We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we went there twice as well!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sun Inn

The Sun Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sidmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“we went there twice as well!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Found it a short walk from the Langollen Canal, had a fab dinner served by friendly staff. All so lovely that we went back for lunch the next day.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hevweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    48
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maldives
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So good we went there twice !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a lovely homely friendly feel to the restaurant. The first evening Pete & I went with my parents who reside in Bettisfield and have visited here a number of times since you have opened. I had the feta starter, Pete the prawns, Dad the chicken thai cakes & Mum managed the mushrooms on Brushetta. Mains were fantastic. Substantial hearty portions....the meat pie was "BIG" !!! Our second evening we entertained my best friend and she plouged through the mixed grill...very brave. Pete & I had the lovely juicy thick gammon and managed the fruit crumble for afters. Rachel did squeeze in the Cheese Cake. Absolutely delicious food, no complaints, except that we were too full to eat any more....keep up the good work !!!! See u next time we are at my parents :D xx

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChloeMaldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best steak in months - may go back for Christmas day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Called here on spec and ordered a steak. It was so tasty I was still enjoying it hours later! Obviously good, hung beef, not supermarket bought. There were lots of other enticing items on the menu. It was lunchtime, and there were not many customers in. Facilities all very clean and pleasant. So impressed that I am thinking of booking my Christmas day dinner there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We went to the Sun for a Birthday meal. Four on the party. 3/4 had starters. Macarel, Mussels and Calamari. Very nice. Pretty large portions. Very tasty!
Mains, The burger....My husband says its the best he has ever had! The rest had Seabass, fish and chips and pork loin. Again very nice, large portions. No one had puddings owing to being so full!
Nice surroundings, very polite staff, fast service and well priced food and drinks.
Brilliant selection of real ales. Realyl pleased to see so much locally sourced food and drink.
We will definately visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kat-bryn-fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
1 review
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

On recommendation from a friend, we visited the Sun Inn for an evening meal. The choice on the menu was extensive and most appealing. We settled on the Thai chicken cakes to start and the sausage and mash and the gammon. Both dishes beyond expectation and were both generous in portion size. The service was friendly but not evasive and the atmosphere was relaxed. Thank you for a great evening!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun Inn also viewed

Ellesmere, Shropshire
Whitchurch, Shropshire
 
Ellesmere, Shropshire
 

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing