We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“no pool for babies/toddlers :(” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surfside Resort
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“no pool for babies/toddlers :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

we stayed in 1402 the views were amazing and the property manger was very helpful. The room was decorated nicely and clean with every amenity available plus more the kitchen was a dream with every gadget imaginable. The only complaint was with the building itself. The elevator was terribly slow and always packed having to wait 2 or 3 times before we could actually get in the elevator. The main problem was with the pool. If your child was wearing a swim diaper he/she could not get in the pool. you were stuck to a tiny round 1 ft baby pool which was HORRIBLE. If the tots are not allowed in the pool at least have a reasonable size pool for them would not recommend this place for children in diapers for alone reason. Anyone who has a toddler can imagine the disappointment in my toddler when he could not join his siblings in a the pool and was stuck to a tiny hole my tot gives a thumbs down

Room Tip: if you have children in diapers do NOT go here they will NOT be allowed here even in a swim diaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank combster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    30
    12
    9
    10
See reviews for
54
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I am thankful that I was able to move to surfside rather than stay at the awful hotel I was at, but as I lay here in this poor poor excuse of a sleeper sofa with my shoulder blades pushed forward and my head falling backward, im getting really irritated. Overall a nice condo, great location, and I am always VERY please with the management company, Dale E Peterson, however, the owner of this unit, G18 should be ashamed of herself! The mattress is so thin that I am able to feel every bend and curve of the springs in it and the metal frame of the pull out sleeper. Its obvious the owner does not care about the comforts of his/her guests. I estimate the sofa to be from mid-late 80s and it has the original mattress. There is literally no way to lay to have a comfortable position. I will still book thru Dale E Peterson each time I visit Destin, but for this particular unit, the owner needs to do some updates.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed in unit 511A, great room. A little on the smaller size but as the trip went on I didn't mind it so much. Nice shower & kitchen, lots of storage for all your stuff. Skywalk to the beautiful beach was nice but the hotel needs a pool upgrade. Lots of kids everywhere having a good time. Ricks crab trap was a great restaurant to eat at located on the property. Best vacation ever!

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the ocean have better balconies when the rain comes in you can still sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The condo had very old furniture that was dirty and had tears and stains on the couch, chair, sitting stool, and pillow shams. The bath has mold in the shower wall grout. The title floor in the bathroom had chips and was worn out. The pull out bed has a horrible mattress that is not fit to sleep on. The blinds in the bedroom where damaged and pieces missing so it was not private and the sun came in the room early in the morning. Holes and stains in the ceiling. The sliding glass door was very had to open. The location was great and the surfside staff were very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipmanStillwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The location and rooms are beautiful! So many balconies, so many views. I loved the walkway over the road to the beach also. Some picky points: Two electrical outlets were wonky and the Internet was slow. I know - you don't go to Destin for the WiFi, but you don't spend 24 hours a day on the beach either. You also like to relax indoors and get caught up with what's going on in the "real world."

Room Tip: Be sure at least one of your balconies gives you a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Lu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed in unit 410. Excellent. Couldn't ask for anything more. Modern 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, great kitchen, nice view of gulf and spacious living area. The pool area is very nice and the location on the gulf is amazing. The private beach is rare in this area and ma

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Drewfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Preston the manager verbally abused me. Parking lot flooded due to inadequate drainage. Told to park in owners garage by Preston and then ticketed for it. Blood on bathroom floor and shower curtain. Food in the bed. Food and trash on patio with birds and ants devouring it. Hard beds. Flat pillows. Pullout so old and thin it could not be slept on. Lights out in bedroom, bathroom, patio. Patio door to room doesn't open. No t.v. remotes. Coin laundry across the hall with no change machine. Walls so thin I could hear the person next to us every time they turned on water or flushed toilet. Nats in room. Completely disgusted and will never return!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MLC1583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miramar
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
2.4 mi away
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Resort

Property: Surfside Resort
Address: 1096 Scenic Gulf Drive, Miramar, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Miramar
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Miramar
Surfside Resort Condo Destin Fl
Surfside Resort Destin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing