We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Not a good experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Miami Airport North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Miami Airport North
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Miami Springs
HAMILTON
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

The staff at the Days Inn Miami Airport North was very good and the service was very fast. We thought we should book our room from our return trip after our cruise. The pictures on the web site made it look very nice looking. NOT!!! No elevators, so be prepared to carry your luggage up 3 stairs to your room on the first floor and if you were put on the second floor, you had 2 flight of stairs. If you were looking for a restaurant withing walking distance - there isn't one (only fast food) However, upon arriving at our room #118, I couldn't believe what I was seeing. I thought I was checking into a "rub & tug". It certainly need upgrading. However, the sheets were clean, but the rest of the room needed some attention. I wouldn't take a shower as the tiles were dirty and there was hair and dirt on the floor. Unfortunetly by this time it was to late to book in somewhere else as the hotel next door was full. When we arrived back after our cruise (it was again to late to book into another hotel) they put us in room # 117 which was "somewhat" better, but still it needed some attention. I would NOT reccommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldowdle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnCS, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Miami Airport North, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear ldowdle,
I am sorry to hear of the problems you encounter during your stay at the Days Inn. Every day we strive to improve the facility. We most certainly take notice when a guest has a problem with a room and turn that into action. Right now I am having maintenance fix the problems you experienced so another guest does not have the same issues. Please accept my apology.
Sincerely,
David Preston
Director of Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    200
    425
    333
    495
See reviews for
448
489
218
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterton, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at this airport hotel twice during a two week vacation period. The service was all around poor and a poor representation of the Days Inn franchise. During our first visit overnight, the lobby was packed with upset travelers waiting to check in. Despite a 3pm check in, the rooms were not available until after 4:30pm. This was again true our second visit. The room I had was then wide open when I arrived. No towels were available in the room, and a dirty footprint was front and center in the bath tub. Wi-Fi did not work properly during my first stay, and it was incredibly hard to find folks who spoke clear English. I would not recommend this hotel for future visits.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of hotel suffer from loud road noise. Airplane noise was not noticed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had one night in Miami on a layover to our holiday destination. We also had this hotel booked on our way back home, but cancelled that reservation within 30 minutes of getting into our room.

My congratulations to the marketing team for making this motel look as good as it does when you check out their website. Our room did not look like the room pictures you see on the web. Although the exterior looks ok from the street, the further you walk into the hotel, the more tired it appears.

On the positive side, the hotel is inexpensive, and the queen bed was decent. The mattress was good quality topped off with new bedding: a plush, bright white duvet. The flat panel television in the room was decently large (maybe 40 inches or so) and had about 60 channels to choose from. Free wireless internet worked well. The air conditioning unit under the window appeared to work properly.

However, the rest felt a bit like being in a third world nation. An adventure! Here are some of our dislikes:

1. Everything you look at, you think, "Is it clean or just old?" Hard to tell.
2. The room smelled quite strongly of mold.
3. The building is quite old. For example, our windows were old metal-framed windows with chipping paint, complete with single-pane glass. We heard everything happening outside on the street.
4. Carpet looked dirty (or old?) and was not vacuumed in the closet (or old?)
5. Bathroom fixtures were old and stained from decades of use. The floor was uneven and cracked; the floor tiles were broken in front of the tub. Is the bathroom clean.... or old?
6. We were on the ground floor but it appears there are no elevators in this multi-story facility.

We cancelled our booking on the return layover. We did not investigate the rest of the hotel. Sorry, can't tell you about the pool, dining area, or whatever else they may have. And it seems like the front desk staff are just trying to do their best to manage a difficult situation.

Here is my suggestion to you: head around the street corner.There is a brand new Comfort Suites (5 months old), not even a 2 minute walk away. Walk into that place and it will bring joy to your soul.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdwardTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Our room was filthy. It looked like it had not been vacuumed in weeks. The carpet was soiled and greasy. The bathroom door and the closet door would not shut completely. The air conditioner vent was so filled with mold and mildew that we shut it off. The electrical outlet in the bathroom did not work. Not worth the $100 + we spent on it. Never again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
317 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Obviously the big draw here is convenience and value. As close to the airport as you can find, yet there are some ok places to eat and drink within (relatively) safe walking distance. The free shuttle to/from the airport (and, we understand also to the Port for cruises) was also reliable. The rooms are just so-so, as is the hallways and reception (some moldy smell as others have mentioned) but not overwhelming. Staff was generally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

As we pulled in from a long day of traveling we were welcomed by over 40 waiting customers in the lobby all waiting to get into their rooms. Mind you it was well past check in time! The staff was extremely rude and unhelpful. We ended up being the 35th reservation in line so we wanted to grab something to eat at their "lounge." Walked in and turned right back out. Absolutley disgusting! Dark, dingy, smoke everywhere, local drunks. Extremely unwelcoming and run down. Finally after an hour and a half of waiting, we were finally put into a room and mind you they had no elevators. Got into our room, otherwise seen as a closet! It was ridiculously tiny, the neighboring room could see right into our room, it wasn't cleaned AT ALL! They had sprayed the room with cleaning supplies and put the fan on! We checked the bed and their were hairs all over the pillows and sheets! Moved on to the bathroom where there was mold growing all over the shower and shower curtain. The worst hotel experience I have ever encountered! The pictures on the website are extremely misleading and the staff and facilities are unwelcoming and rude!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

ok the weekend of the miami marathon and the republican caucus is crowded yes?
i was told that there were no other rooms in my price catagory which at $80 was considered "reasonable" for big city miami.....
The WRONG:the room furnishings were outdated blond tone from the 60s, could have been made cute as a retro look, but was scratched and scuffed-looked like a thrift store reject. the window is broken-glass cracked. the shower had trapped hairs in the bottom of the shower curtain that were not mine.......the walls were scuffed and stained, the ceilings the same, the phone had no dialtone. there was no fire escape plan visibly posted, many metal surfaces were rusted.
The RIGHT: bedding was clean, bed firm enough, transfers from airport and to cruiseport were ok.
Would I ever stay here again-never.
Would I recommend it to anyone-never.
Do I challenge the ceo/cfo of the parent company for Days inn to stay here-yes!
A hotel should be habitable under normal standards of cleanliness, safety, and asthetics. Days inn, a midprice catagory hotel has lost my business.

Room Tip: there is no tip that could help get a good room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tealkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Springs
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn at Miami International Airport
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Miami Airport North
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Miami Airport North Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Miami Springs/Miami International Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Central-Miami Springs
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn  & Suites Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Miami Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Miami Airport North

Property: Days Inn Miami Airport North
Address: 4767 NW 36th St, Miami Springs, FL 33166-6106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Miami Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Miami Airport North 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Miami Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Miami Airport North Hotel Miami Springs
Miami Springs Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing