We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Small rooms, great price, nice bathrooms, ok rooms, strange location at night.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Runway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Runway Inn
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Miami Springs
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small rooms, great price, nice bathrooms, ok rooms, strange location at night.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Asked to see a room upon arrival, was shown room 208 which wasn't bad. The room was small, the bathroom nice (tile and stand up glass shower), the ac was cold, flat screen tv, the linens were clean, the room didn't smell, the walls had a few scratches and dings, the closet was a little funky, overall the room was ok. The guy who checked me in on the night of 12/27/2012 was nice and answered all my questions. The parking lot is a little scary I think putting up some taller fencing would add more privacy and security. Fridge and microwave were not in the room but I was only sleeping overnight so that did not affect me. I don't see myself staying in that area anytime soon but if I did I would stay there again, especially if they added that talk fence around the parking area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank somoluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    92
    211
    134
    202
See reviews for
105
259
130
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night, arriving in Miami late in the evening and needing a place to stay for the night until we picked up our car the next day. There is a shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel but the system is a bit weird, aka there is no system. You just stand outside the airport with loads of other tired tourists waiting and looking for a bus with the name of your hotel. So be prepared to wait..

Anyhow, the hotel is ok, you get what you pay for. The main thing: it's clean, it's cheap and close to MIA. BUT: bring earplugs as there are many sounds, from doors closing and ventilation. Would I stay there again? Yes. Cause it's clean and cheap.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were apalled by the site of the hotel. Very different from what we saw on the internet. we have decided that we will never book any hotels online. We will go directly to the hotel website. This motel was very old, dirty and in a bad area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank kelley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

For a layover, don't think the Runway can be beat in terms of price. Interiors are a bit dated, but checkin is efficient, rooms are well equipped and the place is clean. Sure you could find something better, but at at least twice the price.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank f200918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I originally booked this hotel because I needed to be close to the airport and I did not want to spend too much. I read some really negative reviews and got worried but when I got there I realized that those were extremely biased or the hotel has really improved since then.

I stayed in the second floor..a room facing the parking lot...very close to the emergency exit.

Pros:

Good location...only 10 usd away from MIA by cab or you can call them for their shuttle.

Free parking lot in case you rent a car or come with your own.

The front desk receives small packages you might need shipped there before you arrive.

The rooms are clean and they are cleaned each day.

There is an atm machine in the lobby in case you need it.

Free wifi and the tv has enough channels.

The staff is nice and helpful.

Breakfast included...nothing fancy but it is there in case you need it. There is a gas station half a block away...a burger king 4 blocks away and a subway 4 blocks away. The bus stop for dolphin mall is 4 blocks away.

Cons:

No fridge in the room. Storing food in your room is not possible.

The shower is small..you may not be used to it.

Sometimes you can hear people next door shutting doors or people moving in the hall. Not too loud but not inaudible either. It is an old building.

********************

All in all I would recommend this place. Don't expect luxury but don't assume it is going to be bad because it is not luxurious.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Our room, with no window, was small and the heating was controlled elsewhere. All night it was either too hot or too cold. The fellow at the front desk appeared to be on some really great drugs when he was checking us in. We were really concerned about bedbugs by the time we got into the room, but fortunately none seen. Mattress was really old...yuck!
The shuttle pick up at the airport took forever even after we called. It went past up three times that we saw, apparently already full with other passengers. The shuttle to the cruise line was at 10 am, even though we had been asked by our cruiseline to not show up before 1:30pm. No chance of a different time according to the front desk.
We were up all night as the corridor outside our room was tiled and people were running up and down talking and yelling all night. We could hear suitcases being rumbled by on the tiles and it sounded like it was right in our room with us. Very loud!! At one point someone even came and knocked on our door at about 4 am.
Really not worth saving a bit of money by staying here before our cruise. Seems to be in a bad neighbourhood and if I were by myself I would have left as the lobby was rundown looking and the front desk guy was high. Had to carry our suitcases upstairs as there isn't an elevator too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 090Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

the images is false on the website is not what you see when you get here, the room small like pollution.....its too small for one person. The bathroom is too small. There no place to put your belongings or suite case. The paint is peeling off the All you hear is People yelling , slamming doors and blaring TV'S all night.There is no microwave, no iron or iron board in the room the rooms to small an not enough hangers, ....I would not recommend you stay at this hotel...The hallway is horrible....an there no nice image when you look out the window.....i will never stay here again....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Springs
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn at Miami International Airport
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Miami Airport North
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn  & Suites Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Miami Airport North Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Central-Miami Springs
0.3 mi away
Ramada Miami Springs/Miami International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runway Inn

Property: Runway Inn
Address: 656 East Dr, Miami Springs, FL 33166-6112
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Miami Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Runway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Runway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Runway Hotel Miami Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing