We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sun Inn
Nearby Hotels
$99
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lion Quays(Weston Rhyn)
$117
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hawkstone Park Hotel(Weston-under-Redcastle)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Oswestry(Oswestry)(Great Value!)
$46
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$113
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
47
15
1
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
15
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiewould recommend a visitlight lunchthe puban evening mealone nightcooked to perfectionnight's sleepcomfortable bedsheepcourseswaitress
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 67 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Sheep room & wished we could have stayed longer. Comfortable bed, nicely furnished & decorated room & bathroom. We ate in the bar both nights - good food, very reasonably priced and great selection of real ales. Breakfast was great. Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful - and even the locals in the bar made us feel welcome! Pub is on a busy main road (which you hear if the windows are open) but I all goes quiet at bedtime so we didn't notice this when sleeping.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MedussaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited this Inn whilst staying at a nearby campsite for the weekend. We received a warm welcome and were impressed with the clean, modern interior. We were offered a range of local ales to try, all of which were excellent. We chose food from the menu which was served in good time and was of very good quality. Couldn't fault the service or the standard. Would recommend to anybody staying in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSutton22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The food ,service and staff were brilliant. The room was lovely and the bed was really comfy but unfortunately we didn't get to sleep until 2:30 due to a loud humming noise(maybe a fan?) coming from the pub toilets underneath our room. At 6:30 this started again together with the cleaner dragging chairs about and slamming doors.The breakfast was amazing,especially the black pudding,but it didn't quite make up for the bad night! We were looking for somewhere to stay on a regular basis but it won't be The Sun Inn.

Room Tip: Steer clear of the Cow room, ask for the Pig or Sheep rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deekayjay1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Done out really well fantastic atmosphere ,glorious wood burner friendly staff good choice of real local ales, they, the management have got it so right .Interesting menu tasty food reasonably priced good service need i say more!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Decided to take advantage of the lovely weather by walking from ellesmere to welshampton. Was told the Sun Inn had reopened and called in.
What a great place. Had an area where dogs are welcome (so many pubs in the countryside don't) so we stayed for a couple of pints and something to eat. There is a friendly atmosphere in the place, pleasant staff, and a mixture of locals and people passing through. The decor is very cool and laid back with a woodburner in the bar.
Food was very good and the portion sizes were also generous (so many place locally aren't). We both had fish and chips and the fish was beautiful. Chips were not of the frozen variety (take note please local competitors). Not sure about the pea puree though as you cannot beat real mushy peas - but that is personal preference.
The real ales were absolutely spot on and much appreciated after a period of abstinence. The bill was sensible, unlike some of the competition locally, and we will definitely be back. Have been to other places locally recently and have been disappointed but the Sun Inn is excellent all round

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews