We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A new low”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Monticello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Monticello
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Den Burg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A new low”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Filthy and worn chairs, tables, bathroom and other furniture. Microwave and fridge covered in unindentified muck. Insects in one of the beds. A pair of jammies and a hat from a previous guest. Clipped toenails near the bed.
Strangely enough the motel looks pretty good on the outside, but if there is a fork in the road - take it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robtexel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    58
    52
    21
    13
See reviews for
86
37
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

This small hotel is at a quiet exit off of I-10 and while the hotel is a nice value there are not many decent dining options nearby. There is a Huddle House adjacent to the hotel and an Arby's and McDonalds within a few hundred yards. Would recommend to a friend but would add this caveat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StoneyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntress5541, Manager at Super 8 Monticello, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review.We look forward to see you again, we will be glad to recommend other nearby dinning locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

My stay was comfortable, clean and safe. Building was showing signs of wear, but bed and linen were good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaker48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alrewas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night after a long drive from Kennedy Space Center on our way to Memphis.

Overall, average and nothing exceptional but exactly as we expected from a Super-8 motel - it did the job for 1 night (though breakfast could be improved).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gravimetrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Ok… let me say first that I stayed at this Hotel because I was traveling from Florida to Laredo, and was too tired, so, I think this is a pass by hotel for the roadtrip travelers.

Google earth:
LATITUD 30°28'28.87"N
LONGITUD 83°53'29.42"W

GENERALS:
1. The room is VERY spacious.
2. Allways hot water
3. Room really clean and bathroom as well
4. All the installations were so clean and well treated than the hotel seemed brand new
5. The pool is very small, but for the season I was there it was too chilly and I´m shure the water was not heated.
6. Very few TV channels but enough to get you to sleep
7. The front desk lady (night shift) made a mistake while giving me a price for one person, while there would be 2 adults and one 4 y/o child. She stand her price recognizing her mistake. 49.90 the night. That talks very well of the staff.
8. It is really close to the I-10, on the south exit.
9. No problem with other guest noise or I-10 trucks noise.
10. It has a Continental breakfast free that I did not try
WARNING! DANGER! PELIGRO!
Nearby there is a restaurant called HUDDLE HOUSE Restaurant… please! Do not eat here! I mean it, let me explain.
We got there because it was close to the hotel. Everything looked just fine, the place looks like a regular “Waffle House”, a little lower and not as comfy, but what the hell right? We were just looking for a good fast breakfast.
Ok, then, the devil appeared… her name is Niece… she is (I need to say) a afro American lady on her 30 or so, with a really bad problem with her attitude tourch all kind of clients. First I thought her attitude were to Mexicans (it happen that there were, including us, 2 mexican families on the roundtrip), and she treated us really bad, yelling and with no scence of client management, and no patient on explaining the menu.
Then, it happened that she treated some US customers truly well, and others as she did with us, two copule of US customers leave the place because they were not attended AT ALL!!!!
I asked for the manager, who happended not to be in the place, just the cook man, and he agreed with me and offered us a free meal next visit which I´ll never try just to think being attended by that lady.
My family, the other Mexican family, the US families never treat her wrong or anything, she seems to have a problem with live and herself. I left her a tip of $0.01 dollars, hope she got the message.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

The room was FILTHY; the shower had a dirty wash rag in it from the previous occupant. The shower wall had hair on it. The bedding made us itch. We left in the middle of the night and drove 3 hours home after a long day at the FSU game because this place was so nasty. I will never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skbmtucker0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonesann1, Manager at Super 8 Monticello, responded to this review, October 13, 2009
I'm very sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations.We want every guest to be satisfied and return, so please if you ever have a problem let the front desk know immediatly, and we will make it right.Thank you for letting us know.

Since we spoke on the phone after your stay, I hope that my solution to you has satisfied your impleasant stay with us. And we hope that you will give us another try.

Sincerley,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2008

I stayed there. The toilet would not flush right. Air conditioning went out. Shower rod was coming lose from the wall. I registered this complaint to front desk. I just hope they make all necessary repair. This would keep the people coming back to this facility.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Aerobic_Girl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
10.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 3 in Monticello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
17.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tallahassee I-10 East
22.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tallahassee - Killearn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
17.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tallahassee I-10 East
23.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tallahassee Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monticello

Property: Super 8 Monticello
Address: 140 Pafford Rd, I-10, Exit 225 - Hwy 19, Monticello, FL 32336-7188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Monticello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monticello 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Monticello
Monticello Super 8
Monticello Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing