We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Service with a smile” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coffee N Cream

Coffee N Cream
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Micanopy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
H
Level Contributor
186 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Friendly Service with a smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Micanopy is a small town. We found this place as we walked the street exploring the area. It was lunch time and we decided to eat here because of the menu. They listed sandwiches, salads and hand made ice cream. The young woman at the counter had a sweet, inviting smile and was friendly. We ate hot dogs, chicken fingers and a sandwich wrap. Then, we tried the handmade ice cream. Yummy! It was great on a hot August 13th summer day. The price was right for lunch. There are pictures of the owner and his family on the wall. Along with other photos and items for sale.

The town is on septic tanks not on sewer. This business as others request a small donation of 50 cents to help clean the septic tanks. It would be appreciated if you are stopping in.

I never saw the movie Doc Hollywood. I was told there is a house near this cafe where the movie was shot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovethemouse p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly, laid back place. Decent food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I love the feel of Micanopy; it is down-home, and laid back. The cafe staff were very pleasant, as were the patrons. On Sunday, they had a trio playing music and singing, so it was nice to sit on the porch and relax. I had a chicken salad wrap that came with potato chips. It wasn't bad, it was just standard fare. I noticed that they used frozen chicken tenders, so I suspect they use either frozen or canned chicken in the chicken salad. Nonetheless, I thought it was a nice, unique experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tastebuddy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Friendly service & great ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We enjoyed ice cream here after walking around Micanopy. This is a really cute shop with great ice cream and with indoor and outdoor seating. The people there were really friendly! They also have a great cat there, who was standing as still as a statue on a shelf when we arrived, one of the children who was with us couldn't believe it was really alive after seeing that... even after it moved when one of us patted it. A nice place for a sweet treat while touring the town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lifeisagr8adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Friendly, Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had finished shopping and wanted a light lunch. My wife had a chicken salad sandwich, which was excellant. She asked if they had cherry coke, they did not but said they could put some cherry syrup in a regular coke, which was good. My sandwich was good too. Very nice service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank electricfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Micanopy is a very small town between Ocala and Gainesville. Parts of the Michael J. Fox movie "Doc. Holiday" was filmed there. If you go there you will find many antiques shops and some other interesting shopping. By all means eat at Coffee N Cream (the sign says Micanopy Cafe). It's basically an ice cream shop that also makes and sells fresh sandwiches. The food is much better thanthe usual chain establishments found along the road. The staff is friendly and attentive. On a nice day sit outside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank normein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee N Cream also viewed

 

Been to Coffee N Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing