We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Solid hotel, well managed, good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Fort Lauderdale Miramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Fort Lauderdale Miramar to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Fort Lauderdale Miramar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 SW 149TH Ave, Miramar, FL 33027   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Miramar
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
235 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Solid hotel, well managed, good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I spent six nights there, and found it a good, pleasant hotel. The room was spacious and well equipped, breakfast was varied with pancakes, eggs, meat changing every day (patties, bacon, ...), yoghurt, etc.. True, it is far from the ocean, from Miami and Fort Lauderdale, but it was close to where I had to be.
On the negative side, as the hotel is right against the interstate, the windows are sealed, whilst I like to sleep with an open window. And front-desk service is not particularly efficient. I had faxes sent to the number printed on the room telephone, but was told repeatedly that there was no fax for me, until they were located elsewhere in the office.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the interstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    166
    83
    38
    32
See reviews for
176
132
44
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for the night in route to Florida. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very nice and clean. Good location. Our bed was very comfortable and the room was very nice. It was obvious that the hotel was older but it has been updated and was a very good stay for the price. We will definitely stay there again if in that area. Only problem I had was that our room was in the back and my key would not open the back door so I had to walk all the way around to the front desk. They reissued my key and it worked after that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue463 D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The reno's at this property have not been finished yet!!!! Will be a great property when they are completed - but by that time it will be ready to begin again. We stayed for two days and found the location a bit out of the way for our liking. We requested 3 rooms together for a family of 6 and didn't get it. Took us an hour moving from room to room to find one that was acceptable. Found toilets that didn't flush, small fridge where the paint was bubbling on the front (quite unsightly), a funky smell, tears in the sofa cushions, bathtubs with broken drains, dirty strips and hair in tub, just lots of signs of wear and tear. Not up to the standards of a Wingate. Would not stay again.
PS: Breakfast great and overall property is clean. Just the rooms are disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 220pinkflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went to the Ft. Lauderdale area for the weekend and we really enjoyed ourselves. The Wingate was a nice hotel tucked away off the freeway. Check in was easy as we arrived late Friday night. Free breakfast was yummy-got us up and on our way in the morning! The night manger was so nice and funny! He helped me out with an issue with the business office with so much humor-I wish I would have gotten his name. The only thing we wish is that we could have been closer to the center of the city, but this is by no fault of the hotel. We did have a room on the side of the freeway and the sound of the traffic was not a problem. Slept right through it. Mirimar seemed to be like any suburb of any large area-nice and quiet! Would definitely stay here again--- if I'm going to be in Mirimar! Great job Wyndham Wingate!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryder12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It was a great homely place to stay ...my first time staying there, and I will definitely be back every time in the Ft lauderdale/Miramar area. I stayed there for 2 days, JUST checked out this morning as a matter of fact - just arrived back to hometown and had to write a review. It's in a very nice quiet, clean and safe area. It was very clean. King sized bed I slept in was VERY soft and comfortable. Push out sofa my brother slept in was cozy.

Breakfast is usually 6am-10am. I had to check out 5:30am, by the time I left around 5:45am breakfast was early enough for me to grab a bite :) The food is delicious - usually, omelets (eggs), waffles, muffins, pastries, bagels, cereal, bacon, sausage - tea, coffee, juice.

GREAT VALUE compared to the other hotels right around the block.

Room Tip: If you don't know Miramar area, then make sure print out the directions. It could be tricky to f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nakiasgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located close to Insterstate 75 to the west of Miami, but it is at the far side of a business park and difficult to find, even with GPS. The hotel is built on 4 floors, being clean and spacious with a good breakfast on offer and plenty of free parking outside. If guests require other meals, then it is a difficult drive to find other restaurants in the area. This is a lovely hotel - if you can find it.

Room Tip: The rear facing rooms overlook the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miramar
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale SW/Miramar
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft Lauderdale / Miramar
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW/Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW/Miramar
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Pembroke Pines
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Fort Lauderdale Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Fort Lauderdale Miramar

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Fort Lauderdale Miramar
Address: 2800 SW 149TH Ave, Miramar, FL 33027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Miramar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Miramar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Fort Lauderdale Miramar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Miramar is conveniently positioned between Fort Lauderdale and Miami, at Miramar Parkway and I-75, and just moments from Miramar Park of Commerce and Sawgrass Mall. Our guest rooms amenities include high-speed internet access, 32" HD flat panel TVs, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, and safe. Our beds feature top the line mattress, plush pillows, and high-quality linens. Enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast, also included are local calls. We also feature outdoor pool, whirlpool, fitness center, business center and convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Fort Lauderdale Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Miramar Hotel Miramar
Miramar Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing