We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Italian food by way of New York City is hiding in Miramar!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Famiglia

La Famiglia
Ranked #5 of 133 Restaurants in Miramar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Italian food by way of New York City is hiding in Miramar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I love this place! It takes outstanding food and superb service for me to go head over heels for a restaurant. This is the place! It reminds me of the NYC Italian spots.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank waltertainment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    15
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pizza was so, so”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I love thin pizza and thought I would try the pizza at La Famiglia. It was thin just like I like it but that was the only thing I liked. The sauce tasted like it had just come out of a can. We took the pizza to go and took it home, let than 10 minutes away. The deluxe was a greasy mess and did not look at all appetizing. The cheese was in better shape but really no flavor. We ordered garlic rolls to eat on the way home because we were starving. The rolls were barely warm and had obviously been sitting out for a while. Considering the price of two pies and the garlic rolls I expected much more taste and better quality. Very disappointed. While we waited a number of the entrees went by that looked fabulous. May give the place another try but definitely not for pizza again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvchoctrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place for a quick lunch or a lazy meal :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

we had a team lunch here and the food was absolutely wonderful, the service quick and fast, the ambience relaxed. Enjoyed the food thoroughly..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alpha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I was at this italian restaurant today I was extremely impress, I'm not a big fanatic of italian food because its always to much tomato sauce, but today I had in experience of a lifetime. It was four of us we had calamari for start that was excellent then we had pizza and veal Parmesan with pasta it was excellent, I will provide pictures when I get a chance. Our server Maria was very nice and very friendly this restaurant was recommend by a coworker and it was a really good choice. I definitely will return.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fabi17presume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A tasty lasagna puddle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Pro:
- The lasagna was very tasty.
- The server was friendly and attentive.
- The bill was accurate.
- The lasagna we took home reheated perfectly in the microwave the next day.
- Attached free covered parking, a plus in this Florida subtropical climate.

Con:
- Ugly Lasagna
- Bland garlic rolls

My dinner partner and I were very disappointed on our recent dinner visit.

Both of us ordered the baked lasagna. What we received was what I would describe as a puddle of lasagna.

I had no camera with me so I will verbally describe what we were served. It looked like the lasagna had melted and oozed over the plate into a sloppy puddle. My dinner partner said it looked like the lasagna had fallen on the floor and was scraped up onto the plate. We know that didn't happen, but nonetheless the visual presentation was, uh, terrible.

It was so unrecognizable that I thought that maybe they brought us the wrong dish. Nope. That's their lasagna.

Maybe the image of lasagna has changed over the years? I searched online for pictures of "lasagna". I found mouth-watering pictures of multiple pasta layers neatly stacked into a nice presentation. Nothing like what we were served.

Despite the gross appearance the taste was fine, actually quite good, but nothing I would ever order again if I want to eat with my eyes open.

We were disappointed that the garlic rolls had a very weak garlic flavor.


Would we return?
Yes, but I would order from elsewhere on the menu. And I would bring a camera.

My rating of "average" balances out the poor presentation with the delicious meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CenVillager316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Famiglia also viewed

Miramar, Broward County
Miramar, Broward County
 
Miramar, Broward County
 

Been to La Famiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing