We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A little funky, but decent.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little funky, but decent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our first impression was very good. Friendly, helpful front desk staff. Trendy decor that you expect at hotel indigo. I chose this hotel largely based on the beautiful landscaping and tiki hut by the pool. No sterile suburban concrete. Although it becomes obvious that this was a refurbished older hotel it's ok. The rooms are large and nice though a refridgerator would be good. Small restaurant in the hotel was not so good with microwaved breakfast entrees and lousy coffee. Otherwise ours was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWSmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    118
    48
    24
    9
See reviews for
76
70
22
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lutz, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I usually stay at the companion hotel, Shula's Hotel. This was my first time at the Indigo, and I really liked it!! A very "Florida" style hotel -right next to the Shula's Golf Course. Beautiful rooms, very well appointed.
If you are travelling with a sports team to the Miami are, I highly recommend this hotel. It has plenty of extras and is a very relaxing place for teams to stay and get ready for their contests.
All in all, this is one of my favorite hotels anywhere....

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the golf course are really neat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The staff are what makes this hotel so brilliant! - I hope I can remember all their names: Jovan, Natalie, David, Gio, Yohanus (sorry I spelt it wrong!)
These guys made us feel so welcome and were really helpful and fun!
The pool is lovely (if a bit cold, or should I say refreshing?), the communal area has plenty of shade for the non-sun bunnies!
The food was great - I'm already missing the bbq chicken pizza.
See y'all very soon!

Room Tip: Request a balcony if you're a smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsandAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
DebsandAdrian - Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. The team will be really happy to hear that they were able to provide you with such an experience. They are truly passionate about what they do and we are glad you noticed. We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future. BBQ pizza included.

Thanks again and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Wow! When you walk in the Lobby you are greeted with an extremely strong odor of air freshener. It was almost sickening. The lobby is a little run down and is in desperate need of a thorough cleaning and a can of paint. The wall decor is left over from the 80s - it's time for an upgrade, please. The Lobby Staff were nice and helpful, but the first impression had me worried. We arrived at the room and wondered if it had been cleaned. We could clearly see dirty footprints on the bathroom floor. There were big black cast iron pipes exposed on the bathroom ceiling. It was like they forgot to put in the dropped ceiling...it felt, and looked, like we were in the basement. Not attractive at all. There were globs of long black hair pasted to two of the shower walls. Yuk! The hand-held shower head was broken off from the extension hose and there was a dirty towel under the sink. Like I mentioned ealier, we didn't think this room was cleaned properly. The desk chair was stained and broken (leaning to one side, like sinking ship). The larger love seat was dirty and stained as well. Didn't even want to put my suitcase on it. The bedroom floors were tiled and cold. The walls were paper thin and the room was far from sound proofed - wheels from rolling suitcases awakened us at 5 AM. Pipes in the walls clanked all night long. The bed matress had to be at least 20 years old - probably original when the place was built. When the air conditioner cycled off, the room became immediately stuffy and damp. The grounds were nice, but could have been better. The pool was clean, but the decking around the pool needed a power washing. The covered sitting area by the pool was dirty and in disrepair... curtains that hung from the overhang were filthy and torn. The only nice area was the small fitness room. It was clean, had fresh towels, and relatively new equipment. Although this property is on the Don Shula Country Club grounds, Don would not want his name or reputation associated with this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back - away from the Hwy noise near by. We were in the back, but could still hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TVinoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
TVinoski - We are very sorry to hear about your recent experience with us and we regret not having an opportunity to make them right before your departure. We do thank you for sharing this with us and we will be sure to share this with our team. Our guest's experiences are important to us and we will be sure to use your comments as opportunities to prevent future guests from similar experiences. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Thank you and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Myself and my family went to this hotel while going to wrestelmania! We stayed in a room with a golf course view. The staff here were scond to none could not do enough to assist us with anything we asked. they even provided a fridge in our room something i have NEVER experienced in a UK Hotel English hotels could learn a hell of a lot from this kind of service. People on reception had good local knowledge and were extremely helpful. The room was nice and spacious with good fixtures and fittings. The outdoor pool was cold but quite welcome(Being brits we were not used to the heat!!) we had it to ourselves most of the time and when other people did come they were talkative and welcoming. It was my first experience of the USA and I loved the place. Keep up the good work guys!!

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a golf course view. Also do not be afraid to ask for extras we requested...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wellsy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
wellsy09 - Cheers to our friends across the pond!! Many thanks for allowing us to be part of your first US experience and for your wonderful comments following your visit. We hope your time at WrestleMania was as equally enjoyable and we look forward to being of service to you again.

Thanks again and safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The lobby is very tropical and nice looking. We actually arrived a week in advance of our reservation as we had made arrangements to store our golf clubs while we were away on a cruise. The agent was very pleasant, helpful, and efficient. We popped in, dropped our clubs and we were on our way without any issues.

When we returned a week later, we were equally pleased with the look of the lobby and the front of the hotel. Unfortunately, the room we were checked in to was not as pleasing. It was at the end of a hall in a corner alcove on the ground floor. The room was dusty, and there were some stray bobby pins on the counter. When I tried to go out to the patio, I thought the sliding door was broken but I found that the track was just so dirty that it didn't open very well. I went to the front desk to see if they had anything else available. We were moved upstairs to a much brighter room with a balcony door that actually worked - although it was also dusty around the corners of the room and furniture.

After we got back from supper, I went into the bathroom and turned the light on only to find a half a dozen small crawling bugs on the wall. I went to the bedroom and found the same thing! I squished a few in a tissue and brought them to the front desk. The agent told me they were sugar ants and apparently very common in Florida. He said they were nearly sold out so he didn't have another room for us and he sent a maintenance guy up to "spray". After the guy came up, I showed him the bugs and he called the front desk agent and told him the room was "infested". Magically, he found a vacant suite right across the hall. He came up to inspect it with us. It was nice and appeared bug free (although there were still stains on the living room furniture). We had already moved most of our luggage to our car because we didn't want it to get infested with ants, but they helped us move what we had left over.

We won't be staying at the Hotel indigo again. The front desk service, and the breakfast was very good but the property is very dirty. The housekeeping department needs a major overhaul!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors (not ground floor or in a corner - dark) Inspect your roo...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Natalie L- Thank you for sharing your most recent experience at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes. We sincerely apologize for the challenges you encountered during your stay. We strive to provide our guests the best possible experience and exceed guest expectations and are disappointed we did succeed with your recent stay. We will be sure to share this feedback with our team and continue to focus our attention on those details that make a difference. Thank you for the kind words about our staff and we hope your cruise experience was an enjoyable one.

Safe Travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this in town because it claimed to be a boutique hotel. It is not. When I walked into my building I was almost over powered by the odor of the carpet cleaner, which is kind of ironic since the only place there is carpet is in the hallways. There was no carpet in the room, the room was fully tiled. Although my suite was spacious, all of the furniture in my suite was outdoor wicker patio furniture. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean. The people were friendly too. It's average.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfinGators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
SurfinGators - We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes with us and value your comments. We are sorry about the odor of carpet cleaner in the corridors and hope it did not affect you during your stay. We hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future and thank you for your stay.

Safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Lakes
0.7 mi away
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
#1 of 4 in Miami Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Miami Lakes
Courtyard Miami Lakes
#3 of 4 in Miami Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Miami-Hialeah (Miami Lakes)
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft Lauderdale / Miramar
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes

Property: Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
Address: 7601 Miami Lakes Dr, Miami Lakes, FL 33014-6880
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a 100% smoke-free sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering a unique guest experience. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes Florida has been designed as an urban oasis for travelers who look to escape from the common hotel. We offer the convenience of a 24 hour fitness center, pool, Phi Restaurant and are located on a Don Shula s Golf Course and right next door to .the Original Don Shula SteakhouseLocated just minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and Opa-Locka Airport, Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes provides convenient access to Main Street Miami Lakes. Nearby attractions include: South Beach, Dolphin Stadium, Don Shula s Golf Course, Saw Grass Mills, the Theater District and Art Galleries. Whether you are here to relax in the Aveda Concept Spa at Shula s, or enjoy a round of Golf at Shula s famous golf course, the Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living. Rooms include hardwood floors, granite counter tops and spa like showers. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets with covers, pillow shams and plenty of fluffy pillows. Stay connected with complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel or in our onsite business center.Relax and have a meal or a drink at the Phi Bar that serves cutting edge cuisine or just grab a latte. We proudly brew Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing