We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
Nearby Hotels
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$104
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale SW/Miramar(Miramar)(Great Value!)
$99
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale SW/Miramar(Miramar)(Great Value!)
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$119
$111
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveler rating
192
221
110
62
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
221
110
62
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmiami lakes areabusiness travelersouth floridabit datednice stayminute drivehousekeeping staffnice poolmiami beachalyssadolphinscvscruise
Filter
Updating list...
468 - 473 of 636 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This was a nice hotel, not "above expectations". The employees were very nice and helpful. The restaurant was good but the wine was way over priced (yes, even for Miami Lakes). My glass had about 1" of wine in it - for $10.00. We waited about 15 minutes for someone to recognize us after we were seated - the place wasn't very busy. The burger was quite good. For the price of the hotel, I would most likely stay at the Holiday Inn next time. It was extremely difficult to know where the main entrance was. Also, I plugged the address into the GPS and ended up at the golf course with another hote.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

John P - Thank you for your recent review of Shula's Hotel and Golf Club. We apologize for the issue with your GPS and are looking into how we can correct this. We have also reviewed the service issues you mentioned with our food and beverage team. We hope the remainder of your stay went well and look forward to your next visit.

Thank you again and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Travelling on vacation with pregnant wife and daughter 3 years.

We where planning to stay at he Shulas our last night before flying back to Europe.
We did the booking as we have been here some years ago and we had great memories after a fantastic experience there.

As you might read right, we where planning to stay, but DID NOT.
And this is now for us a sensible thing to write and I hope not to be misunderstood:

A premier Hotel in Miami Lakes, FL with spacious guestrooms
That’s what it says on the homepage and our rating now would be: MOTEL ROOMS, small rooms

The booked room was not dirty but old, small and worn down, the fact that the cover sheet of the “large work desk” was peeling of did the rest. About the small dark bathroom we will not even start.

I like to make it clear that the staff there has been extremely friendly and understanding and they tried hard to offer us a suitable alternative room. But the available rooms where just not 4* rooms worth the charged 180$ incl tax.

We are sure if there would be some upgrading to the Hotel, especially bigger better rooms with a nice bathroom the Shulas would be a IT place again as they for sure have the staff there to provide the service.

At the end we got the offer to cancel our reservation and go over to the INDIGO Hotel.

And again; our main reason is the price vs product issue and not the service nor the dedicated staff we meet.

Room Tip: Go for the Junior Suites, even so they have only QUEENS bed and not King as they promote (the one which was shown to us)
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Popcornlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Popcornlovers - Thank you for posting your recent review of Shula's Hotel and Golf Club. We are sorry to hear that your recent visit to our property was not equal to your last experience with us. We are currently renovating our rooms and addressing some of the issues you mentioned. We do appreciate your kinds words about our team and will be sure to share it with them.

Thank you again and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

10/11/11 - it was pouring rain. I nice kid "Geo" was drenched - the night manager "Jazmine"
was scolding him for wearing a rain coat. Simply because you cannot see the emblems. I could clearly see it because the front was kept open. Inhuman!!!! Very rude lady. Big fish always eat the little fish. After commenting to other people there. One customer who has been booked there for 24 days, said no one can stand her. Employees do not like working for her.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I played golf here recently, renting equipment from them. A rain storm caused about an hour delay after which I was told the course was closed due to high water. I asked for a refund or rain check and was told they do not give these for ANY reason! I then asked for a refund on only the club rental and got nowhere. Finally I asked to speak with a manager and was told none where available. Poorest service I have ever had!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
Thank 482Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

482Steve - We truly apologize that your golfing experience at Shula's was not an enjoyable one. We have a great course and staff and we are disappointed to hear about your experience. We have shared this with our golf pro and golf team and do hope you give Shula's another opportunity when you return to Miami. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Good - maids do a great job keeping place clean. Very pretty, nice grounds. Many restaurants within easy walking distance.

Bad - decor is pretty outdated, looks like it is stuck in a 1950s/60s time-warp. Faded, peeling wallpaper in bathroom. Old, faded, B & W pix of sports heroes (long forgotten to most people who either aren't locals or weren't born before 1969) hang in the rooms and on hotel walls. Elevator barely works, very slow and squeaky. Desk clerks look indifferent/overwhelmed, hid in back room, away from desk much of the time.

Four-star Westin Hotel prices charged by in-house restaurant and nearby spa. Unless you want to take a number and wait HOURS to simply use a treadmill for 10 min. or get a massage, skip the spa and workout room across the street. I tried going several times at different times of the day, only to find it packed with what looked like hundreds of tourists, standing in line.

I'm sure the intention was to provide charming, nostalgic atmosphere for folks who remember Don Shula's glory days, but peeling wallpaper and creaky, slow elevator's, and hundreds of sports fans roaming the property just ain't my idea of laid-back FL charm.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

marieTX - Thank you for your recent review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club. We are disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Football season does generate tons of activity and excitement at Shula's and I can understand your perspective with the activity and do apologize if it disrupted your stay. Thank you for the kind words regarding the housekeeping staff and we will be sure to pass along to them. We are happy to say that we are currently working on some property renovations and you will see several changes in our guestrooms over the next few months. We hope your have another opportunity to visit us again and experience our new look. Thank you again for your review.

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews