We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leeward Key Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leeward Key Condominiums
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just got back from spending a week in Unit 804 (see husband's review below...). We had a great time. The view from the balcony is incredible! The condo itself is pretty centrally located.. near the strip (US 98) and very close to the awesome outlet mall. The unit was very comfortable with adequate room for our family of four. The beach was just across the street and quite frankly was the nicest U.S. beach I have ever been too. The water was crystal clear and the sand was soft and white... very clean. It reminded me of the Bahamas. We would certainly recommend this condo!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPorter1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We just got back from our week long stay in the condo - unit 804. The building inself is in a great location. Right across the street is the beach. The street has a 25mph speed limit with speed bumps at regular intervals, so we felt fairly comfortable with our teens being able to cross safely to the beach.
Our particular unit was pretty standard. I've seen pic's of other units here that had been totally remodeled and looked incredible. Ours...not so much. It was nice, clean, and comfortable. But we've done several vacation rentals and you can tell when the owner just does enough to make it decent versus going the extra mile to make a geat place for people to stay. On the upside, it was a cheaper rate than those "incredible" looking units. And don't get me wrong, it was still a nice place to stay. The master had a king bed. The girls room had two twin beds. Their only complaint was that the bed frame was skinnier than the bed. My daughter about fell the first time she sat down on the side of the bed.
Our agreement included 2 beach chairs and umbrella. Our teens hit the beach every day but one. My wife and I, only once but we stayed almost all day. There's also two pools for residents; one behind the building and one by the beach.
The beach was great. White sand, clean, and it's shallow for quite a ways out, so you can easily find an open area to play with your Waboba or just enjoy the waves. (And if you don't know...a Waboba is a ball designed for use in the water. Let's keep it clean, people.)
As far as location, it was perfect. Right on a nice beach, about two minutes from Hwy 98 (and it's traffic), but close enough to get to anywhere fairly quickly...again depending on traffic.
This was our first trip to Destin, and we enjoyed it very much. We'll definitely check into staying here again.

Room Tip: From the pictures, some owners have extensively remodeled their units. Check into different ones an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We vacationed at Leeward Keys Condos in Destin Florida last month. We were on the 12th floor (rm 1204) with an ocean view and it was AMAZING. It was very clean and comfortable. The furniture and decor was perfect! We plan on going back next year. It was a true vacation!! Good job Leeward Keys:)

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor with ocean view have spectacular views. Peaceful and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramseymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We just can't say enough about the Destin area and Leeward Key. We stayed in unit 604 and it was wonderful. The owner, Marcella, was very helpful pointing us to different places to go and things to do. The beach is wonderful and the sugar white sand is just like you would expect in the Bahamas or some Caribbean island. Unit 604 had a wonderful view of the beach and ocean and I would definitely stay there again. The furniture was updated and the bed was super comfy. all in all we had a wonderful time and you will too at Leeward Key.

A tip is that there is a very nice grilling area behind the back pool that not many people know about it has gas and charcoal grills and was very clean and well maintained when we were there.

Room Tip: We enjoyed unit 604 but it seems that all rooms above the first or second floor will have a good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a great place centrally located on the main beach drive (Scenic Hwy 98). I stayed in unit # 103. Nothing fancy, but had everything we needed. The a/c functioned well, washer and dryer were put to good use, and the kitchen was fully equipped with just about anything you might need during a week-long stay. There is an LCD TV and DVD player in the living room and master bedroom and an old tube TV in the second bedroom (but hey, you're at the beach right!!??). Master had a king size bed and the second bedroom has a full and twin. There is also a pull out queen sofa if needed. Both bathrooms have shower/tubs.

My one gripe would be this: The company that does the leasing for this unit clearly states: “Walk out your door to the beach or beachside pool!”. This is somewhat true. You actually walk out your door, walk down a hallway, turn into another hallway that takes you out to a sidewalk where you cross Scenic Hwy 98 for access to the pool and finally to the beach. It is very convenient but the description to me is a bit misleading as I had visions of merely opening my door and hitting the sand. Technically anywhere you stay you would walk out your door to get to the beach! That being said, this is a first floor unit and it was nice to not have to use stairs or elevators every time we went out.

There are two restaurants literally next door (Kenny D’s) and across the street (Captain Dave’s). Neither is anything fancy but the food was very good for what it is. While you could walk to a couple of others (Pompano Joe’s and The Crab Trap), it would be a hike for some and I would suggest going by car. You are also close to the outlets mall and outdoor Destin Commons Mall and of course any number of local and chain restaurants within a ten minute drive.

The beach itself was quite nice. The sand was very clean and umbrella/chair rentals are available for $30 day with some discounts for multiple day rentals. The water was very nice except for a couple of particularly windy days post storms that caused high amounts of seaweed. The pool is small (posted max occupancy of 20) but it is serviceable and has restrooms which are very handy. We never had an issue with the pool area being overly full. There is a similar sized pool in the parking area at the rear of the building but we never even entered the area so can’t say much else about it.

While I was quite pleased with the condo and the nearby restaurants, this is by no means the fanciest of Destin. In fact, it was more reminiscent of Panama City Beach although we were surrounded by multi-million dollar properties on all sides. If you are looking for upper crust fancy schmancy, keep looking down the road a ways. This was my first time in Destin and I have always heard it’s a step (or two) up from Panama City Beach. However, our complex and the nearby restaurants were very reminiscent to me of Panama City.

All told, if you are looking for a reasonably priced, centrally located property with all of the necessary amenities then this is the place for you!! I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor give easier access while the upper floors afford a better ocean view if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agtmldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We are so pleased with Leeward Keys , we are going back to get married on the beach here. The place is just wonderful it is has everything you need in the condo, it is much better than the pictures show. Our unit was 1202 2 bedroom 2 bathroom King size bed looking straight out to the ocean the bedroom is huge the bathroom has jets in bathtub ///very clean... has washer and dryer and fully equip kitchen. We plan to vacation here twice a year . There is not a lot of traffic at all .. we even took our little dog which is allowed he loves it...some places where pets are allowed are not clean ...this place is spotless...LOVE THIS LEEWARD KEYS!!!!

Room Tip: Unit 1202 is pet friendly a spotless clean condo. 2 bedroom 2 bath washer dryer in unit fully equip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomkat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed at Leeward Key Condo....unit 1202. This was a wonderful place to stay we will be back. It was better than the pictures I had seen on line. We looked out from our balcony with a perfect view of the ocean. Just love it!!!!

Room Tip: Lots of room...the beach view perfect,,,Love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomkat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miramar
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#10 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
4.3 mi away
Sundestin Beach Resort
Sundestin Beach Resort
#11 of 58 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeward Key Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeward Key Condominiums

Property: Leeward Key Condominiums
Address: 2936 Scenic Gulf Dr, Miramar, FL 32550-8209
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Miramar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Leeward Key Condominiums 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Leeward Key Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeward Key Condominiums Hotel Miramar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing