We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, lovely, lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1872 John Denham House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1872 John Denham House
Ranked #1 of 4 Monticello B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely, lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely home, lovely host, lovely historic town. My daughter and I were on our way to visit FSU and I decided I'd rather stay in a lovely spot outside town, rather than stay in a mediocre hotel by the interstate. It turned out to be a wonderful decision. The home was beautiful, there was wine and cookies greeting us in the dining room on our arrival, the beds and pillows were very comfortable and the street quiet - assuring a good nights sleep. We woke up only to the sounds of the birds in the grand oak trees on the property. Breakfast was delicious, a fruit parfait, juice, coffee, french toast eggs and sausages. It was a great start to a wonderful trip. We had a very nice casual dinner at the Mexican restaurant in town too. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms are all equally nice. I chose the room based on my bathroom preferences and penchant for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGuerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
You were lovely, lovely, lovely guests! Thanks so much for your great comments and we love our job - creating a special stay for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    14
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
49
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hmseminole
Level Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I tried this B & B since all the decent hotels were booked in Tallahassee. What a great find it was and it is a quick drive from Tallahassee. The house is beautiful, spotless and very well maintained. The rooms are extremely quiet which is rare for an older B & B house. The mattress was a luxury pillow top and felt very comfortable. Pat made me feel like home with a great glass of wine and some incredible homemade cookies when I arrived. The breakfast was amazing with fresh local fruit and sausage, stuffed french toast, scrambled eggs and fresh juice. Downtown Monticello had some great local and very reasonable restaurants. Thanks again Pat for a wonderful stay and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmseminole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for a wonderful review from a professional! Do so look forward to your return. It is our pleasure to make every guest visit very special. Thanks again. Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ont., Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The state capital undoubtedly has many fine lodgings, but I doubt that any of them can match the charm, quiet, food, or value of this B&B a half-hour to the east. Innkeeper Patricia Inmon has restored the 1874 cotton merchant's mansion authentically and tastefully. This establishment is not stiff and elegant; it is grand and homey at once. Rooms are clean, spacious, well-appointed, furnished with antiques, but blessedly uncluttered, and not so girly a man feels out of place. Well-chosen Florida colors. Very Southern gardens; azaleas were blooming when we visited in early March. The breakfast (waffles, eggs, sausage, and mixed citrus straight from the grove) was world-class. Just a short walk from downtown Monticello, where there are two or three decent, if unpretentious restaurants, and numerous historic buildings, in particular a spectacular old operahouse where one can still see plays performed. This place is a few miles north of Interstate 10, well worth the drive.

Room Tip: User-friendly website, check it out to find which room you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smallisbeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Wow! Thank you for writing the wonderful review. We are thrilled and really look forward to making sure everyone has the same great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was the first time we'd travelled in this part of Florida and this lovely b&b did not disappoint. We had the ground floor four poster bedroom. The small touches that Pat the host adds just make the experience that much more lovely - bathrobes, wine and cake on arrival, hot cooked breakfast with fruit, an assortment of reading material, toiletries in the bathroom and those great seats on the porch to kick back and take in the evening. Everything was in walking distance. The only advice is if visiting this lovely town is to keep in mind that restaurants are limited within walking distance and not open all days of the week so plan ahead in case you need to drive. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you plan to travel with a mountain of luggage, ask about the ground floor room unless you are fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hottons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks, it was our highest pleasure having you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Due to a travel delay we arrived late at the John Denham House, en route from Florida to Memphis before returning to England. We were greeted warmly by Pat and from that moment on treated to the best hospitality we could have wished for. A glass of wine with home-made pecan and fruit cake was most welcome and appreciated.Our room was gigantic and the bed so comfortable it was not easy to get out of for a home-made breakfast of baked apple and cream followed by ham and cheese omelette and fresh bread and jelly. Absolutely delicious. A great find and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sure that any room will be fine as the location is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAGrille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We are so happy! Thank you, Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, AL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Five of us stayed at the John Denham House during the weekend of Thomasville, Georgia's Victorian Christmas Celebration. We had the two rooms that connected on the first floor and it was just perfect. Pat gave us some good shopping tips for downtown Monticello and we got some great buys! We felt right at home at the JDH and plan on going back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We loved having you stay. It was great for us as well. Good times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My stay at John Denham House was my home away from home. I was on long extended stay for a work assignment in Monticello. Pat and Carol were gracious and kind. I felt like I was part of the family. They listened to my stories and told me stories of their own. The home is truly a historic home and I appreciated the home for its charm and history. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. During my stay I never heard any of the other guest in their rooms. The bed was comfortable and had plenty of pillows :). I would recommend this B&B to all my friends and family traveling through the town of Monticello! Pat and Carol are more than happy to offer suggestions of activities or great food establishments in and around Monticello..Just ask :)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique. If you are looking for a claw foot tub you need to reserve the Camillia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
You definitely a joy to have here and we think of you often! Thanks for writing the review. Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
4.9 mi away
Super 8 Monticello
Super 8 Monticello
#2 of 3 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
9.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Monticello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
17.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tallahassee I-10 East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
21.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Thomasville
Hampton Inn Thomasville
#2 of 12 in Thomasville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
20.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thomasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1872 John Denham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1872 John Denham House

Property: 1872 John Denham House
Address: 555 W Palmer Mill Rd, Monticello, FL 32344-1360
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Monticello
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1872 John Denham House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUST 5 MILES FROM INTERSTATE 10!! 17 MILES NORTHEAST OF TALLAHASSEE. CHILDREN AND PETS ARE WELCOME. FULL SERVED BREAKFAST.National Historic Register thirteen room mansion located 20 miles east of Tallahassee in a picturesque old southern town . Rated one of Florida's Fabulous B & B's, Florida Magazine, 2008; Listed "Best in the South" Inn Traveler magazine. Extra large antique filled rooms with candles in the fireplaces - all private baths, designer sheets, down comforters, robes and slippers. Mid-week traveler specials available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your 1872 John Denham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing