We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leeward Key Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leeward Key Condominiums
Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We just got back from our week long stay in the condo - unit 804. The building inself is in a great location. Right across the street is the beach. The street has a 25mph speed limit with speed bumps at regular intervals, so we felt fairly comfortable with our teens being able to cross safely to the beach.
Our particular unit was pretty standard. I've seen pic's of other units here that had been totally remodeled and looked incredible. Ours...not so much. It was nice, clean, and comfortable. But we've done several vacation rentals and you can tell when the owner just does enough to make it decent versus going the extra mile to make a geat place for people to stay. On the upside, it was a cheaper rate than those "incredible" looking units. And don't get me wrong, it was still a nice place to stay. The master had a king bed. The girls room had two twin beds. Their only complaint was that the bed frame was skinnier than the bed. My daughter about fell the first time she sat down on the side of the bed.
Our agreement included 2 beach chairs and umbrella. Our teens hit the beach every day but one. My wife and I, only once but we stayed almost all day. There's also two pools for residents; one behind the building and one by the beach.
The beach was great. White sand, clean, and it's shallow for quite a ways out, so you can easily find an open area to play with your Waboba or just enjoy the waves. (And if you don't know...a Waboba is a ball designed for use in the water. Let's keep it clean, people.)
As far as location, it was perfect. Right on a nice beach, about two minutes from Hwy 98 (and it's traffic), but close enough to get to anywhere fairly quickly...again depending on traffic.
This was our first trip to Destin, and we enjoyed it very much. We'll definitely check into staying here again.

Room Tip: From the pictures, some owners have extensively remodeled their units. Check into different ones an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We vacationed at Leeward Keys Condos in Destin Florida last month. We were on the 12th floor (rm 1204) with an ocean view and it was AMAZING. It was very clean and comfortable. The furniture and decor was perfect! We plan on going back next year. It was a true vacation!! Good job Leeward Keys:)

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor with ocean view have spectacular views. Peaceful and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramseymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We just can't say enough about the Destin area and Leeward Key. We stayed in unit 604 and it was wonderful. The owner, Marcella, was very helpful pointing us to different places to go and things to do. The beach is wonderful and the sugar white sand is just like you would expect in the Bahamas or some Caribbean island. Unit 604 had a wonderful view of the beach and ocean and I would definitely stay there again. The furniture was updated and the bed was super comfy. all in all we had a wonderful time and you will too at Leeward Key.

A tip is that there is a very nice grilling area behind the back pool that not many people know about it has gas and charcoal grills and was very clean and well maintained when we were there.

Room Tip: We enjoyed unit 604 but it seems that all rooms above the first or second floor will have a good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a great place centrally located on the main beach drive (Scenic Hwy 98). I stayed in unit # 103. Nothing fancy, but had everything we needed. The a/c functioned well, washer and dryer were put to good use, and the kitchen was fully equipped with just about anything you might need during a week-long stay. There is an LCD TV and DVD player in the living room and master bedroom and an old tube TV in the second bedroom (but hey, you're at the beach right!!??). Master had a king size bed and the second bedroom has a full and twin. There is also a pull out queen sofa if needed. Both bathrooms have shower/tubs.

My one gripe would be this: The company that does the leasing for this unit clearly states: “Walk out your door to the beach or beachside pool!”. This is somewhat true. You actually walk out your door, walk down a hallway, turn into another hallway that takes you out to a sidewalk where you cross Scenic Hwy 98 for access to the pool and finally to the beach. It is very convenient but the description to me is a bit misleading as I had visions of merely opening my door and hitting the sand. Technically anywhere you stay you would walk out your door to get to the beach! That being said, this is a first floor unit and it was nice to not have to use stairs or elevators every time we went out.

There are two restaurants literally next door (Kenny D’s) and across the street (Captain Dave’s). Neither is anything fancy but the food was very good for what it is. While you could walk to a couple of others (Pompano Joe’s and The Crab Trap), it would be a hike for some and I would suggest going by car. You are also close to the outlets mall and outdoor Destin Commons Mall and of course any number of local and chain restaurants within a ten minute drive.

The beach itself was quite nice. The sand was very clean and umbrella/chair rentals are available for $30 day with some discounts for multiple day rentals. The water was very nice except for a couple of particularly windy days post storms that caused high amounts of seaweed. The pool is small (posted max occupancy of 20) but it is serviceable and has restrooms which are very handy. We never had an issue with the pool area being overly full. There is a similar sized pool in the parking area at the rear of the building but we never even entered the area so can’t say much else about it.

While I was quite pleased with the condo and the nearby restaurants, this is by no means the fanciest of Destin. In fact, it was more reminiscent of Panama City Beach although we were surrounded by multi-million dollar properties on all sides. If you are looking for upper crust fancy schmancy, keep looking down the road a ways. This was my first time in Destin and I have always heard it’s a step (or two) up from Panama City Beach. However, our complex and the nearby restaurants were very reminiscent to me of Panama City.

All told, if you are looking for a reasonably priced, centrally located property with all of the necessary amenities then this is the place for you!! I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor give easier access while the upper floors afford a better ocean view if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agtmldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We are so pleased with Leeward Keys , we are going back to get married on the beach here. The place is just wonderful it is has everything you need in the condo, it is much better than the pictures show. Our unit was 1202 2 bedroom 2 bathroom King size bed looking straight out to the ocean the bedroom is huge the bathroom has jets in bathtub ///very clean... has washer and dryer and fully equip kitchen. We plan to vacation here twice a year . There is not a lot of traffic at all .. we even took our little dog which is allowed he loves it...some places where pets are allowed are not clean ...this place is spotless...LOVE THIS LEEWARD KEYS!!!!

Room Tip: Unit 1202 is pet friendly a spotless clean condo. 2 bedroom 2 bath washer dryer in unit fully equip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomkat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed at Leeward Key Condo....unit 1202. This was a wonderful place to stay we will be back. It was better than the pictures I had seen on line. We looked out from our balcony with a perfect view of the ocean. Just love it!!!!

Room Tip: Lots of room...the beach view perfect,,,Love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomkat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
120 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here as a beach vacation and wanted to find a place with Gulf Front view. Be careful with other places because a lot of other views at other places you can barely see the ocean.
Our unit was a 2 bedroom with a King bed that had windows looking straight onto the beach and a full bath with double sinks and a nice tiled shower. The second bedroom had 2 single beds and was connected to the second bathroom. The sofa was also a sleeper and there was a set of sheets wrapped up ready use.
The kitchen was nice and it was great having the countertop bar to eat at if you did not feel like using the glass dining room table. We had turned on the ice maker right away so we could get some drinks going. We really wish that a roll of paper towels was included, but we ended up using towels until we got some.
There was internet, but it was a wired outlet near the bar. We ended up buying a cheap wireless router for the week we were there and it worked great.
All the TV's in this unit were flat screens and all had DVD players. The living room player was even a BluRay player. Right by the front door there was a washer and dryer with a box of soap for your first use.

The Property
It appears that all the units are Gulf Front views and they are all 2 bedrooms. You are across the street from the beach, but as long as you are not on the ground floor you should have a great view of the Gulf of Mexico. There is a small weight room on the ground floor and a room with some vending machines and a DVD rental box. Behind the building is a pool and a few gas grills for cooking out in the middle of the parking area. There is another pool across the street as you access the beach. This is really nice because there are also toilets there so when you are on the beach you do not have to go far. We rented through Resort Quest and we had free rental of 2 beach Chairs and an Umbrella. That was a nice surprise. We used a few dollars from the rental money we saved to tip the chair guy.

Near By
We rented bicycles from Costal Cruisers. It was a wonderful idea. They are only a mile or two away, but they will deliver and pick up the bikes to Leeward key. There is a bike path right in front of the building, but we decided to take a day and put them in the trunk of the car and take them to Seaside and ride around there.
There are a couple of restaurants nearby, but be careful not to fall into a tourist trap. We were not impressed with Captain Dave's at all, we ordered food to go from Kenny D's and it was good. On that strip of road I would suggest Cameilles. We also liked Pompano Joes, but our service really sucked.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Try for 4th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank setcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miramar
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Destin
3.8 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#12 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
4.3 mi away
Sundestin Beach Resort
Sundestin Beach Resort
#10 of 59 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeward Key Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeward Key Condominiums

Property: Leeward Key Condominiums
Address: 2936 Scenic Gulf Dr, Miramar, FL 32550-8209
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Miramar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Leeward Key Condominiums 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Leeward Key Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeward Key Condominiums Hotel Miramar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing