We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent steaks but service disappointing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shula's Steak House-The Original

Shula's Steak House-The Original
Reserve with OpenTable
Shula's Steak House-The Original is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 50 Restaurants in Miami Lakes
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 826 - Expressway
Description: Shula’s Steak House is located in Shula’s Golf Club in Miami Lakes, Florida and is the original and first of many Shula’s Steak Houses to open across the United States. Dining at Shula’s Steak House is like no other Miami Lakes restaurant experience. This Miami Lakes restaurant is a celebration of the 1972 undefeated season of the Miami Dolphins. Known for its Premium Black Angus Beef and the oversized portions, you will not leave this restaurant hungry.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks but service disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I went to Shula's for the first time. We brought some friends along to celebrate my wife's birthday. My wife belonged Team Shula, so her entree was comped.I started with the lobster bisque. It was delicious. The dash of sherry added to the flavor.I then had the filet oscar and my wife had 12 oz. filet migon. Both were delicious and cooked perfectly, although the less then generous amount of crab on top of my filet was disappointing.
We shared side dishes of creamed spinach and twice baked potatoes. Both were good, but nothing to rave about.
I felt that the atmosphere of the restaurant was nice. Since it was still light outside, our view was the golf course, The restaurants tables are far enough apart, so you aren't privy to others conversations.
Unfortunately, I felt the service was not as attentive as I expected. I had long gaps where my water needed to be replenished. The waitress appeared to have other things on her mind throughout the evening and gave us very little attention. She didn't really interact with us very well. Mistakes were made with timing of dishes with no apology. We had been told that when it is your birthday and you belong to Team Shula, they sometimes bring that person a cake. Well, one of the servers brought a small cake with ice cream to my wife with a candle on it. He sang Happy Birthday along with us. My wife blew out the candle and was ready to take a bite of the cake when the waitress quickly pulled it out from in front of her and said it was given to her by mistake and took it away. Again, no apology for the mistake.When we left there was little fanfare from the staff. I do not think we will be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BiggestPhilliesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    34
    16
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Had the blackened scallops and the filet. Food was cooked to perfection. Service I had was spectacular, I would come back just for that. It's a little pricy, but food and service more than made up for that.

Helpful?
Thank Tam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“THE BEST SHULA'S OF ALL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I've eaten at many Shula's restaurants - the ALexander Hotel - the Airport - Naples - and BY FAR - THIS LOCATION IS THE BEST LOCATION, ENVIRONMENT, AND SERVICE OF ALL.

If you're staying downtown on the beach - and have a car - I would recommend making the drive to the ORIGINAL SHULA'S in the Miami Lakes area. It's about a 15 - 20 minute trip - but it is the BEST.

When you drive in - it's at Don Shula's Golf Club. There's an Indigo hotel on property - so even if you have too good of a time - there's a place to stay.

The area isn't the glitzy Miami you would think. It's Miami Lakes - more like the suburb of Miami where people who were sick of Miami would come and raise their families.

When you drive up - it doesn't look like much - but then again - neither does the location at the Alexander Hotel or Naples - but when you come in - the restaurant has a Key West feel. The walls are white (compared to the dark rich walls in the other locations) and you can actually SEE your menu.

There are nice booths and tables around - and a great bar that allows you to watch whatever is one television.

This location doesn't appear to get a lot of traffic - so the service was amazing. We never had to ask for anything - and the servers were so personable. Kudos to everyone.

I would only recommend Shula's consider changing the Alexander location to the style of the Original Shula's location. It's so dark and drab - and it's right on the beach - I would make it glow as much as possible - or consider moving to another hotel.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank defore4735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Bar!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed at Indigo next door and really wanted to get an adult beverage after checking in. What a find!!. Delvis the bartender is a true gem. Bar is dark and clubby and everythig you would want in a bar and if you're a Dolphins fan, a true score.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cubella59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Disapointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Was invited here for a company dinner meeting. The decor is what you would expect from a high end steak restaurant. Along with football paraphernalia from the coach himself. That's about all I can say good about our visit. I won't go into detail but service was slow. It all went downhill when the waiter spilled a whole glass of $150 a bottle,red wine, on our client. He was upset but did not cause a scene. The waiter and manager half hearted lay apologized but were never offered any replacement for the wine. As for the food When our order came, one of the steaks was the wrong cut of meat and two were overdone! Luckily for me I get to dine in many high end restaurants so I know good food and good service. For this restaurant I would say nice try but you really didn't come close to a touchdown, next time. Next time we'll be taking our team to a different playing field.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rdangeriii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shula's Steak House-The Original also viewed

 

Been to Shula's Steak House-The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing