We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern in Miami Springs”

Crackers Casual Dining
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Southern in Miami Springs”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

After finding this place by accident on the internet we decided to go with friends and were really pleasantly surprised. The service was great, our waitress was informative and prompt and the prices were very reasonable. From what I learned it seems just about everything is made there and all of the food tasted fresh and just like a home cooked meal should taste.
This is on Canal Street which faces the canal and about 2 blocks down the street from what used to be Hollemans that is now becoming a Spanish restaurant. We will definitely be going back here even though we live in West Kendall. Crackers would also be great for romantic dinner or a business meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    32
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Southern Food in Miami Springs”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Yes folks, this Southern food is as good as it gets in Miami Springs! You can literally just close your eyes, and point to something on the menu and whatever you choose will be the best thing on the menu!

Fried Okra is battered with cornmeal batter and the Chipotle Mayo that comes with it compliments it well!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BudgetMediaPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real American food.”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I enjoyed the original American food near to Hialeah where the American's real foods has disapeared. My experience was amazing because the foods especially the ribs, SOUP, and lobster had a great taste and price. The server were kind and helpfull. So far, people who are looking for a familiar American restaurant, I will recommend it as a perfect choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food with reasonable prices”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went with a friend who is currently attending the University of Miami. The Shrimp Poorboy sandwich was outstanding...wish I ordered two instead of one. The food here is delicious and the prices are very reasonable...so this place is a winner!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tanggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go for the Southern Cooking”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is the local place we go for real Southern cooking; fried green tomatoes, country fried steak, catfish creole, fried bread pudding, grilled meatloaf, and the personal favorite Split Pea Soup. Yep, plenty of fried foods and that is sometimes my reason and indulgence! You should always check the Specials of the Day, sometimes there is a new twist on an old classic dish. Usually worth a try.
Atmosphere is very casual. We usually sit on outside in the chickee hut patio area, weather permitting.
Alcoholic beverages are available but not the attraction.
Service can be slow at times. Definitely not a place to dine if you are in a hurry.
Go for the Southern Cooking, not the atmosphere, or fast pace. Kick back, relax and enjoy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_and_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crackers Casual Dining also viewed

 
Miami Springs, FL
 

Been to Crackers Casual Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing