We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing treetop tour”

Adventures Unlimited Outdoor Center
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Milton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Adventures Unlimited, you have the opportunity to experience canoeing unlike anywhere in the world. The spring fed rivers flow at an average depth of two feet over a soft, sandy bottom through state forest. White sand beaches dot the banks; perfect for swimming, sunning and picnicking. Two hours or three days… canoe, tube, kayak… camp… in tents or cabins… alone, with your family, a friend, or a group of friends. Adventures Unlimited is also the home of Florida Zip Adventures. A series of canopy zip line tours that are fun for the whole family.
League City, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing treetop tour”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We took the zip line tour with Ray and Shannon as our guides. The guides were professional, knowledgeable, patient and safety oriented. We totally enjoyed our zip line trip. The guides and the scenery made the trip memorable.
There was a thunderstorm (duh, it's Florida and summertime of course it rains) so our tour was delayed a bit, but that was OK. We enjoyed sitting on the porch listening to the sounds of the woods and rain.
We drove 1 1/2 hours from Navarre Beach and it was worth it. We started early, zipped and still made it back to the beach for a late afternoon swim. We will return next summer.

Visited June 2013
Thank betsy2622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Adventure”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Went with my 22 year old son for a 3 night getaway and had a great time ziplining and kayaking. Our zipline guides, Ray and Audrey were great. They were engaging and attentive to detail. A thunderstorm in the middle of our outing forced us to wait it out, but they were on top of the weather conditions and made sure we were safe once lightning was within 10 miles. The kayak trip the following day, Monday,was relaxing and we had great weather with enough cloud cover to avoid being baked. Other than another couple and a small group that went tubing, we had the river to ourselves. The river is quite shallow in many areas with many bends and sandbars so one must be attentive to avoid running aground. Given the shallow nature of the river, with submerged stumps and sandbars I would not recommend tubing but kayaking or canoeing is fine. We saw turtles and heard many songbirds but saw no gators. We stayed in Schoolhouse Room 8 which was clean and comfortable. My son took the separate bedroom and my queen sized bed in the main living area was fine. The schoolhouse units have large wall unit AC so the units do cut on and off but it was not too disturbing for a good nights sleep. I highly recommend AU especially if you go the Groupon or Living Social route as the value is very good at a reduced price.

Visited June 2013
Thank GatorsRbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Everyone was very nice. We just did the tubing. Water is always 72 degrees. Was more than a lazy river as you had to work at it from hitting the trees and stumps but just enough to keep it interesting. Went on a tuesday and didnt see too many other people. Would recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Thank Nascarrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I recently visited Adventures Unlimited for their zipline adventure. The guides were very knowledgeable and friendly. The beginning of the trip went off without a hitch except that there was some light rain. Unfortunately, there was lightning very near so, shortly after the trip started, we had to return to the office to wait. We waited approximately 20 minutes before asking if we could return another day. We checked the radar several times during our wait and it did not show signs of clearing fully for several hours. Instead, the manager insisted that in 5 minutes we would be able to return to the course (even though the weather was still bad) and they would not allow us to return another day. We ended up leaving instead of having to keep being interrupted by lightning. I was really disappointed that the manager was more concerned with the money than with making her customers feel safe. I will not be returning and I will make all my friends and family aware that their concern seems to be making money over safety.

Visited June 2013
4 Thank pnphipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack S, Owner at Adventures Unlimited Outdoor Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for visiting Adventures Unlimited. First of all, customer safety is our primary concern. Secondly, as you know we are in the Southeast where showers and thunderstorms can be a part of a summertime outdoor experience. On the day that you went ziplining we had some early widely scattered showers. Our policy is to bring customers to safety if lightning is within 10 miles. We use three different monitoring systems to detect lightning. You were brought back to the shop by guides due to a strike 7 miles away with the operations manager giving the order. Everyone else in your group waited 20 minutes. We will wait up to an hour for a storm to clear. The flight continued and the weather continued to clear without any further rain. We have over 36 years experience in monitoring the weather and we do our best to ensure customer safety. Rain alone is not a safety factor. In Florida we actually call rain liquid sunshine and most of our customers embrace the adventure rain can bring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We decided to reunion there, and ages 8-82 TRULY enjoyed the historic inn, kayaking & ZIP LINING!!!! Great weekend”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Whether you are looking for ecotourism, historic relevance, thrills (ZIP LNE!!!), or peace and quiet Adv Ultd Is great. Only drawback - it's remote so go prepared!!!! ;)

Visited June 2013
2 Thank Vicimamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventures Unlimited Outdoor Center also viewed

Milton, Florida Panhandle
Milton, Florida Panhandle

Been to Adventures Unlimited Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing