We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 80 yr old mom loved our Mother's Day getaway at the Herlong B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Micanopy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2010

My mom had told me just recently that she wanted to visit Micanopy and stay in a B & B. Micanopy was having a "Doc Hollywood Parade" and Parkinson's Disease fundraising in honor of the movie, "Doc Hollywood," (starring Michael J Fox) that was filmed in Micanopy, FL about 20 years ago. It just so happened that it was Mother's Day weekend. I researched B & Bs online and decided to book a room at the Herlong Inn. The inn was beautiful and bed in the Jasmine was so comfortable. Breakfast was great and the service was superb. We talked with the owner for awhile and she was great. My mom was thrilled with our visit. We had a great time in this very small and an oh so friendly town. I highly recommend the Herlong. We checked out on Mother's Day morning and then we went to another small town in north FL so my mom could meet her week-old great-granddaughter.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onmyown55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2010

What an absolute delight to meet you and your 80 yr. old Mother on Mother's Day Weekend- I too wish my Father (92 yr) could have met her as well. Maybe next time- We are pleased to hear you found the Bed So Comfortable, the Breakfast Great and the Service Superb.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 267 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2010

Driving into down town takes one back to the mid 1950's or earlier. The down town streets are lined with historic brick shops backed with antiques. Near the edge of down town one finds the Herlong mansion.
This stately brick mansion which originated in 1845 has been carefully restored to its original southern charm. From the moment you drive down the oak canopied street to the elegant front entrance you feel the pressure of city life start to slip away. The interior of the hotel has been carefully decorated with antique furnishings throughout the rooms of the mansion. Master craftsmanship of the past is evident everywhere one looks. From the stately carved exterior pillars, to the wooded fireplace mantels the time, patience, and skill, and materials of times past is there to appreciate.
Breakfast is served every morning in the dining room from 8:30 to 9:30 AM. Adding to the delicious nature of these meals is the Desert Rose dish ware they are served on. I fell in love with a breakfast apple recipe that was quickly shared with me to my delight.
We had a second floor room that lead to the veranda. The view over the front lawn was breath taking with the old moss covered oak trees gently blowing in the breeze. Complimentary wine is served each afternoon with fresh baked cookies. If wine is not your taste, refreshing lemonade was also readily available to guests. The veranda is private for the two rooms that front the veranda from 10PM until 8AM. This was the only drawback that we experience being that some guest choose to ignore the sign and take in the view. One has to admit, who can blame them.
Most visitors want to shop the numerous local antique stores in an attempt to snatch up a gem from the past to take home with them. Shops specialize in citrus labels, china and dish ware, to antique tools.
We were fortunate enough to be there during the local Michael J. Fox fundraiser weekend. One of the event highlights was the Squash Parade. This was like stepping back in time, allowing one to appreciate the simpler beautiful things in life.
So if you are looking to escape the hustle and bustle of city life there is no better place than the Herlong Mansion.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gafichtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2010

It was our pleasure to share our Chefs delicious Apple Breakfast recipe you so loved. We hope you come back soon to enjoy another step back into Historic Southern Elegance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Here is your ideal escape to peace and quiet in one of the most elegantly decorated and perfectly preserved mansions of the old south. We will always treasure sitting on the veranda at sunset (AND sunrise!) and enjoying the intoxicating scent of roses and jasmine wafting up from the lovely entrance way. The grounds and the rooms are royally maintained and the antiques and authentic artifacts are fascinating. Loved everything about the Herlong...hostess was exceptionally gracious and accomodating. Turn off all those things, leave the gadgets at home and just sink into total, serene, relaxation. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansandBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2010

Thank you for coming to celebrate your special occasion with us - I believe the Jasmine was blooming especially for you. The pictures you posted are lovely and the one taken from the Veranda shows the Garden Globe off perfectly. I am pleased you found the Magnolia room Royally Maintained and full of Authentic, Fascinating Artifacts and Antiques. Please come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We enjoyed our stay in the quiet city of Micanopy, FL. The Herlong is awesome and the candlelight dinner catered by Custom Caterers was especially romantic! The staff at the Herlong are very attentive to our needs and we will definetly visit again real soon! Thank you for the perfect Mother's Day weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elenaclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2010

We thank you for choosing to celebrate Mother's Day Weekend with us. What a pleasure it was to have you as guests and to witness such Love and Happiness. It will be an absolute pleasure to have you come stay with us again. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Romantic Candlelight Dinner prepared and served by Custom Caterers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

My husband & I traditionally celebrate our anniversary at the Greystone Inn on Cumberland Island since we honeymooned there seven years ago. However, this year we decided to do something different & chose the Herlong Mansion in Micanopy. It was a great decision! The mansion is beautiful & romantic. The owners & staff are gracious & accomodating. The atmosphere is very relaxing. The breakfast was oustanding! The bed was so comfortable which is not always the case at B&B's. I would rank it right up there with any other bed & breakfast, yet it is more economical than most. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank redonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2010

We hope you return to celebrate your Anniversary with us again next year- it was delightful meeting you and talking with you about your experience on Cumberland island. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Micanopy's beauty was endless. I sat on Herlong Mansion's front porch with
morning coffee and tears in my eyes. I hadn't felt that relaxed and blessed in a very
long time. There were a pair of Carolina wrens taking turns singing melodiously.
One was perched in full view on a shepard's hook which supported wind chimes, the
second wren was off in the distance. Cardinals were flitting in the early morning sunshine
which lit up a gazebo covered with sweet smelling Confederate Jasmine.
Roses were blooming along the drive and sidewalk, their pretty shades of
pink dotting the landscape. An occasional breeze caught the wind chimes and
sounded like church bells while the Spanish moss swayed from towering oak trees. Running from one thing to another, usually, I leave no energy reserve to just "be."
There at the Herlong, I was busy drinking from the well of creativity.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vict0ria_L0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2010

What a Lovely Ode to the Graces of the Herlong Mansion. We truly enjoyed meeting you and your daughter-I look forward to your return visits with us throughout the years of your daughters attendance at UF .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Initially having planned to bike the Ocala Horse Country Classic Trail, this beautiful historic mansion was to be our overnight respite, but upcoming inclement weather changed our plans. We instead checked in at the Herlong Mansion B&B, which revels in southern elegance. We hopped on our bikes and took a thouroughly scenic route, in the shade of massive live oaks draped with Spanish moss, on very low traffic roads for a relaxing ride to Cross Creek the home of writer Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, returned through Micanopy and peddled on to Paynes Prarie State Preserve, a unique biological habitat, returning to the sleepy town of Micanopy and dinner at the Blue Highway Pizzaria, and the charming veranda of the Herlong Mansion. After a perfectly restful evening in our antique bedroom we enjoyed a delightful breakfast and biked the scenic, winding and rolling Hawthorne Bike Trail to Gainsville. Upon our return to the car the weather was promising rain so we completed the Ocala House Country Classic bike tour by car, cresting hill after gentle hill of verdant pastures that undulated into the horizon. This ramble past elegant estates and horse farms surrounding Ocala looked like Kentucky. If you enjoy biking or just a relaxing weekend gettaway, don't miss this step back in time!..

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prich4art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2010

Thank you for coming to explore our area with your bikes- we so loved hearing of all your adventures and couldn't be more pleased that we were able to guide you to Trails you may have otherwise not discovered- Please come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Micanopy
10 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
1.2 mi away
The Micanopy Inn
The Micanopy Inn
#2 of 2 in Micanopy
133 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sweetwater Branch Inn
Sweetwater Branch Inn
#1 of 5 in Gainesville
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 402 NE Cholokka Blvd, Micanopy, FL 32667-4107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Micanopy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Micanopy
Price Range: $123 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herlong Mansion Historic Inn and Gardens is an Award Winning Bed and Breakfast and a member of Small Elegant Hotels Worldwide. Surrounded by ancient Magnolia trees and Oaks dripping with Spanish moss this Old World setting offers a peaceful sanctuary along with the Wide Verandas with porch swings and old fashioned rocking chairs. Southern Style Breakfasts and Southern Hospitality at its friendliest. Complimentary refreshments available at all times with Wine and Cookies in the evening. AAA rating 3 Diamonds and 4 Diamonds for bedding and furnishings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herlong Mansion Hotel Micanopy
Herlong Mansion b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing