We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of On the Border

On the Border
Ranked #42 of 50 Restaurants in Miami Lakes
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Good food, not a great selection of beers, very nice service, clean place weird music for a Mexican place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    12
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“First, last and never again, this location ruined OTB for me!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I am not a fan of Mexican food but I do make the exception for On The Border, I 'discovered' them in the DFW area and have continued to visit while in that area. Yesterday (1/8/14) while working in Miami, FL I decided to go to the Miami Lakes location with my daughter who goes to school in the area. The place was 60% empty yet dirty, we sat at the bar, the countertops weren't clean or cleaned, the bartender (mature guy, Jorge I believe) was slow in making himself of assistance in spite of the very light number of customers. we finally got drinks (a bottled beer and a water) and it took forever until he came over to take a food order, which took even longer to be brought over and to top it off was incomplete. No silverware or napkins, a total disgrace. When I called him over and asked, he got offended and said he was waiting for the food to arrive to bring us silverware !? and immediately stated, I'll just get someone else to help you and ignored us the rest of the evening. Some other young guy took care of us and did a nice job, cared and tried to make things better. A manager came by and asked if everything was fine and I gave him a little bit of the rundown, he apologized and moved on.
By the way, the stuffed jalapenos which I love were the worst I have ever had, over battered, burst and burnt. The guacamole which is a staple there, never came, my daughter's fish tacos were bland and she had to get up and walk over to another table to get a salt shaker because there wasn't one given to us.
When the bill finally came it was wrong (of course), we had been charged for food items that never came. The young waiter was diligent and got it handled, they even took my beer off the tab ($5.25)
In conclusion, they ruined it for me, dirty, slow service, nasty bartender with an attitude, incomplete food order, incorrect bill. what else can I say? No wonder their Pembroke Pines location shut down, maybe it was ran by the same franchisee!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The worst of 2013”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Unfortunately for us the only thing I liked about my experience was the restaurant location. It is centrally located in the heart of my beautiful town Miami Lakes. The service was bad, at arrival wait time was excessive while there were several empty tables. Once at the dining table several servers passed by us with no word. After I decided to call for attention a walkie-talkie-wearing server came to us. He introduced himself very friendly and took the order. When the order arrived it wasn’t complete and in my opinion too salty. My companions were not very pleased either with the food. The On the Border experience was, with no doubt, the worst restaurant experience I had last year.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Java K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hialeah, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun night out for Christmas eve they were not busy . We got great service and the food was good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I would recommend if you are in the mood for Mexican. We had attention from many servers because it was slow but yet they were slow to catch on when my husband needed drink refills. we had to flag someone down for that.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nestelluggybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very nice mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Although the food was a little spicy for my delicate palate, I must say I enjoyed this restaurant a lot. A big hit for me was the real guacamole, it did not taste frozen or commercially produced.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michtraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border also viewed

 

Been to On the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing