We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Horrible, look somewhere else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Resort to your Saves list
Surfside Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1096 Scenic Gulf Dr, Miramar, FL 32550-4028   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible, look somewhere else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Only thing good about this resort was the beach, perfect this week. The condo was clean but very outdated, one of the baths stops up, and so does the sink. The open glass door is broken, so we couldn't open it. Front desk service act clueless, seemed as if they didn't care at all. The resort does have wifi, but its possibly the worst wifi..EVER. the restaurant downstairs either needs new management or be replaced, disgusting food. Resort comes with tennis/basketball/volleyball courts and pool/hot tubs and a gym to workout, but all close at 10. Don't plan on enjoying a night with friends/family on the top pool decks overlooking the beach because rude security will kick you and everyone out. Also they lock beach access. Worst resort, regret purchase.

Room Tip: another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dalton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    11
    9
    9
See reviews for
50
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived and found everything clean and organized. Checked out our rooms and theu were clean and had a fantastic view of the beach from our 9th story balcony. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JesseG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My family and I stayed at this resort June 15th, 2012 until Monday, June 18th, 2012. This condo was just FANTASTIC! We had a 3 bedroom condo that consisted of 2 rooms. There were several small problems with the condo, but management took care of that right away. The condo was very clean and nicely furnished. If ever in this area again, I will stay at this condo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MemphisLove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, TX
Level Contributor
164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Owners were excellent to work with and the rooms were nicely decorated and have a great view. Check in day was a little hectic but if you have been to a condo on check in day you know what to expect. The restaurant downstairs either needs new management or should be replaced. Nice walkway over to the beach and pool was not bad however they let children swim in the hot tub. That can be the parents fault as much as management but is a dangerous practice.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serwin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Room 507 -- Would DEFINITELY stay here again!! We booked through Resort Quest and our umbrella and chairs were covered during our stay and 2 dvds at a time were free too to check out from their office.. Fabulous place and really nice! Balcony table and 4 chairs is different than what is shown in video, they are taller FYI. BUT, pull out the wicker chair and ottoman from master room for early morning reading. Order your food at walkover pub/bar and they deliver it from hotel to there so you don't have to walk but two sets of stairs for any food/drinks you want. Both rooms connect to balcony. Very comfortable, great furniture and wonderful experience. Will definitely return! Thanks so much!

Room Tip: We had a side view and it was plenty for what I wanted to see of the beach early morning when readin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShellyCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We just stayed in Room 802A, a VRBO condo. It is an oceanfront room with a king bed, microwave, small refrigerator, tv, and all the necessities for two people. The balcony faces the beach and is a great place to relax. Surfside has a restaurant on site and a pool bar that serves sandwiches,etc. The pool area has 2 hot tubs, a kiddie pool, as well as a large swimming pool. Beach access is private and is gated, one must have a room key to enter. The owner, Mary Tim, provides 2 beach chairs and an umbrella with the room rental. The location is fabulous with easy access to restaurants, shopping, activities and entertainment. Surfside is a little dated but it easily met every need we had. I plan on returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Site link: http://www.vrbo.com/185132
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank myladyarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Just as a forewarning to other guests, there are several additional fees that are charged at check-in. This is disclosed in the fine print, but I assumed that housekeeping fees would be included unless we damaged the place.

We arrived to a room where a blue substance had dripped down the shower walls and dried there. A speaker on the ceiling was emanating a loud, intermittent static noise that kept my fiancee from sleeping. There were two lamps in the bedroom area, but neither one worked. An area rug covered the carpet but was too big to fit in the space, causing two big ridges to form that would not lay flat (in the room with no working lights). The carpet was dirty. I understand it is right by the beach and sand inevitably gets tracked in, but this was more than just a little dirty.

We asked for another room, and the next room was cleaner and quieter. There was no toilet paper when we got there, but we were so tired that we figured we would just call in the morning to ask for some. The front desk called us to check and make sure that our new room was better, which we appreciated, and we asked for the toilet paper then. We were told that we had to supply our own after the first roll. We explained that we never got a first roll - we didn't get any. We did eventually get toilet paper, but being questioned about it first was disconcerting, especially given our experience with the first room. I've never been anywhere where they keep their toilet paper so close to the vest. The manager later explained that it is because the cleaning company is under contract and is not associated with the property management company. I think it would be more helpful to guests if a system is devised so that the property managers don't have to shift blame or go through red tape to correct a mistake made by the cleaning crew.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miramar
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.1 mi away
Sundestin Beach Resort
Sundestin Beach Resort
#7 of 59 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Resort

Property: Surfside Resort
Address: 1096 Scenic Gulf Dr, Miramar, FL 32550-4028
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Miramar
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Miramar
Surfside Resort Condo Destin Fl
Surfside Resort Destin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing