for coming to see us at the Mount Dora Museum of Speed. Yes, it's always a good idea to call before arrival as we are just a 'Mom & Pop Operation' and we DO close to attend Car Shows and major events across the USA ( and our Grand Kids). We ENCOURAGE the use of small camera's but, after witnessing 2 vehicles damaged with 35mm camera's 'swinging into' the cars, we decided it was in our best interest to forbid them ($500 deductible on Ins.). It is very hard to 'match' and repair the damage they can do.
Thank you for mentioning our 'displays'...they are, indeed, LIFESIZE, with very few miniatures offered throughout the building. The whole idea behind the Adult Museum format was to entertain folks and provide a door to the past. It's definitely not the Disney Complex we are 7,000 sq.ft. but, pretty much jam packed with Dejavu. We recently added a Full Midget Race Car to the Lobby. Once again, THANKS for taking your time to write about us...Happy Motoring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Dora Museum Of Speed also viewed

 
Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to Mount Dora Museum Of Speed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing