We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great for before and after a cruise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Miami Airport North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Suites Miami Airport North
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Miami Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Sant Francesc de Formentera, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for before and after a cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My family and I arrived at the hotel at 7:30am after taking a red eye flight. Check in was not until 3p.m. We asked if we could get an early check in and check our bags in until a room was ready. We were allowed to check in immediately and they gave us a voucher to get their free breakfast. Breakfast was cereal, muffins, waffles, eggs etc. Great given that it is free. There is also a free shuttle to and from Miami Airport and to the Port of Miami. You must pay for their shuttle service if you need their shuttle service after your cruise. The area where the hotel is is not the best, but the hotel itself is nice! We stayed in a King Suite...huge! The hotel is near the airport and not any attractions such as beaches. Malls, museums etc. Nevertheless, I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Book early!!! This is a popular hotel for people going on a cruise from The Port of Miami! If you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidPreston78, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Miami Airport North, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Michele B,
Everyone at Comfort Suites Miami Airport North would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule and posting a flattering review of our property on Trip Advisor. I am happy to see that we were able to be a part of your vacation. It is one of the best parts of this job seeing guests creating lasting memories at our hotel. I am delighted to read that shuttle services we offer were so well received. Every day we work hard getting guests taken to the Port of Miami in a timely fashion. Other hotels in the area charge for this shuttle transportation. We value our guests so we provide this service complimentary. Thank you again for the review and it was a pleasure having you as our guest.
Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    448
    100
    31
    26
See reviews for
541
353
31
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Overall, I was happy with our experience at this hotel and would return. It wasn't perfect, but it was good.

PROS:
* Good value. It was less expensive than many competitors, especially when you consider the freebies (breakfast, hotel shuttle, cruise port shuttle).
* Breakfast was nice. The "strong" coffee was really good!
* The room was clean, modern, comfortable, and felt safe. Same for the public areas.
* The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, as were the staff I encountered at breakfast.
* It was quiet. Despite being near the airport, I wasn't bothered by plane noise.

CONS:
* Suite? Well...I guess. There was a small sitting area with a small coffee table, but it's a stretch to call it a suite. It wasn't separated from the sleeping area at all. Maybe other rooms are more suite-like.
* The cruise port shuttle was really late. We signed up in advance for a certain time (11:15 I think), and we didn't depart until probably 12:15. Based on that experience, we declined the return trip with that shuttle company. The return trip was for an additional fee, and we had an early flight to catch, so we didn't want to risk another hour delay. I realize this is a 3rd party company with whom the hotel contracts, but they choose to do business with this company, so I'm including this criticism here.
* Unresponsive to email. I emailed 3 times with a question, and I never got a single reply. I emailed the address listed in our confirmation email and twice on the email form on their website.
I ended up calling and that worked fine.

The good outweighs the bad here considerably. I would definitely choose this hotel again. I just want other readers to be aware of the issues!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aprille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidPreston78, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Miami Airport North, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear aprille,
The staff and management at Comfort Suites Miami Airport North would like to thank you for writing a review about your experiences at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read that a guest enjoyed all the free amenities we offer at the hotel. Other hotels in the area charge for parking, breakfast and shuttle services. Since we value our guest’s loyalty we provide these services complimentary. I apologize that no one responded to your email. I will look into this issue to make sure other guests will not encounter this problem. Thank you again for the review and it was a pleasure having you as our guest.
Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family (mother and two young kids) stayed at the Comfort Suites Miami Airport North following a cruise.

We used KSA Tours to get from POM to the hotel. It cost $10pp. The kids (being under 5 y.o.) were free.

The hotel is next to a Days Inn. Unbeknownst to me, e driver went into the driveway of the Days Inn, dropped passengers off, then continued driving to the back of the driveway/parking lot and ended up basically doing a u-turn, ending up facing Minola Dr and the driveway of the Comfort Suites Hotel.

It was a bit of a surprise. We requested and were accommodated with an early check-in despite the fact the hotel had been sold out with pre-cruise passengers making their way to the POM the morning we checked in. I can't thank the hotel management enough for this as it would have been difficult to keep the kids busy after an 11-day cruise.

Check-in was very smooth. There are two desktop computers in the lobby for doing searches and especially for checking-in for flights. There is a printer and it was FREE to print boarding passes. Thank you for not charging .50/page or something silly like that!

Our 5th floor room was very big. The windows faced towards MIA with a view of planes taxiing and taking off. Incredible to watch - lots of fun for all of us! We didn't hear (okay, very little) plane noise due to the double window panes.

The curtains kept the room dark at night.

The sofa bed opened up so the kids could sleep in it. We only had to call down and request bedding which was placed on the open sofa bed while we were out of the room.

The bathroom sink is very high and required us to be creative and ask for a small table from the lobby the kids could use as a stool. A few stools (given to guests, perhaps on deposit?) would be useful to allow kids to wash their hands. Did I say the sink appeared to be unusually high? The bathtub was unusually small in terms of height, but the pressure was nice. We had to put a lot of towels down to keep water from going all over the floor.

The hotel offers a 4-7 pm Happy Hour which we did not take advantage of. It also offers the WSJ and USA Today weekdays (maybe weekends too but I really don't know).

The continental breakfast ($8.95pp) for non-hotel guests (possible since there is very little in the area) was FREE for guests. It was quite nice. Juices, milk, water, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, bagels, powdered donuts, toast, jam, cream cheese, make-your-own waffles (two flavours) with jam and Hershey's chocolate to put on top as well as syrup. Also three types of cereal. So this was definitely a plus!

There is a 'heated' pool but no one used it. One man dove in and stayed for two minutes. A man and his kids went in for five minutes and came out. A shame as it was in a secluded courtyard-type area but with the clouds it wasn't conducive to swimming at all. There are a few tables and probably about 16 chairs on three sides of the pool.

The hotel offers a free shuttle service to POM and MIA. We used the shuttle to get to MIA. The driver was daydreaming and 1. forgot to give or the passenger getting out before us, forgot to take their suitcase. 2. after the first three passengers exited the van, our driver began to take us back to the hotel from MIA. We had to ask him what he was doing. He did a U-turn and tried to make a feeble excuse that they had changed the traffic pattern when in reality, he FORGOT to let us out in front of the terminal doors for the airline we were using. It would have been funny (and sad) if we had allowed him to take us back to the hotel to pick up another group of passengers. I still tipped him, however, as it was cheaper than using a transportation company. Why didn't he just say, "Oops!"? :/

The big negative (despite all I LOVE about this newer hotel) was the fact there is nothing in the area. The closest Publix/Walgreen's/CVS are about one mile from the hotel - about a five-minute car ride but 20-25 minute walk each way. There is a McDonald's and Subway about 2-3 minutes away in one direction and a Peruvian and generic "Airport Diner" five blocks away in the opposite direction.

Otherwise, friendly staff, housekeepers who spend a lot of time keeping the rooms and common areas clean - a very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scotor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidPreston78, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Miami Airport North, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Scotor,
Thank you for taking the time and posting such a detailed review of your experiences at our hotel. Everyone at Comfort Suites Miami Airport North love seeing guest responses posted online. I am glad to see that you were able to have breakfast with us the morning of your stay. We pride ourselves on the numerous options available at breakfast. You might be a guest who wants to indulge in fruit topped waffles or a guest just looking for a good cup of Joe. Here at the Comfort Suites we cater to all different types of breakfast patrons. I am happy to read that you received great customer service from our team members. Every day I witness them provide the best customer service Miami has to offer. Thank you again for the review and it was a pleasure having you as our guest.
Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had an overnight in Miami waiting for a flight the next day and chose this hotel due to its great reviews. We had a short wait for the shuttle, which was nice, and were to the hotel within fifteen minutes or so. It is a nice hotel, very new and clean, but not too close to any eateries. As a result, several restaurants with delivery stick menus under your door. We were a little skeptical about this, but since it was already like 8:30 p.m. and we had no other option, we took a chance and ordered from Franco's. Our food was to arrive in 45 minutes, so we went down to the bar to wait. Very pleasant bartender and guests to chat with. Food did not arrive for about an hour and a half, but when it did, it was delicious (and not very expensive.) We slept well, the hotel was quiet, and we caught the shuttle back to the airport (runs on the hour) in the morning. They tell you to be there ten minutes early, and I would do that, because a couple stepped inside to grab coffee for less than three minutes and the shuttle almost left without them. The breakfast was good, standard buffet fare. They have an airport departure board in the lobby so can check to see if your flight is on time, and a place to check in and print boarding passes. Our only complaint was a $2.00 charge on the bill for "limited warranty safe," whatever that means. We asked to have the charge removed and the clerk took care of it, but many guests probably don't notice it and have to pay. Only $2, but still, not what you're hoping to see on your bill. Overall, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Fifth floor away from elevators was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidPreston78, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Miami Airport North, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Jennifer B,
The staff and management at Comfort Suites Miami Airport North would like to thank you for writing a review about your experiences at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read that a guest enjoyed all the free amenities we offer at the hotel. Other hotels in the area charge for parking, breakfast and shuttle services. Since we value our guest’s loyalty we provide these services complimentary. Thank you again for the review and it was a pleasure having you as our guest.
Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just returned from a cruise and used the Comfort Suites Miami North Hotel for a pre-cruise hotel. It is just over a year old and a very good choice if you are sailing out of Miami. It was very clean and comfortable and very close to the dock area. The staff was very friendly and they have a shuttle not only from the airport but also will take you to the dock!! Very convenient for cruise passangers. Just a couple doors down was a bar that served decent food and is a good choice for a restaurant, although there is a subway and a gas station that had food also, if that is the kind of food you want. I am very picky about hotels and found this to be surprisinly confortable. (I am a Ritz Carlton kind girl) We were very happy with this hotel!! We didn't notice too much noise from the airport either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobswifecleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidPreston78, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Miami Airport North, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear bobswifecleveland
Everyone at Comfort Suites Miami Airport North would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule and posting such a flattering review of our property on Trip Advisor. I am happy to see that we were able to be a part of your vacation. It is one of the best parts of this job seeing guests creating lasting memories at our hotel. I am delighted to read that shuttle services we offer were so well received. Every day we work hard getting guests taken to the Port of Miami in a timely fashion. Other hotels in the area charge for this shuttle transportation. We value our guests so we provide this service complimentary. Thank you again for the review and it was a pleasure having you as our guest.
Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Driving along the airport perimeter, I didn't expect much of any airport hotel located in this area which seems quite depressed.The Comfort Suites is hidden behind a much older looking motel but as we pulled up, I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel for a few reasons. The hotel itself looked fairly new, newly renovated or at least, very well maintained.The staff was immediately helpful and very friendly, the rooms are quite modern looking, very clean and comfortable with two spacious rooms, two flat panel TVs and a small but quite adequate kitchen area with a fridge, microwave and sink. The free breakfast buffet was typical but all items were very fresh and appealing. Overall, a very nice stay and I would have given this property an excellent rating were it not for the area in which it is located. I look forward to returning here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptBoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidPreston78, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Miami Airport North, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear CaptBoons,
The staff and management at Comfort Suites Miami Airport North would like to thank you for the review posted on Trip Advisor. Here at the Comfort Suites we live for guest satisfaction. It might be going that extra mile by providing free shuttle service to and from the airport and to the Port of Miami. Or it can be as simple as making sure we have coffee 24 hours a day. Whatever the case may be, providing excellent customer service is what we do. Thank you again for the glowing review and we look forward to your return visit.

Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night prior to our cruise. The provided transportation from the airport and to the pier was a huge plus and so convenient.
The hotel itself is very nice and on the smaller side, almost felt like a boutique hotel. The lobby was very nice but did get crowded with everyone getting ready to head to their cruises with their luggage.
The room was very spacious and loved the decor with the bright green pop of color. The room and bathroom was very well appointed.
We didn't use the pool as the weather was very cool but it looked nice. The breakfast area was packed but sufficient with cereals, pastries, fruit, yogurt and waffle makers.
If I cruise again from Miami, I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jworm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidPreston78, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Miami Airport North, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear jworm23,
Everyone at Comfort Suites Miami Airport North would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule and posting a flattering review of our property on Trip Advisor. I am happy to see that we were able to be a part of your vacation. It is one of the best parts of this job seeing guests creating lasting memories at our hotel. I am delighted to read that shuttle services we offer were so well received. Every day we work hard getting guests taken to the Port of Miami in a timely fashion. Other hotels in the area charge for this shuttle transportation. We value our guests so we provide this service complimentary. Thank you again for the review and it was a pleasure having you as our guest.
Warmest Regards,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Springs
EB Hotel Miami Airport
#1 of 12 in Miami Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Miami Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Miami Airport North

Property: Comfort Suites Miami Airport North
Address: 657 Minola Dr, Miami Springs, FL 33166-6039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Miami Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Miami Airport North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, Comfort Suites Miami Airport North gives you plenty of space to relax and regroup. A premier option among Miami suite hotels, the brand new Comfort Suites® Miami Airport North is just 5 minutes from Miami International Airport and offers free transportation to both the airport and the Port of Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites Miami Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Miami Airport North Hotel Miami Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing