We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a boutique hotel ... but not terrible either.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Fernandina Beach
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a boutique hotel ... but not terrible either.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this in town because it claimed to be a boutique hotel. It is not. When I walked into my building I was almost over powered by the odor of the carpet cleaner, which is kind of ironic since the only place there is carpet is in the hallways. There was no carpet in the room, the room was fully tiled. Although my suite was spacious, all of the furniture in my suite was outdoor wicker patio furniture. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean. The people were friendly too. It's average.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfinGators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
SurfinGators - We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes with us and value your comments. We are sorry about the odor of carpet cleaner in the corridors and hope it did not affect you during your stay. We hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future and thank you for your stay.

Safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    114
    47
    23
    9
See reviews for
74
70
21
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My stay here was just okay. I felt like the room was a bit overpriced for the age and condition. It was very clean. It's just that the HVAC units weren't working properly upon initial arrival. Maintenance did get that sorted out sufficiently. Then there were hot water and water pressure issues every morning. Every morning. Kind of frustrating when you are paying a decent amount of money to stay at a nice hotel. Not really enthusiastic about having to take cold shower, or have no more water pressure than a slight trickle.

The staff was very courteous friendly and helpful. And the steakhouse Shula's next door is world class. One of my new favorite restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Live2dive929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Live2dive929 - thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry you experienced some issues with your room during your stay. Our staff was very disappointed we did not meet your expectations but do appreciate your coments regarding their interaction with you. We hope you have another opportunity to stay with us as we look forward to making your next experience a completely positive one.

Thank you again and safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The staff at this property really makes it shine. Chris at the front desk & marcella at the bar are friendly, professional, efficient folks. The great location, nicely appointed rooms, and well maintained property all contribute to a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Sharilynn - thank you for sharing your experience with us and we at hotel indigo are appreciative of your wonderful review. The staff truely enjoys hearing from our guests and are very happy we created a raving fan with you. Chris and Marcela are true superstars for us and we made sure to communicate your thoughts to them as well as the entire team.

Thanks again and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed at this hotel 3yrs ago and decided to give them another try. Upon check in we walked into our room which was located on the first floor. The bed looked as if someone had layed in it. Their was a musty Oder coming from the AC unit. The sliding glass door was unlocked and it had no way to be locked. The bathroom shower was dirty and moldy. I immediately went to the front office to ask for a new room. The second room still had a musty smell. The bathroom shower was also still dirty (water spots) but not moldy. The sliding glass door had both a lock and a stick for extra security. The towels did not dry. You can tell they were old and are starting to fall apart. The pillows and the bed were ok. Overall the extra $60 that I saved for my 3 night stay were not worth it. The hotels up the road are a lot better except you 't have a balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd or 3rd floor. Inspect your rooms thoroughly before getting settled in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qubana420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Qubana420,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry the room you received did not live up to your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to improve the quality and services we offer.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Gio at the front desk was excellent, as was the restaurant staff. However, my room had a dirty odor to it and little gnat bugs that crawled all over the desk and bedside table. The room had not had a thorough cleaning as there was dust and a dirty smell throughout the room. It is unfortunate that the cleanliness of this older property is sub-par because it is a nice looking property with an eclectic design. The shower had 7 different spray heads and would have been fantastic had water pressure been a bit stronger. A Shulas steak house is located adjacent to the property and is always a great place for good food, albeit at a good price :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Kate H - We wanted to thank you for posting your review and apologize for some of the inconveniences you encountered. Also wanted to let you know that we have utilized your comments to refresh the focus with our housekeeping team. We appreciate your feedback and we hope have another opportunity to service you in the near future. We know you will not be disappointed.

Thank you again and safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

As a business traveler I want a clean, comfortable, quiet room. This hotel did not disappoint. On check in the friendly staff upgraded me to a suite which made my stay feel more like home. Nice sitting room with a desk for working, HD TV and a rocking chair. Easy to relax at the end of the day.
This property is close to a number of restaurants.
My morning began with a run through the neighbor hood, which was safe and scenic. After that a great shower. The shower has an over head spray, body spray and a hand held spray.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights. This is a 1960's era hotel with a big name. Don't get sucked in by the on line photos. Every thing is old but the paint and the lobby. This is by no means reaches the quality of and Indigo Hotel or for that matter the worst Holiday Inn Express I have ever stayed in. First the sidewalks have black mold and need to be cleaned. The elevator is a rattle trap with door edge strips hanging loose. The room was small and still has 8 foot popcorn ceilings. They tried to fancy up the interior of the room with crown moulding but the mitre of the corners had wide cracks and gaps. The air duct in the bathroom is exposed and only painted black. The a/c unit in the room was very noisy but worked well. Room had no fridge or microwave. At least the bed was comfy. The balcony is open and you can see you neighbors. On ours the ceiling was pealing down and the floor was dirty and stained. The breakfast in the morning was a joke as was the breakfast area. The pool was nice and clean but the grounds needed the trash picked up. For the amount of money they charge to stay here you can find a lot better value nearby.

Room Tip: Our pool side room was noisy because of a party that went untill nearly 2 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fletch1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Fletch1119,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Lakes
0.7 mi away
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
#1 of 4 in Miami Lakes
3.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Miami Lakes
Courtyard Miami Lakes
#3 of 4 in Miami Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft Lauderdale / Miramar
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Miami-Hialeah (Miami Lakes)
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes

Property: Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
Address: 7601 Miami Lakes Dr, Miami Lakes, FL 33014-6880
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a 100% smoke-free sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering a unique guest experience. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes Florida has been designed as an urban oasis for travelers who look to escape from the common hotel. We offer the convenience of a 24 hour fitness center, pool, Phi Restaurant and are located on a Don Shula s Golf Course and right next door to .the Original Don Shula SteakhouseLocated just minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and Opa-Locka Airport, Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes provides convenient access to Main Street Miami Lakes. Nearby attractions include: South Beach, Dolphin Stadium, Don Shula s Golf Course, Saw Grass Mills, the Theater District and Art Galleries. Whether you are here to relax in the Aveda Concept Spa at Shula s, or enjoy a round of Golf at Shula s famous golf course, the Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living. Rooms include hardwood floors, granite counter tops and spa like showers. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets with covers, pillow shams and plenty of fluffy pillows. Stay connected with complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel or in our onsite business center.Relax and have a meal or a drink at the Phi Bar that serves cutting edge cuisine or just grab a latte. We proudly brew Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing