We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Needs Updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Needs Updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I've always loved staying at the Shula when visiting Miami Lakes. This time we found two small roaches in the bathroom and chipping paint in the bathroom. The shower has stains on the floor and the floor had hair. The gym is awesome! The restaurant is great for watching the game and grabbing a bite. The housekeeping and condition of the hotel needs some attention.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    166
    96
    49
    44
See reviews for
99
101
32
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SW Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at Shulas.
Location: The hotels location is right next to a quaint shopping area with many chain type restaurants which was nice since I did not have a car. Hotel is close to the airport so we heard a lot of airplane noise.
Rooms: It was obvious that they have tried to upgrade the rooms but did so with little expense.The floor and granite countertop appear new and look nice but the rest of the room is dated. The bathroom had paint splatters everywhere! My door leading to the pool was very hard to open and would not open with my room key at all. The room was so dark..no overhead lights just a three way lamp with a one way bulb and a tiny desk lamp that threw no light at all! But, the beds were wonderfully comfortable with great linens and pillows!
Cleanliness: The room looked clean on arrival (hard to tell in semi-darkness) but on closer inspection you could see that they never cleaned behind the bathroom door. Yuck. My Kleenex and glasses were not replaced for a few days. The floors made my bottom of my socks brown. After the third day it was obvious I had a new cleaning person and it was much cleaner but still dirty behind the bathroom door.
Hotel: The pool area looked nice and clean. Some hallways were so dark and had obvious burned out lights that were not replaced for the first few days. There were loud bangs almost every night around 10 pm that scared me. I did not feel totally safe here as did a few of my travel companions. I may have been better off on a higher floor.
Restaurant: Food was good in the Sports bar area though fries came out cool. Lots of great beers on tap!
Staff: Only one young man at the desk stood out as being charasmatic and welcoming! Rest of the workers at the desk, in the restaurant, and housekeeping were ho-hum.
Return: I don't think so. I am glad this trip was on someone else's tab! This may have been a nice hotel 10-15 years ago but has not been kept up well. If I had been here with my family, I don't think we would have stayed after the first night, if then....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lah66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Lakes hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Shula's is rather relaxing resort. Only downside is the hotel being close to the airport and it's sounds of planes landing. Whether you're a golfer or not, this is a nice place located in a peaceful part of Miami. Enjoy the pastries shop nearby as well as the outdoor pool!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pierre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We attended a high school reunion here this weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay-our ground level king room opened out onto the pool area --loved the weather and ambience of this historic hotel in Miami Lakes! We were extended an hour extra check out time which was nice!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vduling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We held our 40th H.S. reunion this weekend and the organizing committee did a great job! They got the ballroom beautifully decorated for our special night and the hotel staff were also terrific. Even at the registration reception there was a nice bar as well as really tasty hors d'oeuvres for the hour we mingled among old friends before being seated inside. The dinner buffet was also very good with plenty of food available. The servers were very attentive for things like water or coffee. My main beef with this place is the rooms look like they were last renovated when Don Shula still coached the Dolphins, or maybe even before that, LOL. They are quite worn down and overdue for a big upgrade. The beds are cramped and mattresses tired. My mattress pad kept bunching up under the sheets. The shower was weak and the handle very difficult to operate and turn off. They also have a small thatched roof near the pool for tiki type gatherings but it has no fixed bar. There were also no chairs so we had to take some from the pool area. The resort does have great ample parking and it's easy to park right near your room. All in all, it was a good deal, a decent breakfast buffet was included, for the room rate given our group. But I wouldn't stay there and pay their normal rates, there are too many other places that Shula's Resort can't compete with.

Room Tip: They're all pretty old rooms, I guess it makes little difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2thdoc33133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The rooms were very up to date and reflected the local Miami atmosphere and lifestyle. The lobby area and restaurant could have used an update since it felt like I was in a 70's or 80's movie. The hotel staff was very courteous and went out of their way to assist with any problems. The restaurant was also excellent. Breakfast was enjoyable and dinner was outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

It looks great – especially the courtyard” the pool area is very nice, also the little ponds, fountains and everywhere little statues reminding you of football. The pool needed a little more attention paid to it, as it was getting dirty.The staff was very friendly. Overall the location is not the greatest, the main street near it with some stores and a few restaurants around the corner is all you have – unless you count the few cows close by in the middle of a town. If you like to walk around a nice neighbourhood with nice ponds or lakes, there is not a whole lot to do in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Lakes
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
#2 of 4 in Miami Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Miami Lakes
Courtyard Miami Lakes
#3 of 4 in Miami Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Miami-Hialeah (Miami Lakes)
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft Lauderdale / Miramar
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Miami West - Hialeah Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
Address: 6842 Main St, Miami Lakes, FL 33014-2051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing