We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre Golf at a snail's pace”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Shula's Golf Club

Shula's Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Senator Course at Shula's Golf Club is a classic style course located in the serene town of Miami Lakes. Sprawling over 500 tree shaded acres, players of all skill levels will be challenged by 18 holes, Par 72 championship course. Known as one of Miami's best Championship Golf Courses, The Senator Course is unlike the typical hotel golf course. Originally designed of Bill Watts in 1962 and later updated in 1998 by nationally recognized Golf Course Architect Kipp Schulties, is the perfect destination for great golf.
BAY SHORE
Level Contributor
159 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Mediocre Golf at a snail's pace”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

The pro shop & clubhouse are fine. The starter's staff is nice. But, groups are put out too closely, and no one bothers to move slow groups along. We quit because the back nine was taking 30 minutes a hole. The driving range is the most miserable range I have ever seen. The course would be ok if they made any effort to keep play moving, but they don't. For this reason, I would recommend against playing here. The area is also seedy.

Helpful?
3 Thank WordlyTraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
WordlyTraveler44 - Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. While pace of play is an ongoing challenge for many golf courses, especially on busy days, it is a key component to a guest's experience. I apologize if the pace was too slow for you and that a ranger did not speak to your group. I recognize that the back nine is harder than the front nine and can play slower at times. Our rangers have been trained to monitor pace of play and work on groups that appear to be out of position on the golf course. I am not sure if the back nine had cart restrictions on the day you played. I know that cart path only resrtictions will slow down pace of play. We schedule groups to go out at 7 and 8 minute intervals. We will continue to monitor pace of play, search for ways to improve pace on busier than normal days, and re-train staff on how to handle pace of play. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    11
    5
    4
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BAY SHORE
Level Contributor
159 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Worst Pace of Play in America”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Shula's is a decent course with a back nine distinctly more challenging than the front nine. It also features the most ratty driving range in the US. As a twosome, we expected to wait, but still played the front nine in a respectable 2 hrs. & 5 min. Then we made the turn, and it was like a death march......30 minutes to play hole 10, 30 minutes to play 11, 30 minutes to play hole 12. Calls to the ranger could not speed slow groups up; they wanted their money's worth. Starter must send groups off the back & it ruins pace of play for everyone. We quit after 14 holes and will never play at Shula,s again. They make ZERO effort to keep groups moving; so, it just isn't any fun. Golf is a game; games are supposed to be fun.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WordlyTraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Interesting and Enjoyable Layout, Tricky Water Hazards, Fairly Well Maintained”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

This course is interesting and enjoyable for the average golfer. It starts off fairly non-threatening, but the back nine is tricky with water hazards and some narrow fairways. Surroundings are scenic. It is not meticulously kept (some fairways and rough have rough patches, greens are mostly pretty good), but generally conditions are acceptable. Both the hotel and course are a bit time-worn; it could be a gem if maintenance and landscaping is lavished on it. We wanted a drink at the clubhouse but the bar/restaurant was closed, and we had to go to the hotel dining room instead. I would play it again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank doc2th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Best Steak Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

This rates among the best steak houses that I have ever been to, and being a steak lover, I have been to plenty.
The service is wonderful and you have a great selection of steaks that are cooked to perfection.
Don't miss this steakhouse, it is first class

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank frankfurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice layout, not worth the retail greens fee, but deals can be had!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

The staff is very nice. Steve, the starter, is great! The course was in good shape, even though it had been quite wet lately. I played three times over a two week period. Greens were better than average for south Florida, putting at about 8-8.5. Fairways and course in better than average condition. Though the tee boxes were a little rough and not well cared for. They were not cut (any of the three rounds!!), had unfilled divots all over and just overall slightly neglected by maintenance.
The layout is challenging enough. Water on many holes, especially on the back nine, and it plays longer than the yardage because of the wind. At least it did when we were there.
Oh, and BTW, very expensive drinks, $9.50 for a well rum and coke!!!! especially for the tiny, dull, spartan bar at the clubhouse!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank roadgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shula's Golf Club also viewed

 
Miami Lakes, FL

Been to Shula's Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing