We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Milton
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Milton
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average hotel, amazing staff”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I, who are both in college, were en route to Orlando, FL from New Orleans, LA, and when we decided that it was time to rest, we drove off the highway and went to the first hotel, we laid our eyes upon, the Holiday Inn Express Milton.

Very tired we entered the hotel, and we immediately received a warmhearted welcome from Gail, whom we only had great experience dealing with. We stated our position as tired student just passing through AND that we were on a budget. As the budget was a bit too low for their prices, she listed the Comfort Inn as a reasonable opportunity for us and even called them on our behalf. She learned that they had no no-smoking rooms available within our budget, thanked them for their time and hung up. She then looked at the clock, it was something like 11:30pm. and then she encouraged us saying that she would come down in price for us. Check-in was fast and she provided us with all the necessary information, and we then went up to our room. Dealing with her was simply amazing.

The room was clean, outdated, but clean. The bathroom, and the WC in particular, was very old and it showed. The room had a nice size, but the room was VERY humid, which left both the linens, chair, couch, and especially the carpet extremely sticky, and it was too big a job for the A/C to fix. The bed was however very comfortable, but noises from the A/C and the fridge made it slightly difficult to sleep.

Breakfast was bland. Not a huge selection (weren't expecting that either) and the food itself was pretty boring. The staff that served breakfast seemed to hate their jobs. No greetings, no smiles, no nothing.

We also had the pleasure of dealing with Candace at the front desk, who was capable and willing to answer all my stupid "foreigner"-questions about. She was a sweetheart.

All in all; the hotel is nothing special, but they have managed to put together a very nice crew at the front desk, who were nothing but nice and helpful. I wouldn't choose to come back for the hotel itself or the food, but if Gail and Candace were there, I would return, even if the hotel was nothing more than a hole in the ground. Two lovely ladies.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGuillory, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The two ladies you mentioned usually work the night shift and don't often get the credit and kind words they deserve. I'm glad you took the time to share your comments about them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    52
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
71
30
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dade City, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We enjoy staying at this hotel, good food, good service and very clean rooms and good staff. However on our last trip, we had booked a room in the lower floor, close to the entrance, because my husband had foot surgery and my mom is elderly and of course a non smoking room. When we arrived to check in, the lady at the front office asked if we had reservations, I said we do and she sent us to the 3rd floor in a smoking room in the back of the hall. I told her that we had another room booked and she told me that if we did not like it, then we could go elsewhere and since there was some sort of sport event, all other hotels were booked, so we had no choice. That was the worst 2 days, because my poor husband had to do so much walking and the smell of the smoke from the room penetrated all our clothes and it was very uncomfortable, however, when we checked out and they asked how our stay was, I explained what had happened and as it turned out, the nice lady that had taken our reservations remembered and was upset at what happened to us. She gave us a discount on the room, which we appreciated and we are going back this weekend to visit our son. Praying that we do not have any problems. The clerk that I booked the rooms assured me that we would get the room we booked. But this is a very nice place to stay and we will continue staying there when we visit our son in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurora j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGuillory, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your honest feedback. I'm so glad that you gave us another chance to make your stay wonderful this time after the reservation mixup on our sold out weekend during your last stay. We look forward to having you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We booked a room with 2 beds for our trip from Texas to Orlando. I am so glad we booked ahead of time because their rooms were sold out both nights we stayed. People were still coming in after midnight trying to find a room. Very clean and comfortable. Felt very safe even in the parking lot. Yes, the breakfast set up is nice, better than most I've experienced. Do not hesisitate to stay here!

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsprim2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGuillory, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a few nice words about your stay. Thankfully you made reservations in advance because I think the whole area was booked up that weekend for about an hour's drive in either direction. We hope you come again soon and stop in to say hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We have stayed here in Milton and visited the local beaches and museums several times and each time we try to stay in Milton as it is centrally located and offers a good value. The hotel has a fine breakfast and is clean and well appointed. The showers are wonderful after a day at the beach. I recommend this hotel for families and couples.

Room Tip: There is an external entrance in the rear near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DwayneHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for your review and for being a repeat guest of ours! It's always great to hear when guests keep coming back time and time again and we love to welcome back familiar faces. It's true, we're just about 20 minutes from many major attractions and centrally located between Crestview, Pensacola, and Navarre Beach. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel was GREAT!!! We were in town for a friends wedding and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.
This is close enough to the local beaches without the crowded feel to it. The room was a nice size and the beds were wonderful.
I am an early riser and they had fresh coffee ready when I came down stairs, which rarely happens with any hotel, even other HIE that we have stayed.
The staff were just wonderful, the ladies that were on duty during our stay were helpful, out going and always had a smile.
The layout of the hotel was great, 3 floors all open in the middle beautiful!
We plan on visiting this area again, and this will be the only hotel we will stay in. If you are going to the local beaches, the drive is not too bad, about 20-25 minutes depending on traffic, once at the beach there is plenty of public parking so that isn't an issue!
Awesome staff, rooms everything gets highest of stars. Great Job!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor, this hotel is off the beaten path so I don't think any floor or room s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGuillory, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. This information is very helpful to our team and other travelers. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back again soon! Be sure to Like our Facebook page to stay posted on upcoming events in the area too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My compliments to Joe and Melissa and the rest of the staff at the hotel. We dominated the hotel for almost three weeks and a return trip back in May at short notice. There were on and off 14 of us staying here and two dogs, and we were filming overnight on 2 of those days. When we arrived back Joe had made sure that breakfast was available for all the crew. We were given the meeting room to have our production meetings and to keep the huge amount of kit in.
When we had to land 2 helicopters this was not a problem either.
Breakfast was great and the additional coffees always welcomed.
The only downside to the hotel was that there are no restaurants within walking distance, although there is a Thai down the road, and several if you want to drive about 15 - 20 minutes. Pizzas can be delivered, and the lads in The Grocery Store down the road do excellent subs at good prices.
Would recommend this hotel especially film crews..

Room Tip: All the rooms were good, we had 14 rooms over the whole hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singleyrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGuillory, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thanks for the great review. It was an absolute pleasure to host your group here this Spring. It's people like you and your crew that make this job fun and enjoyable. You guys made US feel very important during that whole time and we encountered new things we hadn't come across before, such as landing two helicopters in our truck lot. The rural location is our downfall, but I appreciate you mentioning The Grocery Store Deli and Daddy's BBQ & Thai Restaurant. I'll be sure to pass these comments along to them. We'd love to have your crew back again in the future. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Mississippi, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Greeted warmly when I arrived. Room was clean and all "stuff" was in place when I checked in. Breakfast was typical HIE and very good for that. Better than normal HIE eating area -- the 3-story atrium is a nice addtion. Location is a bit isolated.
HIE's are not "resorts", so this 5-star is not comparable to a resort 5-star place. HIE's strive to be nice, clean, comfortable (not luxurious) places to stay for business or pleasure, with activities somewhere nearby. This HIE is very nice, very clean, very comfortable, with a very friendly staff. HIE Milton, FL, is upper-level HIE!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAJ_LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGuillory, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We certainly try to uphold the high standards of HIEX and I'm very happy to hear how much you enjoyed our property here. I'm glad you understand that our brand is not designed to be a 5 star resort, but rather an efficient all-in-one place to stay with business travelers and families on-the-go in mind. Please come back and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton
9.4 mi away
Red Roof Inns & Suites Pensacola East - Milton
0.6 mi away
Best Western Milton Inn
5.0 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#4 of 6 in Milton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#21 of 65 in Pensacola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Navarre Waterfront
19.7 mi away
At Home Inn & Suites
At Home Inn & Suites
#13 of 65 in Pensacola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Milton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Milton

Property: Holiday Inn Express Milton
Address: 8510 Keshav Taylor Dr, Milton, FL 32583-8394
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Milton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Milton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Highway 87 off Interstate 10 at exit 31, our Milton, Florida hotel's staff is waiting to treat you well. Whether you are traveling to nearby Pensacola, NAS Whiting Field, or here to enjoy Milton, the "Canoe Capital of Florida," the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Milton is the ideal place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Milton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Milton Hotel Milton
Holiday Inn Milton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing