We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS CAR MUSEUM”

Mount Dora Museum Of Speed
Ranked #4 of 43 things to do in Mount Dora
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We hope these photos will help give you a peek at the inside this private Museum. Your visit here is a chance to 'take a Dejavu trip' through Time, walk through our 7,000 sq. ft. facility, and enjoy some of America's Finest Classic American Muscle Cars, Collectible Foreign Cars like Porsche and sometimes Ferrari."Professional" Cars (Hearse & Ambulance),and lo-mile Old-Timers from the 30's-40's-50's, '66-'67 Shelby's, Mid-Year Vette's, Cobra's, Classic Trucks,Ford Woodie, and occasionally a 'Rat Rod'~ all make appearances here. Antiques for sale in the Gift Shoppe. Experience a HUGE 50+ Year collection of NEON Signs, Vintage Porcelain Advertising Signs, Gas Pumps, Air Towers, Jukeboxes, Cola Machines, and Pedal Cars/Strollers & 1/4 & FULL Midget Race Cars. There's even a display of Autographed Guitars w/Backstage Passes from famous 'Rockers' & Country Artists: including Stevie Ray Vaughan, Jeff Beck, Eric Clapton, Aerosmith, Ozzy Ozbourne, Bon Jovi, The Rolling Stones' Ron Wood, Don Henley & His group, Billy Ray Cyrus, Graham Nash, George Thorogood, Chicago, Member's of the '99 Lollapalooza Tour, Montgomery & Gentry, & Chet Atkins,Madonna's Autographed underpants, and the entire Cast Signed, Guitar from A&E TV's "Pawn Stars" including 'ChumLee' & the "Old Man", plus a new display on TV's "Duck Dynasty" featuring Taxidermy! Plus, see Brooke Burke Autographed Guitar (former: "Dancing w/The Stars"). We also added for the Ladies; Unique Mannequin's with Period Dress covering the 40's-50's-60's: Airline Stewardess/Pilot, Drive-In Girl on Skates,Vintage Gilmore Race Driver, Texaco Attendant, Hippie 'Groupie',Greyhound Bus Driver,and Ambulance Attendant & Nurse, recently added: 4 'working' 50's Black & White TV's with original programs! There is so much to see: Most folks circulate the Museum several times. We even added a 1952 Alan Herschell vintage Amusement Ride called "Sky Raiders" on the ceiling![ Please note:Due to damage not covered by insurance we do not permit ANY camera's with removable lenses]. Small cameras & i.phone cameras are welcome. This is an Adult Museum, No Children under 14. By far, The Most Fun Hour+ you can spend in Mt.Dora. Call 1st for Sat. Hours as we sometimes close to attend Car Shows elsewhere.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
rangiora
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FABULOUS CAR MUSEUM”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We travelled all the way from NZ and ensured that we made the trip to Moutn Dora to see this private museum. We were warmly welcomed by the owners and their friendly cat. A great collection of cars and a very well decked out museum full of lots of interesting collectibles from years gone by. Take the time to make the trip to Mt Dora and spend the day, a lovely quaint small town, with plenty of cafes/restaurants. Take the time to wander around. Highly recomended to all car enthusiasts. Not a place to take small children to though.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank thenutsRangiora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BentleyBoy, Owner at Mount Dora Museum Of Speed, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello New Zealand! And The Rangiora's! We already miss you heaps as our best intention is to -suck the kumura for - such prezzies and crackers on your appreciation of our hard yakka. For us, it goes beyond chocolate fish, the bees knees.... by jingoes, we're listening with ears flopping from go to whoa. We are so glad you didn't find our cars & lorries 'bodgy'. We think each one is a beaut. Thanks for giving them heaps and understanding why this Museum is really not for sprogs. Its the real ridgie didge. In fact, we thought you, and yours, were real corkers and we are choc-a-block with appreciation for your visit....you Little New Zealand Rippers.
Thanks for slowing for the judder bar while arriving and please stop again.
Ta; Kerry & Cindy
Translation to English: (All In Fun) To The Rangiora's : We are so glad you came to visit us and -we die for- such compliments and gracious comments on all our hard work. We are filled to overflowing with your kind words.... what an excellent surprise to hear you liked the place from start to finish. We are glad you also liked the selection of cars and didn't find any of them of inferior quality. We think each one is beautiful. Thanks for showering us with compliments and understanding, this Museum is really not the best format for children. It is the 'real thing'. In fact, we thought you both were really nice and are overflowing with appreciation for your visit. We found you an extreme delight. Thanks for driving slowly on arrival over the speed bumps. Your Biggest Fans; Kerry, Cindy & "Wally"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    31
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip back in time”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This little museum, and it is little, is a delight. It is very well planned out and though it is not big, you will have lots of fun checking out all of the classic cars and other items from years ago. The owners did a wonderful job in showcasing their vehicles which are the best of the best.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Odalys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BentleyBoy, Owner at Mount Dora Museum Of Speed, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello to the Adalys! I can't thank you enough for your kind words. There was, indeed, a lot of planning to make this the Best Entertainment Value in this area. Some times people expect the Guggenheim but, our Museum was designed purpose-built so, my wife and I could manage it alone and keep the admission price low. The City of Mount Dora made us flip the building around, build the structure close to the road, and bury it several ft. in the ground which makes it actually look smaller then it is . The fact the ceilings range from 16 feet to 26' results to nearly 147,000 cubic feet of display. The walls, floor and ceilings are all covered in antique items. ( I would like to invite you to come and help me DUST sometime. You might change your mind about "little" ~ LOL.)
Don't let the date (1926) on the front of the building fool you either, as it was just my attempt to make the architecture BLEND with the other local structures without constructing, yet another, ' ' Victorian'. The Good News is: Building it new in 2001, allows for not only creature comforts like a world-class security system but, 10 tons of Air Conditioning in the Summer and more than sufficient heat for those 5-6 days :) of cold weather we get in the Winter. We just added another all new display so, please ..."Come On Down" and see us again. Thanks a bunch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Day Trip”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We took off on our motorcycle for a trip to Mt. Dora. Beautiful day for a ride with an interesting destination.quaint town with restaurants, boutique type shops, wine tasting etc. a girls weekend paradise! The lake is beautiful and would have loved to have the time to take the tour - maybe next time..

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CandyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BentleyBoy, Owner at Mount Dora Museum Of Speed, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Candy Q; Thanks for coming to see us. Bike Week always lends us plenty of Bikers who drive over for a Trip Back To The 50's touring this great town, super cafe's and then, our Museum. We have plenty of parking and lot's to see. We do 'tours' , for 20 or more , for just $2 more per person and we'' tell you about all the neat nostalgia items from ceiling to floor. It usually takes about 1 hour and your free to ask questions at the end. So, organize a possie and make the trip. Looking forward to seeing you again; Kerry & Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best attraction in Mount Dora”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I love to visit Mt. Dora every chance we get. We always said we wanted to visit The Mount Dora Museum of Speed and never had up until this holiday season.
All I can say is that anyone over 30 years of age would be mesmerized the moment you walk through the doors. You step back in time.
It brings back all the good feelings of things you grew up with and more. I felt like a kid again saying to my wife, "honey remember these". They even had old TV's ON with the old black and white cartoons playing!!! Between the gorgeous cars (some for sale/some not), individual vignettes and old gas station inside, I don't know which car I want to take home. I'll talk to the wife later over a glass of wine.
Seriously, the best hour or two you will ever spend in Mount Dora is The Mount Dora Museum of Speed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BentleyBoy, Owner at Mount Dora Museum Of Speed, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you Mr. 'V' for your kind review. Funny, after over 12 years here - near the downtown Historical District - we have many Mt. Dora area residents tell us...."I pass by your place all the time and always wanted to come in...." So, we're so glad you did.! We make every effort to change the displays as often as possible so, we promise to have a "new face" the next time you come to see us. The Black & White TV's have been a Big Hit! Thanks again, we're glad you truly enjoyed them and our unique displays; Salude ! Kerry & Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“What a joy”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Staying just outside Orlando over the Christmas and New Year break we were desperate to escape the crowded Malls and theme parks. So after using Trip Advisor we came across this fabulous little place that is a credit to its owners. The exhibits are first rate and Cindy looked after us well. It was such a joy I recommended you visit, the white Corvette was my wife's favourite but my card could not stretch to it this visit. Just go and then follow Cindy's advice and do downtown Mount Dora. If Orlando is your Florida experience prepare for a pleasant shock. Visit you will to be disappointed .

Helpful?
Thank Gazza3442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BentleyBoy, Owner at Mount Dora Museum Of Speed, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank You So Much for your kind words! Hailing from the United Kingdom we especially appreciate the effort to come and see us and our Museum. Many of our patrons drive over from the Theme Parks after they tire of the huge crowds. The Town of Mount Dora is, indeed, a great Dejavu Trip to 'Kinder Times' in America. That is exactly why we chose this location when we built the building. Thanks again for the trouble to write up the Museum on TripAdvisor ! Enjoyed meeting your charming Son. Cindy & Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Dora Museum Of Speed also viewed

 
Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Been to Mount Dora Museum Of Speed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing