We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hosts and charming home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 4 Monticello B&B and Inns
Houston TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming hosts and charming home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have stayed at this charming home several times. The hosts go out of their way to make one comfortable and meet all needs. I have food allergies which were accommodated at breakfast with special gluten and dairy free waffles and almond milk. Fresh fruit, eggs, cereal, and other offerings are available for breakfast. The rooms are comfortable and roomy, equipped with a refrigerator and television with DVD player, and wifi is available. This quiet respite is in a charming town where one may enjoy antique shops and quaint cafes.

Room Tip: The Romeo and Juliet room has a huge claw footed tub. Both rooms have small refrigerators and a sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingscot98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Because my husband and I were going to be in the area at fly fishing school, our children decided to present us with an evening out at The Cottage for our 25th anniversary. The dinner was not only delicious, but one of a kind, designed uniquely for us. The owners, Martha and Jean Michel, were perfect hosts who made us feel very special. From the carefully selected wine to the china and crystal tableware, we wouldn't have changed a thing. The dining room was cozy and the ambiance romantic. Martha was very kind and patient with our young daughters who called to make the arrangements. If we have the opportunity to travel to this area again, we will certainly try to stay at this lovely bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Based on the reviews I had seen on this and other websites, my husband and I were looking forward to our stay. Unfortunately, Tropical Storm Debra decided to make her presence during the same time so we called the property a few days before our scheduled reservation to see if they were going to be open and available. We left a message for the owners to return our call but heard nothing. We also had Hotels.com leave a message (the Governor of FL had called a statewide emergency and the area was also under evacuation) but had no response. Needless to say, we did not stay at the property and subsequently, the owners refused to return our payment. One would think a statewide emergency and several attempts to contact them without a return call would justify a refund. My husband and I often stay at Bed and Breakfasts and their property may be lovely, but I would never recommend working with these owners.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Cheryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjmbandb, Owner at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Readers please note: the above review is inaccurate. Though these persons may have called, we never got a message from them OR Hotels.com. What they don't say is that they CANCELLED their reservation 5 days prior to the date of arrival, knowing that this would result in a loss of their funds, as is made clear when one reserves the room. Two weeks or more AFTER this, they were able to get us by phone quite easily. E-mail would have worked, too, but they apparently did not try that. There was no evacuation order for our area, and by their reserved arrival date, any weather emergency had been over for 2 days. It took us time to respond to their rather unkind refund requests, as we're a VERY small business and do everything ourselves but we offered, though it is against our policy and though they were not entitled under the rules to any refund, to allow them another night in place of the one they cancelled. This is two for the price of one, which is why it's against our policy; yet we got no response, and indeed, found out they had already placed this bad review before we had a chance to make this offer. Reviews are wonderful tools, but use caution. If all the other reviews are good and one is terrible, that one bad one may have little to do the the property itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
424 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

We spent two nights in this lovely house in a very pretty northern Florida town. The place has been redesigned from basic cottage to something closer to a French country inn, not surprising given that the husband of the husband and wife managers comes from Paris. We had one dinner here, which was marvelous, and two breakfasts. Unlike many B&Bs the Cottage does not overwhelm you with food but what they serve is first rate. The rooms have all the conveniences one wants, including wi-fi, TV, modern bathroom etc. We brought our dog, but luckily the manager recommended a very nice pet facility right down the road.We would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green28
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

My husband & I decided to celebrate our anniversary at this wonderful B&B. We had heard wonderful things about "The Cottage" & our experience there was nothing short of magical. Our dinner, prepared by Martha, was amazing. The love & craftmanship that Martha & Jean Michel put into their B&B is truly a sight to behold. The night that my husband & I shared there is one that we will truly remember forever. And made even more special by the hospitality of Martha & Jean Michel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank green28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

I grew up in Monticello on the Tallahassee side of town. I have had the following events at the Cottage: birthday party with my twin, senior prom dinner, my graduation party (2003), and my best friend had her wedding reception/wedding night there as well. Jean Michel and Martha are amazing! Jean Michel did most of the designing and rebuilding of the Cottage himself. He totally transformed it into a beautiful place to get away or have a party. I remember how it was before they took over... it was a dimond in the ruff which he transformed. They were a great addition to Monticello and are truly great people! Once you visit them you will never forget them.

The Cottage is in downtown Monticello, FL. You can park in their lot and walk around. This is a very small town with classic southern charm. Ted Tuner has a plantation not to far away from downtown, there are some great fishing spots, an Opera house under a block away, and many great older churches. If you are looking for a place to hunt, stay in comfort and then head out for a day on a plantation. There is much to do in Monticello. If you are looking for more to do, both Tallahassee, FL and Thomasville, GA are thirty minutes away.

Hope you have a great stay!

  • Liked — Jean Michel and Martha are very welcoming and have a beautiful place
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2003, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edgardosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2006

We stayed here for one night in mid April after doing a Trip Advisor search and Google. I am so glad we picked this place and not one of the other local B 'n B's.

Upon walking into their Venetian courtyard, we knew this place was different and special. The care that went into the design and decor was very apparent. Even the bathrooms reflected the attention to detail. Several times we nearly forgot that we were in Florida!

At check-in, we had our pick of the two beautifully appointed rooms and were very happy with our decision. The suite was spacious, clean and welcoming. We liked seeing the mini-fridge with snacks and sodas.

The proprietors are wonderful people, warm and accommodating but not phony in any way. Jean-Michel helped us practice our French and fixed a fantastic omelette for breakfast. He and Martha were both very attentive, filling coffee cups and removing dishes as needed, offering more of everything.

If you are ever traveling through North Florida, this place is worth going out of your way for. We are trying to come up with excuses to go back down to Monticello just so we can stay here again. We did not want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jnicbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
10.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 3 in Monticello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Monticello
Super 8 Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Thomasville
Hampton Inn Thomasville
#2 of 12 in Thomasville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tallahassee I-10 East
20.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thomasville
24.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 295 W Palmer Mill Rd, Monticello, FL 32344-1325
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Monticello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Cottage, join folks like actors Kirstie Allie and Shalim Ortiz in finding the grace of the old, the charm of the new, amid the peaceful green fields and sheltering oaks. Each room has a queen bed, european decor, sitting area, private bath, cable tv, comfy robes, central heat/air and charm to spare! Enjoy our relaxed romantic atmosphere, and nearby sights and activities, from golf, hunting or fishing, to antiquing to dog racing and poker, to theater to kayaking! Soak away your cares in our big claw-foot tub, have a massage, or just enjoy our Jacuzzi. Let us make you comfortable! The most elegant dining in the area also available in our gorgeous dining room, by advance reservation only! Recent guests said our cuisine is better than Emeril's! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing