We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adventures Unlimited Outdoor Center and Resort
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Milton Inn(Milton)(Great Value!)
$95
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$100
$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn - Pensacola / N Davis Hwy(Pensacola)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
La Quinta
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveler rating
43
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszip liningmile kayak tripropes coursesaucabinadventurousfloathopcamp
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 48 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I needed a weekend getaway after the bad winter we've had so far. We picked the perfect time and the best place to go! We stayed at Schoolhouse Inn Room 2 and we loved it. Comfy beds, nice front porch, and beautiful view. The rooms are surprisingly sound-proof. There was another group staying in the Inn too and they were worried that they kept us up with music and staying up late but we didn't hear a thing!The first day we went zip lining. One of the best experiences I've ever had. Our guides, Zac & Brooke, were amazing. I can't imagine having more fun. They were cool, funny, and experts at what they do! So glad they were my guides. The second day we went kayaking and it was so peaceful and the river was clear, even after a rainy week. John, our driver to the river, was nice as could be. He had our kayaks hooked up before we even got to the van and then he carried our kayaks and canoes all the way to the river for us so we didn't have to. Our last night, we used the barbecue shack. It's a man's paradise and free to use too! We grilled out steaks, chicken, corn, veggies and it was delicious. Then we sat around a campfire at the fire pit and made s'mores! What a fantastic weekend!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful little quiet space in the woods by the river. Perfect to escape and get some time away cooking out under the trees and stars. Plan to disconnect - cell and wifi won't work out here. But that's almost an added benefit. Loved the high-end touches in the Lorax Loft- claw foot tub and chic linens. Living tree growing through the cabin. Make sure you like your company - cabin is pretty cozy.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed in the Laurel cabin in late Dec for 3 nts. They were offering a special on their facebook page for Jan/Feb – stay 2 nts and get 1 free. I called and asked since we were staying the last wk of Dec which is just days away from Jan would they offer us this special and they did. With taxes our 3 nights came to I believe $265. This is cheaper than a hotel room and by far much more enjoyable and spacious. They have previously offered excellent Groupon and Living Social deals for 3 nt stays in the Schoolhouse Inn which also included kayaking and zip lining so check these sites before booking. If we hadn’t had the dogs we would have perhaps opted for this.

We chose the Laurel cabin for several reasons:

• 1 of 4 pet friendly units
• On the creek
• Gas fireplace (Magnolia next door is also pet friendly, but was wood fireplace. They
are soon converting this to gas I believe)
• Screened in porch for our dogs to enjoy

The cabin was PERFECT for us! It consisted of a bedroom w/ queen size bed, good size living room with pull out futon for 2, fireplace in between living room and dining room/kitchenette and bathroom with tub/shower. They provide all linens, cooking supplies and basic toiletries found in a hotel. Cabin would easily accommodate a family of 4 with the pull out futon if the children are younger. If older/taller children than perhaps only 1 would be comfortable on the futon?
Gas fireplace was a bit of a challenge to get started each evening. Had to request assistance the first night, but then had the hang of it.

The cabin next door (Magnolia?) is also pet friendly. I peeked in the windows and it appeared to be exactly like the Laurel only with a square dining table instead of round. Either cabin would have fit our needs. The other two pet friendly cabins are not on the water and are more like a duplex (connected) vs separate cabin units.

Nature trail was right outside the back door. The dogs enjoyed the screened in porch despite the cooler weather. Did not have the opportunity to enjoy the outdoor fire pit b/c of the cold temps. They do allow for you to collect firewood on the property to be used in the fire pits.

There are no tv’s in the cabins. I know you are “camping”, but if it’s raining and/or cold in the evenings (we experienced both) a tv would have been nice. We drove approx 20 min in to town and rented dvds from Redbox at Walmart to play on our laptop. There were a few redboxs at slightly closer gas stations, but we were already at Walmart for groceries. Would have liked if Adventures Unlimited either rented movies or had a small library of movies which could have been checked out. Board games/card games to check out would have also been nice on rainy/cold days.

There is no internet access or wireless phone access. I have Verizon and my husband has T-Mobile. Neither of us were able to get a signal. Adv Unlimited provides you a number to call for 24 hr assistance in the event of issues, but we couldn't get a phone to work. Keep the no phone coverage in mind if this is something you may need in order to call home, work, etc during your stay. Was not an issue for us, but fyi…. Would have really liked wireless access for the evenings especially since no tv, though. Was told they had internet access, but could never get a signal. I was able to sporadically receive emails IF my blackberry was sitting on the window sill of the bedroom window. Not sure why there, but nowhere else. ????

We loved the nature trails with our dogs. I am a long distance runner and w/ the nature trails, the roads on the property and the long main road leading in to the camp I was able to log 1+ hr run each day with no problem and longer.

The entire property was very quiet this time of year. I think there was only 2-3 other families and we only saw someone else once. Very quiet and private, but yet cooler temps this time of year. The entire property (exterior and our cabin) was well maintained. Equipment was in good condition, etc....

We loved how we could easily spend 3-4 days at Adventures Unlimited w/o ever leaving IF we had adequate food, etc....One day spent zip lining, one day kayaking, another hiking. If the weather had been warm we also would have spent a day paddle boarding or tubing.

You are approx 20 minutes from town. There is NOTHING else out this way except a small “country store” with limited hours and limited supplies. Get your groceries, etc before coming to the camp. We didn’t realize this and after checking in had to go back in to town for dinner the first night as we didn’t have much with us. Poor planning on our part.

We did the ultimate zip lining tour and kayaking during our stay. On their web site they offer a special if you book a room in the school house and zip or kayak. We were staying in the cabins and asked if they had any type of combo special w/ the cabin rental. They offered us $30 off the ultimate zip tour ($99 – reg $129) or ½ off the taste of zip tour ($49 – reg $89). We have zipped in 5 other countries so wanted the ultimate tour which is 12 zips instead of 7. The extra 5 zips are longer, higher and several over the water. If you have never zipped and/or have small children who you are unsure of how they will like this, the Taste of Zip tour would be an excellent way to get started.

Zip tour was very well run. They take only 8 people at a time. The zip platforms get a bit cozy, but this is the case w/ all zip tours. The last 5 zips as part of the Ultimate Tour was just me and my spouse. Guides were informative and safety was first at all times. You are able to bring your own camera, but be sure to have some way to secure it safely such as a zipped pocket, handle around your neck, etc…. We appreciated that we were allowed to bring our own cameras for pictures AND there were no high pressure sales at the end to sell you their photos.

The zip platforms are built in to the soft pine trees. Soft pines sway in the wind. We’ve never experienced this so when you are up on these platforms and it’s swaying it’s a bit uneasy feeling at first, but 110% safe! Was just not anything we have experienced before when zipping among different types of trees.

If you are looking for something else fun to do try flytheboat.com! We drove in to Navarre, FL one afternoon (approx 40 min from Adv Un). Purchased this via groupon for $112/person. Normally I believe is $239. AWESOME!!

Room Tip: Do you want a pet friendly cabin? Only a few choices to choose from in this category. Do you have kids and will they want to swim? May want to choose the Riverside cabins to be near the beach area. Are you several couples traveling together? May want to book the back side rooms of the School house. Can all be together side by side, but everyone still have their own privacy. On a budget? Don't hesitate to book the Schoolhouse rooms and the money saved use to zip!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Awsome!!! Have a stressful job & busy family life. A friend recommended AU. Not really an outdoor person but 3 days here felt like weeks. Cottage was beautiful, on the river, great view. It was like living in a treehouse. No phone, TV or anything else from the do it outside world.

Long walks, amazing wildlife, river trip, zip line
(a little scared but staff was great), both indoor & outside fire.

Just bring clothes & food.

Unwind & relax.

Worth the trip. Will do it again for sure.
Get out of your comfort zone & enjoy nature.

Worth every dollar spent.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyoncoldwatercreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

difference. Everything was safe and professional. Very clean. Other options that would be fun after zip lining. Tubing and canoeing. Now its making me add more stuff because the review has to be at least 200 characters.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limbeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews